We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location but near the action”
Review of AC Hotel Irla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Irla
Ranked #357 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet location but near the action”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our party of four occupied two rooms for three nights beginning 11/14/13. The stay concluded our vacation in Europe following a 20 day cruise. The small boutique type hotel was located in a quaint area of Barcelona located a short walk from the Avinguda Diagonal, one of the biggest and most upscale shopping streets in Barcelona. As you reach the Diagonal from the hotel, you enter a plaza where you can board any of the hop on-hop off buses, grab a taxi, or eat and shop to your hearts content. The rooms were adequate in size and had a bath with shower. Mini bar fridge was available but best thing about them was they had extra room in them for putting your own food or drink. They were not censor controlled as many are now. So you could touch things woithout buying them. One downside was the absence of an in-room safe. Free wifi is available in the lobby as well as complimentary coffee. Immediately across the street is a small convenience-type store. Small eateries abound around the hotel, including tapas, pizza, Italian, Greek,etc. The staff was pleasant and helpful. When we arrives early in the morning, our room was not ready. We were given the option of checking our luggage and getting our room later or downsizing to a non-smoking Queen from a King. My brother was tired so we downsized. The desk later called and offered to move us to a King room the following day. We did not change but the mere fact that the offer was extended without being requested was a plus. I did not use the hotel restaurant so I cannot comment on it. I would stay here again based on all criteria including value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    90
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
69
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is very close to the Diagonal (2 blocks) and a 10-15 minute walk to the Pasig Gracia. It is in a lovely residential area with many restaurants so the not-quite central location was fine. The lobby is modern and the rooms updated and clean. The bath is in a frosted glass cube which was a ok as there was only me. Might be interesting for a couple! Very easy to get a cab if you don't want to walk. Service was friendly. For the price (much lower than many of the other hotels that weekend), it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've stayed here more than once. The staff are normally helpful. The rooms are clean but need in some instances a bit of a refresh. The style of the place is contemporary. The TV does not work great but it has the normal channels. Don't expect much in English other than BBC World.

Breakfast is ok. Very bread / pastry based. It's ok value for what it is.

The rooms are ok in size, enough room for a king bed, a few bed tables and a work area.

It's about 10 mins in a taxi to the centre. Price wise this is a good location and offers good value

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMarriottPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

AC Irla is nice little hotel with all that you need for business travel. Modern hotel, the room maybe compact but comfortable beds and warm showers. Wifi in foyer with hot drink facility and friendly staff.

Bar just around the corner and places to eat in walking distance.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwhatuwant2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The best thing about the AC Irla is its location. We took a cab from the airport and the cab driver, like some of the other tripadvisor reviewers, told us that it was a very good area. It is indeed a nice, relatively quiet, neighborhood with very good restaurants and shops in almost every every direction and only a few blocks from busier areas. We used the Muntaneer metro stop numerous times -- mostly to get easy transport to Placa Catalunya - and found it to be an 7 minute walk.

The hotel looks nice and it's lobby and rooms are stylish, but the room seems small, largely because of the large amount of space taken up by the AC-style of completely enclosing a large bathroom in glass that provides little light privacy and no sound privacy (awkward if not a solo traveler).

Breakfast was a disappointment. Our first two days it wasn't served until 8 am and this was too late given our need to go meet our tour. On the third day we found that it wasn't terrible but that we could have done much better going down the street to one of the bakeries. The breakfast room is one level above the lobby (in a sense it is even with the upper half of the lobby) and open to the lobby. The result of the acoustics is that anyone who was having a conversation in the lobby in the areas in front of the doors was heard as if they were just a meter or so away talking loudly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoBusyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed one night at the AC Hotel Irla prior to the departure of our cruise from Barcelona. We arrived early (10:30am) after an overnight flight from Seattle. The staff was very accommodating and let us store our luggage both on the day of arrival and departure while we played tourist. The staff made up our room up quickly and was ready and available for us to move in when we returned at 12:30pm. The room was very clean and the furnishings in excellent condition, but was much smaller than what appeared in the pictures. I was hoping to get a quick email out to let our daughter know that we had arrived safely, but when I asked about the business center, I found out that it only consisted of a work table in the lobby. There were no computers or printers, equipment that would normally be found in a business center. The booking site (Expedia) also stated that there were in-room safes, but I didn't find any. That evening (Friday), there were still plenty of people on the street (midnight). Unfortunately, we could still here them, even though we were on the third floor. The room was not as quiet as I hoped for.

The hotel was located two blocks away from Avinguda Diagonal, a main street in Barcelona with the hop on/hop off bus Turistic (red and blue lines) stopping about three blocks away at the Placa de Francesc Macia. This placa is also the end of the T1 tram line. Boarding the tram and going two stops will allow you to connect with the rest of the Barcelona Metro and the airport. We did make it La Sagrada Familia on Saturday morning. It was about a 12 minute (8 Euro) cab ride from the hotel.

The other bright spot in addition to the staff was the European breakfast. There was a one cup coffee maker which had a variety of coffees to choose from, Spanish ham and cheese, pastries and breads, juices, cereal, and fruit. Breakfast was included in our room price. The charge would have been 16 Euros had it not been. If I had to pay for it separately, probably would have gone down a block from the hotel on Carrer de Calvet and gone to one of the bakeries (one on each side of the street). There are also a couple restaurants on this street as you walk towards Avinguda Diagonal.

If you are using this hotel as a jumping off point for a cruise, take a cab. Normally, I try to take public transportation, but It is much easier to take a cab. The price ran a little over 20 Euros down to the cruise ship terminal from the hotel.

The AC Hotel Irla was a good hotel and a good value, but unfortunately not as advertised.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Abundantly elegant with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are small. I missed not having a tub but the room and bathroom with over-sized shower was otherwise very modern and comfortable. Excellent location close to action but quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
AC Hotel Diagonal L"Illa
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#334 of 513 in Barcelona
506 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#241 of 513 in Barcelona
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
1,283 reviews
Vincci Mae
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
90 reviews
AC Hotel Som
#4 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Irla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Irla

Property: AC Hotel Irla
Address: Calvet 40-42, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Irla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Irla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Irla Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
AC Hotel Irla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing