We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business type hotel, good value, expensive parking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Ranked #287 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Stockport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Business type hotel, good value, expensive parking!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for one night last week to attending a business meeting, Hotel is typical large city business type. Pool is on the roof and was a little shabby but may look attractive on a hot day and its free, spa is EXTRA...
Bar area was nice in the foyer, but the barman was miserable and closed the bar without warning, beers could be bought from the reception after this for 2.5 euros. Staff at reception were very helpful and spoke good english.
Disappointed to have to pay 20 euros for parking, this seemed a lot excessive.
Breakfast was large buffet, typical of this type of hotel and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil3865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, as it is very important for us to know the impressions and opinions of our guests.
We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us. We would like you to come back and repeat a good experience in any of our hotels, where you can get some advantages for having been with us before, advantages concerning the spa and parking, among others.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope to see you again very soon meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    550
    262
    90
    73
See reviews for
318
527
49
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A long weekend at The Senator is 'spot on' Located on the outskirts of the city, but within easy reach of the city centre by a very good transport system and reasonably priced to match.
The room was good and the free. Mini Bar with water and Pepsi's was a bonus, replenished each day.
Staff were helpful and sorted out most minor problems we had during our time at this hotel.
Beds were 'A ' star comfort and the room was on the first floor and quiet. TV options and programmes were satisfactory.
The was no lunch or evening meal on offer but restaurants are to be found around the area.
Breakfast was worth having and generally sets you up for the day!
Nou Camp for the footballers is close to the hotel.
Note: to get an airport shuttle from The Senator hotel on your departure day. You need to book it the DAY BEFORE . This was something that reception staff did not tell us .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingman00710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed staying in our hotel as much as your review says. Your comment makes us feel really proud of our daily work, with the only goal of meeting our guests’ needs.


We apologize because I think there was a misunderstanding; our bar is open every day from 10:30 to 24:00, Friday and Saturday until 1am. There, you we offer to our guest a prepared Menu. If you prefer to taste typical Spanish food, we can recommend you many restaurants around the Hotel


Finally thank you for all the time taken to express his experience will take a note of each one of these aspects and will continue working every day to offer our guests a better service.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived after a long travel on the metro and walking around as couldn't find the hotel (it is in the middle of a housing estate). We were told that the room was ready for us, this was a surprise as we were early for check in. The lady on reception was very helpful and made sure we knew all about Barcelona and told us everything we needed to know about the hotel.

Once getting into our room, it was stunning. Very clean and tidy. Also was equip with a free mini bar and free wifi for your whole stay with them which i was very impressed with. The only thing I would say is that they need to put milk in the room for the tea/coffee making facilities. But other than that the room was perfect. Just be prepared for not many English channels on the TV.

Breakfast in the morning was to die for. Everything you could ever want, from hams and cheeses to full English cooked. I couldn't fault breakfast it set us up for a whole day of exploring in Barcelona and was lovely.

The only thing that both me and my boyfriend were disappointed about was that they didn't serve dinner or lunch. On our first night we would have loved a quiet sit down meal in the hotel instead we had to find somewhere else to eat after being tired and not in the mood.

Unfortunately I didn't get to use the spa facilities as we ran out of time on the holiday to fit everything in. However the roof top pool and area around it is beautiful and was lovely to sit up there on our last day enjoying the last part of the sun.

The transfer service to the airport the hotel run is really good and only cost 9 euros. However we were told it was an hours journey to the airport when really it only takes about 15 mins which meant we were at the airport very early and could have spent this time in Barcelona.

On the whole the hotel was very lovely and staff were excellent. I asked for a few things to be put in my room while I was there and it was done instantly. Very good service. Loved my stay here, would recommend to a friend and stay again myself. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments emphasizing you felt really comfortable during your stay. Make our guests feel comfortable is one of our main objectives.

It is a pleasure for us to know everything about the room lived up to your expectations, and that you had such a good feeling with us as you mention in your review.
As for the shuttle service, as we indicated you when making your reservation, is not a hotel service. We just manage the reservation for you, not knowing if the shuttle will have any other stop at other hotels.

I would like to repeat our gratitude and hope we can meet you soon in any of our establishments.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is literally less than ten minutes from the Nou Camp, so is ideal for those who wish to check out the biggest stadium in Europe. The hotel itself is mostly well designed, the hallway and reception area is modern, the bar is stylish and it's situated in a pleasant part of Barcelona. The only slight criticism I would have is that the decor in the room I stayed in was slightly tired and old fashioned. Also, the hallway leading to the rooms, could do with some improvements. Other than that friendly staff, and great location would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,
I am glad to hear you found the easy connections to the most popular places, as metro and specially bus station are nearby, making it easier to move around despite the not so central location, being a quieter choice though for those looking to switch off.
As for the decor of the rooms, an aspect that is usually quite likes our guests, but it is not something that can be considered objectively.
We really appreciate your comments about for the rest of our equipments and our staff. Your comment makes us feel really proud of our daily work, with the only goal of meeting our guests’ needs and it´s a pleasure for us to answer all questions anytime to help all our guests.

The whole Playasenator team is at your disposal and we hope you come back to visit us on another occasion. Meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Regards,
Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for the Barce game and was great for that. Easy enough to get around on the metro if you need to as the local area is very quiet and not good for much.
The hotel staff here are very pleasant. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was quite good. The coffee was excellent.

***One major point - if you book a room for 2 Adults and one child (under 12) they will only give you 2 single beds or one large bed. I complained about this and they said this is also highlighted on their website. I still haven't found it.

But who in their right mind would do this! No one would book it that way. It's a con and Alpha Rooms (who I booked through) should take this option off or make sure travellers know about this at time of booking. Once you are there they will charge you a lot more for any upgrade then at time of booking. This is more the hotel's incorrect policy. If you Senator Barcelona Spa guys are reading this change this. This really lets you down.

I have booked loads of hotels in this way and always got an additional bed. Sometimes a child bed but that is fairly normal. I even told them my child was 11 years at time of booking.

Rant over.

I would book again but make sure I do the rooms differently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,
First I would like to present our most sincere apologies for the incident occurred during your stay at the Hotel Spa Senator Barcelona.
As you indicated in your comments, you booked a room for two adults and a child. Let me explain you that our hotel offers the possibility to book double rooms with free child, as long as share existing beds with adults. You could find this information on our website.
We regret that our proposed upgrade to solve your problem is not to your liking. We always try to help our guests in everything that we can.
Anyway, if you are coming back to visit us in Barcelona, we recommend you to contact us before your arrival, then we will have enough time to confirm which kind of room you booked and all the conditions.

Finally, I really appreciate your comments towards our establishment, our cleaning service and our staff; we are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Senator. It's a great location for the football ground and not far away from the underground. Breakfast is very good, including a cooked to order service. The hotel is worthy of consideration & we'd stay again, but it is now beginning to show some signs of wear & tear and a facelift would be great. Good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

It is a pleasure to know that the breakfast service was to your liking. We always try to provide our customers with the best service quality.

Regarding the location, if your main reason to visit this city is football, our hotel provides just what you are looking for, as we found a few minutes’ walk from the stadium.

For future visits, please ask at our reception for the benefits you will experience applying our Vip Playa Club card.

We are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were there for two nights and we really enjoyed.
The staff at the reception were very friendly and informed us that we should take
care of our belongings twice.
The rooms are very clean and sound proof. Given its location near Camp Nou I wouldn't ask for more. On the day we were leaving we had booked a shuttle at the reception and all went well.

I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend you any time :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

I really appreciate your comments towards our establishment and our staff. Make sure that I will pass on this comment to them, as our main interest is to achieve that all our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their stay.

Regarding the location, although we are not in the city centre, around the hotel, you could find many public transports that will take you to the most emblematic places of the city.

The whole Playasenator team is at your disposal and we hope you come back to visit us on another occasion. Meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Madanis Hotel
#272 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel & Spa Villa Olimpica Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#201 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Aparthotel Atenea
#222 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#109 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Address: C/Cardenal Reig 11, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#174 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Senator Barcelona
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing