We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, but very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Medium Monegal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Medium Monegal
Ranked #454 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central, but very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here for the second half of my trip to Barcelona.

If you're after something a little better than a hostel, but you're still on a budget, this is a good option.

My single room was small and very basic. I did have my own bathroom (there are options for shared bathrooms) and it was clean.

I didn't make use of the breakfast option, so I can't comment on the food.

It is however about as central as you can get. On the corner of Placa de Catalunya, right on La Ramblas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonGreeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    161
    155
    60
    45
See reviews for
60
176
76
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

When my sister and I were checking out different hotels in Barcelona, we had one thing in mind: Location. This hotel is smack right in the centre of Plaza Catalunya. Everything is literally right at your doorstep. Although you're in the middle of it all, the street noise did not seem distracting - almost non-existent when in the room. It was also reasonably priced considering its location. Rooms are quite dated but we had a lovely view of the Plaza from our own terrace and the blankets were not very nice but these were just small things - we cared more that the room was clean and safe. The reception guys were very friendly - gave us little tips and told us where to get good deals with tours etc. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again and already recommended a friend to stay here.

Room Tip: When booking online, request for a room with a terrace - you'll have the best view of the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnehastheTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel because I was coming back from Lanzarote and couldn't get a same day flight back to Qatar. The location is great, just few minutes away from the Aerobus terminal going to the airport. Shops are right down the stairs. The room though looks old and their blankets are not very nice. The hallways are narrow and the walls are thin. I dont think it is worth paying for the breakfast. After I ate breakfast, I had to go downstairs and have another breakfast at McDonald's. Staff are friendly. This would be a good place to stay for a night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank J_P0rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Considering you're talking about a two stars hotel in the heart of Barcelona Plaza Catalunya and that the price is really convenient, you shouldn't ask for a lot. Anyway, consider that rooms are gloomy, old fashioned and, most of them facing an ugly wall. Nothing really important is you don't care about it. A good option for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricio_Odw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Medium Monegal, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Patricio

many thanks for your review. We really appreciate you opinion since it allows us to point out one important feature of our hotel: it is not true that most of our rooms "facing an ugly wall". Actually the majority of our rooms are external and facing Pelayo Street or The Ramblas. Nevertheless we have some other rooms that are internal, but not for this reason they are worse than others: a lot of guests prefer to stay there in order to be far from the noise of the street. It just depends on the preferences of each person.

Thanks also for your opinion about our location and our convenient rates: you are definitely right!

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Amid other Barcelona hotels with their sky-rocket prices, this hotel was more reasonably priced. An additional positive is its great location at the top of the Ramblas. Then when a taxi is needed, the taxl stand is just across the street by the Plaza.
The hotel room was modest but yet clean and comfortable. Although the room was located overlooking the Plaza, the street noise did not seem distracting. The hotel offered a breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, the check-in staff did not make any mention of it when I queried about recommendations for breakfast.
Overall in summary, I would consider staying at this hotel again during my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dobedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel has a very good location at the Ramblas and Placa Catalunya. The room was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was not very rich but still not bad at all. The whole hotel would need some remodeling...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gheorghe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#200 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#145 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#300 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#242 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#230 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medium Monegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medium Monegal

Property: Hotel Medium Monegal
Address: Pelai 62 | Plaza Cataluña, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medium Monegal 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel medium monegal hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, in Plaza Cataluña, with privileged views over the Ramblas and very close to the Gothic Quarter. A classic facade and functional interior to create an inviting environment, with rooms with very convenience and a lounge to relax in and recover your strength after a day touring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Medium Monegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Monegal Hotel
Medium Monegal Barcelona
Hotel Medium Monegal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing