We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel and a good value, but not as advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Irla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Irla
Ranked #349 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good hotel and a good value, but not as advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed one night at the AC Hotel Irla prior to the departure of our cruise from Barcelona. We arrived early (10:30am) after an overnight flight from Seattle. The staff was very accommodating and let us store our luggage both on the day of arrival and departure while we played tourist. The staff made up our room up quickly and was ready and available for us to move in when we returned at 12:30pm. The room was very clean and the furnishings in excellent condition, but was much smaller than what appeared in the pictures. I was hoping to get a quick email out to let our daughter know that we had arrived safely, but when I asked about the business center, I found out that it only consisted of a work table in the lobby. There were no computers or printers, equipment that would normally be found in a business center. The booking site (Expedia) also stated that there were in-room safes, but I didn't find any. That evening (Friday), there were still plenty of people on the street (midnight). Unfortunately, we could still here them, even though we were on the third floor. The room was not as quiet as I hoped for.

The hotel was located two blocks away from Avinguda Diagonal, a main street in Barcelona with the hop on/hop off bus Turistic (red and blue lines) stopping about three blocks away at the Placa de Francesc Macia. This placa is also the end of the T1 tram line. Boarding the tram and going two stops will allow you to connect with the rest of the Barcelona Metro and the airport. We did make it La Sagrada Familia on Saturday morning. It was about a 12 minute (8 Euro) cab ride from the hotel.

The other bright spot in addition to the staff was the European breakfast. There was a one cup coffee maker which had a variety of coffees to choose from, Spanish ham and cheese, pastries and breads, juices, cereal, and fruit. Breakfast was included in our room price. The charge would have been 16 Euros had it not been. If I had to pay for it separately, probably would have gone down a block from the hotel on Carrer de Calvet and gone to one of the bakeries (one on each side of the street). There are also a couple restaurants on this street as you walk towards Avinguda Diagonal.

If you are using this hotel as a jumping off point for a cruise, take a cab. Normally, I try to take public transportation, but It is much easier to take a cab. The price ran a little over 20 Euros down to the cruise ship terminal from the hotel.

The AC Hotel Irla was a good hotel and a good value, but unfortunately not as advertised.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    87
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
66
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Abundantly elegant with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are small. I missed not having a tub but the room and bathroom with over-sized shower was otherwise very modern and comfortable. Excellent location close to action but quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Good location amid shopping and restaurants. No Pool or Spa. The room was lovely but a
bit small. The mattress was quite firm. Otherwise very nice. Skip the 15 Euro breakfast. We would call it continental in the US. All people in Spain are very friendly.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a room right across from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We (me and my family) have been staying at this hotel for 4-5 years now every time we visit Barcelona. This is my first choice when I go to Barcelona on business too. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is among the friendliest and most professional ones I have ever come upon, the interior design of the lobby is both convenient and impressing with well measured style... I can't remember any single instance of bad or even mediocre treatment there. I love the location too (on Calvet, close to Diagonal). For God's sake, they also keep a room or two for smokers like me! A real pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinPaunov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Located in a pleasant residential neighborhood just on the edge of central Barcelona, I found nothing particularly off-putting about this hotel, though nothing to "write home about" either. Overall, picking this hotel is a price vs location decision - i.e. you're willing to be slightly outside the very center (15 mins walk) in exchange for a clean room that does not cost 400 Euros. As mentioned in another review, there's a good selection of restaurants nearby, as well as a metro stop.

The hotel does provide the very basics, only. Just two towels in the bathroom, no in-room safe, only 1 or 2 international TV channels, and perhaps the most basic offering of all: the breakfast "buffet", which everyone in our party had a good laugh at. The walls were indeed thin and the rooms small but we were rarely in them except at the end of a long, exhausting day whereafter we slept like the dead...

I found the service to be very friendly - no complaints there. Very quick drive to/from the airport.

Nothing to risk here, just don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Decent boutique hotel not far from many Barcelona sites (taxi ride needed) like Gothic area & Sagrada Familia. Not many amenities (no in-room coffee maker, no in-room safe, no hotel), but current/trendy, clean & functional. Although room had 2 twin beds instead of a king, the bed was very comfortable. In-room Internet not great though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I've never had this experience. Booked the hotel to include breakfast for two. The front desk said I only paid for one and tried charging an additional 10euro. I explained this was incorrect and showed the booking on my phone. Thought it was taken care of. We were then required to send it to them over email or we had to sign the current charge extra 10euro charge. Nice customer service! Check-in aside, the hotel is quite... a nice change from Sevilla and Granada AC Hotels. No close metro stop so be prepared to walk 10+ minutes. A few nice coffee shops and lots of shopping close by on Diagonal. Also, suggest visiting Daps, an excellent restaurant on corner of Diagonal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
AC Hotel Diagonal L"Illa
#190 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#325 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#232 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Som
#4 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#170 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Irla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Irla

Property: AC Hotel Irla
Address: Calvet 40-42, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Irla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Irla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Irla Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
AC Hotel Irla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing