We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aranea
Nearby Hotels
US$267
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$395
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$552
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$220
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
W Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$685
US$529
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$378
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
230
467
204
57
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
467
204
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssagrada familiaminute walkthe hotel staffclean hotelair conthe nearest metro stationeasy walking distancetour busstayed here for nightsroof terraceshort staymini barla ramblagothic quartercityeurostaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Aranea for 4 nights during September; prior to checking in I had to leave my luggage at the hotel because I flew for 2 days to Madrid. I was charged EUR 2/piece/day eventhough I was returning to stay at their hotel.
In general their front desk staff (except Alberto or Roberto) weren't the friendliest; speaking with an attitude and not flexible at all.
We stayed in room 207 which had a weird lay out that could barely fit 2 persons with their luggage. The room was cleaned daily and toiletries added daily, slow wifi was available in the room. The bed is a NIGHTMARE, the mattress is stiff an uncomfortable; when we asked to change our because of this the answer was: ALL OUR ROOMS ARE SAME!!
The location of the hotel is okay; close to Sagrada familia but we had to commute to reach everything else.
Didn't eat at hotel or used anything from the mini bar; plenty of cheap places around. Used to have nice breakfast @ Joan's (a nearby patisserie).
Wouldn't stay there if I visit Barcelona and nor will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoeLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited this Hotel for 2 nights and chose the location due to its proximity to the Sagrada Familia. Our room and bathroom were large enough and clean. The view from the window was a brick wall but we had asked for a quiet room so quite happy with that!
Breakfast was disappointing and members of Staff washed up the breakfast dishes at the counter creating a VERY noisy atmosphere!
The dining room did not open in the evening but plenty of restaurants nearby. The "bar" was a drinks machine.
We were very disappointed that the roof terrace was locked at 5:00 pm as it would have been very pleasant to sit up there during the evening.
We would, however, use the Hotel Aranea again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.

We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just back from Barcelona,wish is the most amazing city.Our rooms were not cleaned until 5pm the roof terrace closed at 5pm which was disappointing.Breakfast was poor,despite there being an abundance of fruit and veg in Barcelona none was offered at breakfast not even a tomato!!On hindsight I would go to self catering apartments next time we visit Barcelona .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear guest,

We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel and our room. It was modern, clean, good size bathroom. Also had a mini fridge so we could put drinks in it even though had stock in it. Air con worked very well. Had a safe. We were relaxed and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel. Close to city and metro. Plus cheap restaurants. Close enough to walk to busier district with better restaurants. Nice walk. Felt safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bexseventyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.
We hope to see you in our hotel again.
You can visist our official website and discover the best rates and promotions.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

They provide a nice modern room with enough room for two to share comfortably, hardwood floors, comfortable beds, excellent location, very clean bathrooms, great staff, and decent breakfast. The room was very, very clean and welcoming. Other reviews that complain about the beds or the complimentary breakfast don't compare to the way we experienced this lovely hotel.

The king or queen bed in our room was actually two twins pushed together, which gave each of us the room we needed and the bed was comfortably firm. Our room was on a lower floor facing the four corners outside, so we experienced street noise, though only as much as you might expect in a working city and it got quiet in the evening. You could also hear others returning to their rooms in the hallways in the evening, though never for very long. More importantly, the rooms themselves were insulated enough that we didn't here noise from other rooms or televisions from other rooms.

The breakfast supplied everything you needed to get the day started--scrambled eggs, toast and pastries, fruit, juice, bacon, coffee, etc. Those who complained about undercooked bacon really should have given it another look and noticed that this was not the dry, overcured meat they would be accustomed to in the U.S., but rather a nice slice of cured pork cooked as much as it needed to be cooked and it was delicious. I do wish they'd give the breakfast staff one extra helper in the morning though--even part-time. The two on duty worked very hard to cook the food, serve it, clean up, and welcome us, and when the dining room crowded up they had a difficult time to keep up though they were working as hard as anyone could.

The location was convenient for us--near the Sagrada Familia and within walking distance of two Metro stops and plenty of bus stops. And though it was a bit of a hike, we were even able to and from a night out on Passeig De Gracia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PButterTKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel and sharing in this specialized web.

Your opinion is important for us. We note all this to improve our services and premises.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews