We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy for this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aranea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
Ranked #235 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy for this hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel and our room. It was modern, clean, good size bathroom. Also had a mini fridge so we could put drinks in it even though had stock in it. Air con worked very well. Had a safe. We were relaxed and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel. Close to city and metro. Plus cheap restaurants. Close enough to walk to busier district with better restaurants. Nice walk. Felt safe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexseventyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.
We hope to see you in our hotel again.
You can visist our official website and discover the best rates and promotions.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    433
    182
    49
    30
See reviews for
117
448
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

They provide a nice modern room with enough room for two to share comfortably, hardwood floors, comfortable beds, excellent location, very clean bathrooms, great staff, and decent breakfast. The room was very, very clean and welcoming. Other reviews that complain about the beds or the complimentary breakfast don't compare to the way we experienced this lovely hotel.

The king or queen bed in our room was actually two twins pushed together, which gave each of us the room we needed and the bed was comfortably firm. Our room was on a lower floor facing the four corners outside, so we experienced street noise, though only as much as you might expect in a working city and it got quiet in the evening. You could also hear others returning to their rooms in the hallways in the evening, though never for very long. More importantly, the rooms themselves were insulated enough that we didn't here noise from other rooms or televisions from other rooms.

The breakfast supplied everything you needed to get the day started--scrambled eggs, toast and pastries, fruit, juice, bacon, coffee, etc. Those who complained about undercooked bacon really should have given it another look and noticed that this was not the dry, overcured meat they would be accustomed to in the U.S., but rather a nice slice of cured pork cooked as much as it needed to be cooked and it was delicious. I do wish they'd give the breakfast staff one extra helper in the morning though--even part-time. The two on duty worked very hard to cook the food, serve it, clean up, and welcome us, and when the dining room crowded up they had a difficult time to keep up though they were working as hard as anyone could.

The location was convenient for us--near the Sagrada Familia and within walking distance of two Metro stops and plenty of bus stops. And though it was a bit of a hike, we were even able to and from a night out on Passeig De Gracia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PButterTKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel and sharing in this specialized web.

Your opinion is important for us. We note all this to improve our services and premises.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms are a bit on the small side, but clean. Had a room at the front and a bit noisy, also noise in the corridors. Good location for shopping & sightseeing (very close to Sagrada Familia - easy walk to Playa Catalunia). Didnt eat there. Short blonde girl on reception, slightly rude.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whitepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel and services.
This will help us to improve our services and premises day after day.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very good hotel fairly near to the metro and some of the main attractions (very close to Sagrada Familia). The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are furnished very well but they are small. Don't expect much of a view. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to get a very quiet room. The rooms are air conditioned and comfortable - the curtains block out the light completely. Basically, this is a comfortable and affordable hotel to stay in if you're going to spend all your time taking in the sights of Barcelona and want a good night's sleep at the end of it. We would stay here again!

WARNING: we booked this hotel through 'clever hotels'. They use third party agents to pay the hotel for your stay. In our case this was a company called 'Navelar'. When we arrived the manager told us the hotel had not received the money from the third party agent (which had apparently gone bust) and we had to pay all over again - we then claimed the money back from the credit card company. The manager was very helpful and handled it well. I only say this to warn you about (not so) 'clever hotels'.

Room Tip: get a room at the back for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alextheowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your interesting comments about our hotel and services.
This will help us to improve our services and premises day after day.

A good option when you reserve, is comparing the rates and conditions between the hotel official website and other internet agencies. You can get good prices and offers in our official website. This is easier, cheaper and you reserve directly to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided on this hotel due to the reasonable cost and given that it was not directly within the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but in the nearby district of Eixample. An added bonus was that it was just around the corner from Gaudi's Sagrada Familia.

Staff/Customer service

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and we were checked in rather swiftly and given a room on the 2nd floor - room 203.

However, on entering the room we had been given a double room rather that the twin that we had booked. We went back down to reception to explain the situation and were greeted by another member of staff (who I assume was in charge.) After explaining the bed situation he proceeded to tell us that the room was the one we had booked, when my friend explained that we had booked a twin his response was 'yes I know, but you also requested a shower in the room rather than a bath'. Not quite seeing how this explained the situation with the beds my friend repeated that yes she had requested a shower, but with a twin room. The guy behind the desk responded with 'twin rooms come with a bath, double rooms come with a shower, hence the double room'. We explained that we would prefer a twin room and for go the shower, at this point he took great delight in smugly telling us that the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing he could do about it. I found the guy to be revelling in the whole situation and to put it bluntly he was downright rude. We had no choice but to accept the room we had been given. If we had been staying longer that a couple of nights we would have searched for another hotel.

After unpacking we went back down to reception to seek some advice on how to get to Les Ramblas as we were told it was within walking distance. The receptionist that we had dealt with prior to the room incident was back on duty. This guy was very helpful in producing a map for us circling where we were and where we wanted to go. He told us that the metro stop was just around the corner - when we mentioned the word 'walk' he seemed alarmed and said that it would take around an hour - this was definitely not the case - 15 minutes tops at a leisurely pace.

Room

The room itself was exceptionally clean, as was the bed linen, and the room overlooked the front of the hotel. However, given that the room was a double it was tiny, hardly enough room for one person, let alone two. This was evident when trying to open the wardrobe doors. Impossible is an understatement, the doors could only be opened half way out on both sides. Definitely not enough hanging space for two peoples clothes either. Manoeuvring around the room between the two of us was also a military operation, we were constantly stepping aside for each other just to get from one side of the room to the other. There was also a table and chair directly under the window with a television placed precariously on the edge of the table. Absolutely no idea how one was meant to sit at the desk given that the edge of the bed was practically touching the chair whilst it was nestled under the table!!!

During the night the air conditioning unit seemed to fail - we tried opening the window but given the continuous noise of scooters screeching around the streets we gave up on that option pretty quickly.

Bathroom

Miniscule is an understatement!!! To give an example as to how tiny the bathroom was I could touch both walls at the same time with my arms outstretched. However, again everything was immaculately clean with fresh towels on a daily basis. An added extra was a complimentary basket of toiletries, with the usual soap, shower gel, shower cap and shampoo but a few added extra included a razor, an emery board, mini toothbrushes and toothpaste.

Restaurant

We had booked to stay on a bed a breakfast basis only so can only comment on what was on offer at breakfast (7am - 10.30am)

There was always a good selection of cheeses, hams and breads. (There was one toaster which had seen better days - took about 5 minutes to toast the bread.) Scrambled and boiled eggs, mushrooms and sausages. A huge selection of mini pastries and cakes. Plain yoghurt was available, though fresh fruit and cereals were lacking.

There was the usual pineapple and orange juices available from a machine - though this was not freshly squeezed but a rather sugary, sickly cordial. There was a vending machine which had various selections of coffees available, together with hot chocolate. However, this machine broke down on a daily basis whilst we were there, much to the dismay of waiting on staff who huffed and puffed if anyone dare request a coffee from the bar area that they had to open.

All in all this hotel was ok for the three nights that we stayed here. At the end of the day it was relatively cheap for Barcelona. However, some of the staff had an 'attitude' (especially the smug guy on reception) which would put me off staying at this hotel again. Good customer service should be a priority and queries should not be met with 'a roll of the eyes' or a 'deep sigh'

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your interest sending us your detailed experience at our hotel and sharing in this specialized web.

Your opinion is important and we note all this to improve our services and customer care.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Aranea Hotel is a fair 3* hotel. It's clean and the toilet amenities were provided.
The room is OK but the doors were thin as we could hear steps and voices of people walking in the corridor at 2 AM.
The staff was rude except for Alberto who was very kind to us and really helpful.
The hotel is located on a calm residential road, a little far from Las Ramblas but close to Sagrada Familia (less than 10min walk). The nearest metro station is "Monumental" (5min walk) but that line does not go to the center so we had to change metros every time we wanted to go downtown.
We asked for higher floor room, we got one on the 7th floor but the room was sooo small, we couldn't find place to put our suitcases so we asked to change the room to 2nd floor even though the receptionist didn't agree at first (knowing that another one told us that we could switch rooms).
The terrace closes at 8:30pm. The room service/restaurant (Except for breakfast) closes in August knowing that the hotel was full.
Buffet breakfast costs almost 12euros and 5euros for express. We spent 4 nights there and didn't eat in the hotel because Barcelona is full of cafes and restaurants. There's a cafe/pastry on the same street "Juan's" with great croissants and coffee.
Next to the hotel, you can find a big supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience on this website.

We note your interesting observations to be improving our facilities and services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When I travel two things have to be perfect. 1) The bed 2) The Breakfast.
At this hotel close to Sagrada Família the bed was really good. A perfect mattress and a perfect size fore two.
The breakfast however was boring and trivial. Soft bacon with tasteless scrambled eggs. And the coffee was without soul.
But hey! It's in Barcelona and you don't spend much time at the hotel.

It's in walking-distance to the metro and to Sagrada Familía.
And in the nighttime it is quiet in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Bring your own iron - the hotel doesn't have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience on this website.

We note your interesting observations to be improving our facilities and services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#160 of 521 in Barcelona
723 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#115 of 521 in Barcelona
1,856 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#166 of 521 in Barcelona
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#243 of 521 in Barcelona
1,232 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#284 of 521 in Barcelona
1,459 reviews
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#239 of 521 in Barcelona
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Property: Hotel Aranea
Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | Esquina Napols, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea has a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. The 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms "Girona" and "Ático", are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing