We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - great for footie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Ranked #283 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK - great for footie”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for the Barce game and was great for that. Easy enough to get around on the metro if you need to as the local area is very quiet and not good for much.
The hotel staff here are very pleasant. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was quite good. The coffee was excellent.

***One major point - if you book a room for 2 Adults and one child (under 12) they will only give you 2 single beds or one large bed. I complained about this and they said this is also highlighted on their website. I still haven't found it.

But who in their right mind would do this! No one would book it that way. It's a con and Alpha Rooms (who I booked through) should take this option off or make sure travellers know about this at time of booking. Once you are there they will charge you a lot more for any upgrade then at time of booking. This is more the hotel's incorrect policy. If you Senator Barcelona Spa guys are reading this change this. This really lets you down.

I have booked loads of hotels in this way and always got an additional bed. Sometimes a child bed but that is fairly normal. I even told them my child was 11 years at time of booking.

Rant over.

I would book again but make sure I do the rooms differently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,
First I would like to present our most sincere apologies for the incident occurred during your stay at the Hotel Spa Senator Barcelona.
As you indicated in your comments, you booked a room for two adults and a child. Let me explain you that our hotel offers the possibility to book double rooms with free child, as long as share existing beds with adults. You could find this information on our website.
We regret that our proposed upgrade to solve your problem is not to your liking. We always try to help our guests in everything that we can.
Anyway, if you are coming back to visit us in Barcelona, we recommend you to contact us before your arrival, then we will have enough time to confirm which kind of room you booked and all the conditions.

Finally, I really appreciate your comments towards our establishment, our cleaning service and our staff; we are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    541
    259
    86
    73
See reviews for
316
519
47
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Senator. It's a great location for the football ground and not far away from the underground. Breakfast is very good, including a cooked to order service. The hotel is worthy of consideration & we'd stay again, but it is now beginning to show some signs of wear & tear and a facelift would be great. Good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

It is a pleasure to know that the breakfast service was to your liking. We always try to provide our customers with the best service quality.

Regarding the location, if your main reason to visit this city is football, our hotel provides just what you are looking for, as we found a few minutes’ walk from the stadium.

For future visits, please ask at our reception for the benefits you will experience applying our Vip Playa Club card.

We are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were there for two nights and we really enjoyed.
The staff at the reception were very friendly and informed us that we should take
care of our belongings twice.
The rooms are very clean and sound proof. Given its location near Camp Nou I wouldn't ask for more. On the day we were leaving we had booked a shuttle at the reception and all went well.

I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend you any time :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

I really appreciate your comments towards our establishment and our staff. Make sure that I will pass on this comment to them, as our main interest is to achieve that all our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their stay.

Regarding the location, although we are not in the city centre, around the hotel, you could find many public transports that will take you to the most emblematic places of the city.

The whole Playasenator team is at your disposal and we hope you come back to visit us on another occasion. Meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Approx 10 mins walk to Camp Nou, so excellent location for the football, however not much to do locally and not many shops/restaurants.
If you want these then I would suggest staying somewhere else. I was mainly there for the football so it was good for me.
Hotel was clean, staff at reception were good and very helpful, also the staff at the breakfast area were good and quick to respond for additional cups, cleaning the table etc.
The free water and Pepsi in the rooms were much appreciated.
Only slight gripes were that the internet was slow and the breakfast menu was satisfactory (not as good as other hotels where I have stayed).
However I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others from my experience. The hotel also offers a bus service for 9 euros back to the airport which was better and cheaper than the taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comeonuironsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

As you say, we use to offer to our guest in all our rooms, coffee and tea facilities free of charge, and it is a pleasure for us to know you liked it, but if you prefer some snacks, or chocolates you could also buy them in our reception.
We also offer to our guest a basic wifi service free of charge, but if you need to use any special system, or program to watch videos, or mails, our staff will be glad to inform you how to enjoy a better and faster connection, using our Business Corner, or having a prepaid card.

Please do not forget, by further stays in our hotel, there will be even more advantages for you as a regular guest.

The whole Playasenator team is at your disposal and we hope you come back to visit us on another occasion. Meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perfectly functional business type hotel. Room was a little cramped and a little dated - but clean and more than served it's purpose. Check in a bit slow - seemed to be only 2 on and they weren't rushing. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry if you received a slow check in, but as you could check by yourself, we have many details to verifie during this process.
We will take into account your impressions and will work to improve these points you mentioned so your perception of our product will be completely satisfactory next time you visit us.
According to your comment about our decoration, although it is very subjective, it´s quite surprising for us, normally is one of the most praised aspects for our guests.
We are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great hotel staff so nice €9 shuttle to airport got ripped off coming €35 to take us in 10 min drive ! Food not good for eve meal tho breakfast first class ! Juatamatic beds so comfy ! Would recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anntimney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

I am glad to hear you enjoy our breakfast and you our room facilities made you feel comfortable. This is one of our main objectives.
We are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#197 of 521 in Barcelona
839 reviews
Madanis Hotel
#272 of 521 in Barcelona
456 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel & Spa Villa Olimpica Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#204 of 521 in Barcelona
659 reviews
Aparthotel Atenea
#238 of 521 in Barcelona
590 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#101 of 521 in Barcelona
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Address: C/Cardenal Reig 11, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#174 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Senator Barcelona
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing