We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Heating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Medium Monegal
Ranked #428 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Had room 420 the best view in the hotel. Asked at reception how to put the heating on and was told the room had blankets! And it did but obviously no heatin, great view if some what cold and noisey.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaswegian0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

It wasn't too hard to find as it was signposted, however you do have to walk through a jewellery store to get to it... or maybe it was just that the jewellery store was located in it's 'reception' area. Odd.

The room was really small and run down. The one and only window was frosted glass, so we opened it to see what was on the other side, it was looking into a disgusting central opening in building, pipes and dirt everywhere... that explains why the window was frosted! The bed looked tired and worn and we questioned whether there would be bed bugs in it. It was an uncomfortable sleep as well. The bathroom was clean so at least that was a bonus.

The breakfast wasn't worth it, the coffee was disgusting, I'd recommend heading out and buying something real from any local cafe and bypass the hotel breakfast.

Location of the hotel was good if you want to be near old town. It's at the top of La Ramblas and there are a lot of warnings of pickpockets, but it's fine if you are simply aware and take necessary precautions - like wear your backpack or bag on the front. The end of La Ramblas has a few strip clubs so I'm sure it would be dodgy at night time just like other reviewers say. We avoided it at night time so we never saw any of that.

I wouldn't recommend the hotel due to the quality of the room and breakfast, there are plenty of other options around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmathewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

if you are a traveller like i do you only sleep in your hotel room, you dont stay in one. this hotel is right in the middle of barcelona, on the bus route from the airport and right on la rambla. it was so central, we could not believe our eyes when weh saw its location. the views from the hotel room across the square is stunning as well! The rooms are not big, but the location makes it all worth while! No better place to stay in Barcelona is you want to explore the city!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

When we arrived in the early morning we could check-in right away, although the check-in time mentioned in their info was actually around noon.

The room we got was on the back on the 2nd floor (201). The room was clean and perfectly spacious enough to have a city trip. There was a balcony, but unfortunately the smell and heat from some pipe coming from either Burger King or MacDonalds was so overwhelming that we had to keep the door to the balcony closed. This wasn't bothering us that much, since we had a perfectly working A/C.
The next day we did ask if we could get a room on the front, which would be nice also because of the view on the Placa Catalunya/Ramblas. Without any problem we received the keys for room 212, just across the hall from our room. This room had a balcony and view to the front and was just as clean as the other room and slightly bigger. We spend our dowtime with some sangria watching people on the balcony.

Also in none of the rooms, so also not in the frontroom, did we have any problems with noise. We slept like babies!

Basically the location is REALLY excellent, the service of the reception desk is just as excellent. Some rooms do have a bad situation, but the rooms in itself are clean, functional and big enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VenuSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our 3rd time in Barcelona but first for the two friends who came with us. On both previous occasions we stayed in different hotels, but Medium Monegal is definitely the best of the three. Location couldn't be better right at the top of La Rambla where it meets Placa de Catalunya. Rooms big enough and well equipped. Couldn't fault cleanliness. Reception staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 18TillIDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in this Hotel in April 2011. It was our first time in Barcelona and we booked based on price and location. We stayed for 5 nights and the price was reasonable at 35 each per night. The location of the Hotel is excellent. Its just off La Rambla and on the corner of Place De Catyluna, both of which are right where you want to be for things to do and see.

The hotel itself has nice, clean and well decorated rooms. There is no serviced restaurant or bar but there is a clean canteen where you are welcome to bring food from adjoining Burgerking (a personal favourate) or McDonalds if you like a bit of fast food.

We had a room overlooking the square as I requested this for the view. However be warned if your a light sleeper this is very loud throughout the whole night as the city doesnt really sleep.

The staff are helpful and friendly but not engaging unless requested.

Night life in the area is excellent and there are plenty of bars and restaurants. Hard Rock Cafe was a highlight for us in terms of food. Theres also some excellent memorabillia in there including installations from Bob Dylan which I enjoyed.

The area is plagued with pick pockets so be extremely careful. If you are unlucky enough to experience this and spot the culprit. Just walk away do not try and pursue for your measily 100 euro, its not worth it.

The waterfront is merely a ten minute walk away and on a fine day its a lovely place to spend an afternoon.

Barcelona itself is fine for 3 days but we found the 5 days a bit too long. Be aware its also a very very expensive city.

The tourist sites such as Gaudi's house are very expensive also. Any other questions feel free to mail.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

For one or two nights, great for the price. Great view out on La Rambla and Catalunya. Central location - walkable to everything downtown, secured wireless internet.

We are currently staying in the Monegal, and we really don't have any complaints other than the floor could be a bit cleaner. We are a family of 4, and we're renting a double room for one night: 2 single beds pushed together. They brought in an extra bed for our daughter (4 yrs). I think it will cost about 30 euros extra - not sure it that's for the night or for the entire stay. And they brought in a crib (cot - like a pack n play) - free of charge - for our son (16 mos). To provide our son a separate space, we were able to fit the pack n play in the bathroom, and he's happily asleep. We're paying 140 euros for a night, and although we're facing La Rambla from the 2nd floor, and we can hear the noise, it's muffled enough that our children can sleep through it, and we'll be able to as well. A continental breakfast is included.

The Aerobus - a direct bus service from Catalunya to the airport (BCN) that doesn't require advanced ticket purchase - think Hop on Hop off Tourist bus like - picks up about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Booked through booking.com. When hotel knew we wouldn't fit in the rooms I booked, they fixed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#304 of 515 in Barcelona
424 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#231 of 515 in Barcelona
350 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#263 of 515 in Barcelona
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#170 of 515 in Barcelona
1,034 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#216 of 515 in Barcelona
1,055 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#91 of 515 in Barcelona
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medium Monegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medium Monegal

Address: Pelai 62 | Plaza Cataluña, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medium Monegal 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel medium monegal hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, in Plaza Cataluña, with privileged views over the Ramblas and very close to the Gothic Quarter. A classic facade and functional interior to create an inviting environment, with rooms with very convenience and a lounge to relax in and recover your strength after a day touring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medium Monegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Monegal Hotel
Medium Monegal Barcelona
Hotel Medium Monegal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing