We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and base for Barcelona.”
Review of Hotel Aranea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
Ranked #234 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and base for Barcelona.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As with all my reviews, I will be as honest as I can. I really enjoyed this hotel. My Gf and I went out for 4 days (3 nights) in Barcelona and from start to finish we had an amazing time.

I was very impressed with all aspects of Hotel Aranea. The check in time is supposed to be 3pm but we arrived at 11am and were greeted by a friendly reception who had a room ready for us. We were given detailed recommendations by them too and we signed up to the 2 day hop on bus tour (recommended also by me).
Once all the introductions were done, we headed up to our room. It was clean, a little on the small side, but a perfect base for a few days in the city. The bathroom was clean and had a nice big shower. It was comfortable.
Its location in my opinion is great. 3 minute walk to Sagrada Familia (where you can catch the Barcelona bus tour) and a 15 min walk into Pl. Catalunya (city centre square). Its all accessible with ease from the Hotel.

Every morning/evening upon return, we were greeted with a friendly hello. A nice welcoming touch.

We ate out most mornings and every evening as theres no shortage of coffee and pastry shops on the way to the city centre and restaurants down La Rambla!! However, 1 day we did have breakfast before we went out. 5 EUR for a pastry and coffee isn't bad for a hotel but you can get much more for much less on the streets but it was fine. Other than that I cant comment on the food but the restaurant was comfortable too.

For a city break base, this is a well priced hotel and ultimately I would recommend it to anyone. Its a well priced 3 star hotel. It is what it is. Thumbs well and truly up from me.

Room Tip: get the Aerobus to Pl. Catalunya and walk up Consell de Cent (10-15minswalk) to the Hotel. Taxis wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest2

Thanks for your time and kindness for sharing on this website a valuable feedback about our hotel.
We hope to see you soon again in Barcelona. You can visit our official website and get the most competitive price.


Sincerely,
Jose A. Pamies - DIRECTOR HOTEL ARANEA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    449
    192
    50
    31
See reviews for
122
473
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, booked for £99. And what a damn good bargain it was.

Lovely room, good telly (channel 4 for Ramsey's kitchen nightmares) and perfect for sleeping after a 12 hour city tour! The bed may seem a little hard at first but it is so very comfy.

The only downfall was the lack of kettle.. Us British do love our tea.. But the hotel staff very kindly supplied us with hot water (we had our own tea bags of course!!)

Free wifi, walking distance to all areas, and a lovely roof top terrace that would be amazing in the summer time

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for sharing your kind experience in Barcelona. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel and we hope to see you again.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Josep A. Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, location ok but a bit far out of centre. Rooms very clean, but with wooden flooring throughout it can be quite noisy. my bed was not at all comfortable so didnt sleep well. breakfast was very expensive for what was on on offer , so preferred to eat at a cafe on the corner which was fantastic. Ok value for money, but will not stay here again .

Room Tip: choose a room far away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthie919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We note your comments in order to improve our services and facilities.


Sincerely,
Josep A. Pàmies. Manager Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived, after 2:00pm only to be told abruptly by the front of house, if we could go away and come back at 3:00pm! Our answer was 'No' and we wanted to see the manager. Miraclously, we were given a room within a few minutes. Woman at the front desk was very blunt and damm right rude, not hospitalable at all. The room was nice and clean.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Ms Nancy Bent,

Thank you for your nice comment about our hotel and services.

We regret this misunderstanding with our receptionist on arrival. Your room was actually ready for you but without any reason our receptionist did not know how to manage their arrival and she wrongly decided you to wait. As you checked our supervisor immediately resolved this misunderstanding and you got your room at once.

Yours faithfully,

Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is situated at a walking distance from Sagrada Familia. Room I stayed was not spacious, but kept neat and clean. The front desk is highly helpful. They work very hard to keep you happy. You can ask for any guidance and they will be ready to help you.
The morning breakfast is same everyday without even a minute change and makes it boring and monotonous. The quality of food is good.
Toiletries do not contain a moisturiser which is a must during winter. It has only shampoo, ultra-tiny bath soap and a comb. I think they are very stingy on this account.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
Your comments help us to improve our service.

Visit our website and discover our best rates for a next visit.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is exactly what all the reviewers have said too date. Reasonable, clean, friendly etc. However I have to agree with one of the reviews which stated that if other guests walked past your room or were talking it as if they were in your room. My wife and I were woken at 2:30am by people walking from one room to another and having a full conversation. non existent sound proofing. I would make a couple of suggestions to people going to stay in this hotel, there is a lovely little cafe across the road from the hotel - El Meson, very friendly, very reasonable. Also for a late night tipple just around the corner from the hotel a nice little bar called Combarra. The only fault I found with the hotel was the noise coming into our room from the corridor.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs you might need them !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John19461949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in Barcelona.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Josep A. Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three days in mid February 2014. Staff were absolutely brilliant; friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and kind. The rooms, although a little small were clean, comfortable and airy. The location was near to a metro station and the blue tourist bus route, and about 10 minutes walk from La Sagrada Familia.
A great hotel for the busy sightseer and would definitely recommend it.
Anne

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in Hotel Aranea.
We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Josep A. Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#169 of 512 in Barcelona
772 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#110 of 512 in Barcelona
1,895 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#287 of 512 in Barcelona
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#180 of 512 in Barcelona
771 reviews
Eixample
Hotel SERHS Carlit
Hotel SERHS Carlit
#327 of 512 in Barcelona
293 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#240 of 512 in Barcelona
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Property: Hotel Aranea
Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | Esquina Napols, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea has a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. The 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms "Girona" and "Ático", are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing