We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”
Review of Hotel Aranea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
Ranked #237 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An average hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Aranea for 4 nights during September; prior to checking in I had to leave my luggage at the hotel because I flew for 2 days to Madrid. I was charged EUR 2/piece/day eventhough I was returning to stay at their hotel.
In general their front desk staff (except Alberto or Roberto) weren't the friendliest; speaking with an attitude and not flexible at all.
We stayed in room 207 which had a weird lay out that could barely fit 2 persons with their luggage. The room was cleaned daily and toiletries added daily, slow wifi was available in the room. The bed is a NIGHTMARE, the mattress is stiff an uncomfortable; when we asked to change our because of this the answer was: ALL OUR ROOMS ARE SAME!!
The location of the hotel is okay; close to Sagrada familia but we had to commute to reach everything else.
Didn't eat at hotel or used anything from the mini bar; plenty of cheap places around. Used to have nice breakfast @ Joan's (a nearby patisserie).
Wouldn't stay there if I visit Barcelona and nor will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    445
    189
    49
    30
See reviews for
119
465
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited this Hotel for 2 nights and chose the location due to its proximity to the Sagrada Familia. Our room and bathroom were large enough and clean. The view from the window was a brick wall but we had asked for a quiet room so quite happy with that!
Breakfast was disappointing and members of Staff washed up the breakfast dishes at the counter creating a VERY noisy atmosphere!
The dining room did not open in the evening but plenty of restaurants nearby. The "bar" was a drinks machine.
We were very disappointed that the roof terrace was locked at 5:00 pm as it would have been very pleasant to sit up there during the evening.
We would, however, use the Hotel Aranea again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.

We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just back from Barcelona,wish is the most amazing city.Our rooms were not cleaned until 5pm the roof terrace closed at 5pm which was disappointing.Breakfast was poor,despite there being an abundance of fruit and veg in Barcelona none was offered at breakfast not even a tomato!!On hindsight I would go to self catering apartments next time we visit Barcelona .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear guest,

We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel and our room. It was modern, clean, good size bathroom. Also had a mini fridge so we could put drinks in it even though had stock in it. Air con worked very well. Had a safe. We were relaxed and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel. Close to city and metro. Plus cheap restaurants. Close enough to walk to busier district with better restaurants. Nice walk. Felt safe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexseventyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.
We hope to see you in our hotel again.
You can visist our official website and discover the best rates and promotions.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

They provide a nice modern room with enough room for two to share comfortably, hardwood floors, comfortable beds, excellent location, very clean bathrooms, great staff, and decent breakfast. The room was very, very clean and welcoming. Other reviews that complain about the beds or the complimentary breakfast don't compare to the way we experienced this lovely hotel.

The king or queen bed in our room was actually two twins pushed together, which gave each of us the room we needed and the bed was comfortably firm. Our room was on a lower floor facing the four corners outside, so we experienced street noise, though only as much as you might expect in a working city and it got quiet in the evening. You could also hear others returning to their rooms in the hallways in the evening, though never for very long. More importantly, the rooms themselves were insulated enough that we didn't here noise from other rooms or televisions from other rooms.

The breakfast supplied everything you needed to get the day started--scrambled eggs, toast and pastries, fruit, juice, bacon, coffee, etc. Those who complained about undercooked bacon really should have given it another look and noticed that this was not the dry, overcured meat they would be accustomed to in the U.S., but rather a nice slice of cured pork cooked as much as it needed to be cooked and it was delicious. I do wish they'd give the breakfast staff one extra helper in the morning though--even part-time. The two on duty worked very hard to cook the food, serve it, clean up, and welcome us, and when the dining room crowded up they had a difficult time to keep up though they were working as hard as anyone could.

The location was convenient for us--near the Sagrada Familia and within walking distance of two Metro stops and plenty of bus stops. And though it was a bit of a hike, we were even able to and from a night out on Passeig De Gracia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PButterTKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel and sharing in this specialized web.

Your opinion is important for us. We note all this to improve our services and premises.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms are a bit on the small side, but clean. Had a room at the front and a bit noisy, also noise in the corridors. Good location for shopping & sightseeing (very close to Sagrada Familia - easy walk to Playa Catalunia). Didnt eat there. Short blonde girl on reception, slightly rude.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whitepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel and services.
This will help us to improve our services and premises day after day.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very good hotel fairly near to the metro and some of the main attractions (very close to Sagrada Familia). The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are furnished very well but they are small. Don't expect much of a view. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to get a very quiet room. The rooms are air conditioned and comfortable - the curtains block out the light completely. Basically, this is a comfortable and affordable hotel to stay in if you're going to spend all your time taking in the sights of Barcelona and want a good night's sleep at the end of it. We would stay here again!

WARNING: we booked this hotel through 'clever hotels'. They use third party agents to pay the hotel for your stay. In our case this was a company called 'Navelar'. When we arrived the manager told us the hotel had not received the money from the third party agent (which had apparently gone bust) and we had to pay all over again - we then claimed the money back from the credit card company. The manager was very helpful and handled it well. I only say this to warn you about (not so) 'clever hotels'.

Room Tip: get a room at the back for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alextheowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your interesting comments about our hotel and services.
This will help us to improve our services and premises day after day.

A good option when you reserve, is comparing the rates and conditions between the hotel official website and other internet agencies. You can get good prices and offers in our official website. This is easier, cheaper and you reserve directly to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
757 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#286 of 513 in Barcelona
1,507 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#174 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#245 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#247 of 513 in Barcelona
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Property: Hotel Aranea
Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | Esquina Napols, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea has a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. The 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms "Girona" and "Ático", are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Lastminute, BookAssist, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing