We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For low budgeters only”
Review of Hotel Auto Hogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Auto Hogar
Ranked #288 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“For low budgeters only”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you are on low budget and you need a place to stay near the city center (Las Ramblas) then ok you can stay at this hotel. Otherwise I would not recommend it. The rooms are clean but very old and the buidling is not re innovated. However there is a metro station right across the hotel when you can have easy access to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarakiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest, Many thanks for your comments, as it help us to improve our service. I'm pleased to inform you that we have finished a full renovation of all hotel rooms on 2013. If you decide to trust us in your next visit to Barcelona, I'm sure you will enjoy the next installations, wich include a/c or heating individually controlled, LCD 32" flat TV, free wifi access in all hotel, full amenities set in bath room, etc. Kind regards,

Sergi Sancho
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    612
    344
    133
    153
See reviews for
190
757
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

my mother and i had booked 2 seperate double rooms which cost us 541 EUROS for 7 nights , including taxes and city charges. We were disappointed that , for paying this amount of money - the Breakfast was NOT included in the price. Nor, was there a MINI bar in the hotel room or a kettle to make our own drinks.
we had to pay 8 euros EACH morning for the buffet breakfast which was adequate but very repetitive. However, i found the quality of the food ok and rather tasty with extensive amount of sweet pastries. I did notice that few people actually bothered to take up on this offer!
Both my mother (65 YEARS old) had requested a quiet room/area. we realise that its not always responsibility of hotel, but its guests who make noise , esp at night with often shouting, laughing and slamming doors on a number of nights at 2 to 4 am. At the weekend, there was a lot of music coming from outside (no double glazing in hotel rooms). once again, our sleep was disrupted.
We had found that the reception/concierge were ok/reasonable with their advice/help on various things but they did not make much effort beyond answering questions. when we had asked them to book a taxi to go to airport, they did not tell us that it would be charged to the taxi driver and therefore would cost us more money. This was unacceptable as it was over 5 EUROS for a 1 min call .
The meeting area/reception has a sofa and a chair which is VERY , VERY uncomfortable and is not at all easy to relax or wait in this area with no other chairs as option. people mention to Anyway, I found that the actual bedroom was comfortable and quite spacious and the air con did work well which was something in its favour. I must point out , however that i found a number of dark long hairs on both the bathroom floor and bedroom floor upon my first entry to my room - and they did not go at all in my 7 day stay in this hotel. This proves that cleaning was not done properly . NOT good enough!! The towels and other cleaning was upto scratch for both my mother and i.
The location of the hotel is ideal for the famous LA RAMBLA as its about 15 mins walk (if you walk the long way down and back around again). i couldnt be bothered to find a short cut through (maybe). There are many restaurants and bars with theatres in this area and has a lively atmosphere. I would not stay here at this hotel again as i found it over priced for 3 star and its amenities and facilties were not present nor the hotel warranted charging 541 euros for 7 nights without breakfast and no bedroom facilities .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianlabeija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Director Hotel at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest, Many thanks for your comments, be sure we will take note in order to correct any issues. Hotel Auto Hogar has different offers available to book, wich includes bed&breakfast or room only basis, so the client can choose wich one prefers. Kind regards, Sergi Sancho-Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked a double/twin bedroom with breakfast at the Auto Hogar Hotel, Av. Para-lel, 64, Barcelona.
The booking in process was straightforward and the reception staff were polite and explained the arrangements for breakfast clearly. We had to pay a one off 'City Tax' of 5€ which we were not aware of prior to the trip.
We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the Av Para-lel with a small open balcony.
The hotel lifts are rather small and you would struggle to get a wheelchair or buggy in one. You would certainly have difficulty in getting more than four people comfortably in a lift.
The room was very clean and tidy, the beds and furniture were relatively new and clean. Rooms were cleaned everyday, even on a Sunday, with fresh towels and the beds were made. The bathroom /WC was clean, tidy and fresh. A complimentary razor, two toothbrushes and soaps were all provided which was welcome because I travelled on a cabin baggage only ticket and intended to buy toiletries in Barcelona.
A safe is provided which is free of charge.
The Av. Para-lel is a really busy city road and seems to be congested on most days into in the late evening. You can hear the noise from the room and although it didn't really trouble me, some people may find it a problem and prefer a room that doesn't overlook the road. The theatre opposite (Apollo), on the Av Para-lel seemed to have a late night early morning show on Saturday morning and I woke up at 5am to hear about three hundred plus people on the pavement chattering away.
The breakfast dining area room is quite small. Sunday morning was very busy because a coach full of tourists had arrived late Friday and we had to queue for a seat for breakfast and share a table with two people we hadn't met before. Breakfast is self service; cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices, cold meats, hot fried eggs/scrambled eggs/sausages and toast etc. with coffees from a machine. I enjoyed breakfast but the options are the same everyday.
Av.Para-lel is a really good location; not far from the famous La Rambla (less than 10 minutes walk away, turn left exiting the hotel and left again at the end of the street, then walk up C Nou de la Rambla. I had been warned about pick-pockets but we didn't experience or witnessany problems. The Guardia Urbana are very visible in and around La Rambla and are there to help tourists and discourage petty crime.
Barcelona is a fabulous city and I certainly wasn't disappointed. There is so much to see and do and to you really need to plan in advance what you want to do in the two and half days you have on a weekend break. We went to the Camp Nou (home of FC Barcelona)for the tour which was 23€. You could easily spend 2-3 hours here if you are interested in football/sport. The trophy exhibition is great; the 5 Champions league trophies displayed are really impressive as are Messi's golden boots and Ballon d'Or's (replicas provided by the footballer himself). We also visited the beach (for a swim). The beach area can get very busy with walkers, cyclists, people on skate boards, roller blades and even Segways, using the promenade walkway/cycleway. It's about a 25-30 minute walk from the hotel to the beach.
We hired dutch style bikes from 'Budget Bicycles' for Camp Nou and Olympic Park visits. From the Olympic Park you get superb views over the city (well worth the ride to the top of the hill). We also visited La Sacrada Familia, and Parc Guell (two of the many Gaudi sites in the City). Palau Guell, one of Gaudi's less exuberant buildings, is just a short walk from the hotel on C Nou de la Rambla. We didn't go into 'The Temple (Sacrada)' the queues were too long. Nothing prepares you for the external views though; the photographs do not do justice to this building it is amazing (whether you like Gaudi's style or not) and it's still under construction with cranes, building screens and materials all around the building.
Barcelona is a big city and you wont have nearly enough time to do it justice in two/three days. Go on a open topped tourist bus and reconnoitre the city highlights and then decide which ones you want to visit in more detail later. For many of the best ' don't miss sites' you probably need a whole day, taking into account travel to/from the site, queuing and lunch.
For restaurants, you are really spoilt for choice, there are a range of restaurants close to the hotel with many pavement restaurants on La Rambla. We chose to eat in the Old Town with its maze of small tightly packed streets. There is a lot of choice whether you want pasta or paella.
For bars we used 'The London Bar' just around the corner from the hotel on C Nou de la Rambla, which had a live music act on every night. We also visited Flaherty's Irish bar, just off La Rambla where you can catch up with the latest sport if you having withdrawal symptoms.

I would recommend Budget Bicycles (just a 5 minute walk from the hotel on C Nou de la Rambla) for first class friendly service. The man in the bike shop is friendly and clearly explains how the use the bicycle, cycle routes through the city, things to watch out for when cycling and sites that you might like to visit. And the prices for the Dutch style bikes are very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you think you will be troubled by traffic noise ask for a room not facing Av. Para-lel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PippinTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location is pretty good (around 8 minutes walking to the Ramblas and just above a metro station).
The rooms are fairly clean and large enough.
The breakfast was a bit poor and finally the service was not to warm and welcoming....

I don't think I'll come back...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay. Staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent location room cleaned each day great breakfast with lots of choice. Would certainly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Barcelona. Within walking distance of the rambles.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lillyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Famalicão
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A nice and confortable hotel with an excelent location. Right in front of the Paral-lel subway station with conection with Funicular de Montjuic and just a couple of stops from the main spots. It is also located in a 10 minute walking distance from Las Ramblas.

The room was big and quiet and the hotel had free (slow) wi-fi. Some staff not so friendly but the general evaluation was positive. It was maybe a little pricy but the location worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diogo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located, maximum 10 minutes walk to the Las Ramblas, theater of Liceu and market. With metro just in front of the hotel it is easy to come to the all attractions.
Vi got a nice, big and new renovated room including wifi internet (could have been faster)
TV Chanel selection is very limited, there only one English speaking Chanel.
There is big selection of breakfast buffet comparing to the hotel standard.
I will give the room four stars and two to rest of the hotel.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again at my next journey to Barcelona.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Burhanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#209 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#163 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Aranea
Hotel Aranea
#238 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Paral - lel
Hotel Paral - lel
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Garbi Millenni
Hotel Garbi Millenni
#366 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#349 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auto Hogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auto Hogar

Property: Hotel Auto Hogar
Address: Avda Parallel 64, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auto Hogar 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auto Hogar Hotel is located in the most centric zone of Barcelona, 10 minutes walking distance to Las Ramblas Boulevard, the port and Plaza España, a place of celebration of fairs and congresses, filled with non stop fun and entertainment, the traditional theater’s area all around Paral•lel avenue, the beach, the Gothic quarter, restaurants and the Olympic harbor; all at walking distance. The Hotel also has a historic cafe / restaurant Café Español, a meeting place in the Paral•lel’s area. There is parking in the same building. In early 2013, it completed the refurbish of the 153 rooms in the Hotel, equipped with new stylish furniture, full bathrooms, climate controlled, direct telephone line and television, select rooms include private balconies with a lovely view of Barcelona. The meeting room Teatre, with capacity for 30 persons, where you can organize all kind of events, from business meetings to social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Auto Hogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auto Hogar Barcelona
Auto Hogar Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Auto Hogar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing