We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Medium Monegal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Medium Monegal
Ranked #454 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    162
    155
    60
    45
See reviews for
60
177
76
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Checked in June 1 after walking from the port to the hotel ( 20 minutes ) up Las Rambalas. Hotel was easy to identify with MacDonalds right beside it. Rang the security buzzer and let in. Small check area but able to check in right away ( 10.30 am ). Staff was amazing in answering questions and assigning our room Vanasa ( hope that is correct ) as all the ladies working there over our 2 day stay spoke English and went out of their way to help.
Assigned room 213 with a view of Cataluña. Room was spotless clean, with a full washroom. Beds were two singles pushed together and a little firm. Renovations to the outside did not impede our stay. Yes you may hear a little street noise but that's the small price to be in the heart of the city that truly never sleeps.

Folks this is the best "bang for the buck " you can get imho!

Thank you ladies for a great stay.

Robert.

Room Tip: Elevator small and a little slow but sure beats the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebring98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days in May. Great stay, nothing to complain about. We expected a basic room with no luxury and that's what we got. Don't expect any kind of luxury or "fancy-ness". This hotel's thing is it's location. Metro and Placa Catalunya across the street. Aerobus from T1 and T2 drop you off so close it's basically like a hotel shuttle.

I had asked for a room with a view towards the front to see La Rambla or Catalunya Place and the staff was kind enough to accommodate us. We even had two little balconies to see the Rambla beneath.

Our stay would have been a lot less enjoyable I think if we had had a room with inside view. It really made a difference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Domsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Medium Monegal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mr. Domsters, thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at our hotel medium monegal.

It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the very central location – only a few steps from the Plaza Catalunya and Aerobus stop. As you experienced, we always do our best to satisfy guests' request, in this case, the room facing Las Ramblas.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel has excellent location - right in the start of La Rambla, just in 10 meters from Placa Catalunia. Another advantage is good service, they even have very cool convenient restroom for chech-outed guests - vith toilet and shower, soft sofa and free wi-fi. The only little problem it had was interim exterior reconstruction, but it was compensated by moderate price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslan_Dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Medium Monegal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ruslan

thanks for your kind review and for considering that our rates were moderate. We always try to give a good value for money to our guests.

As you experienced, the hotel façade is under renovation. This kind of works has a very low impact to the guests, but when major renovations will take place (in a few months) we will close the hotel.

We hope you may stay again in our hotel medium monegal, maybe after renovation, so you may see the difference in the hotel design and services.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Medium Monegal end of April - beginning of May, the hotel was covered with advertising hoardings, scaffolding so was concerned we would not have a room with a view of the Ramblas, asked at Reception if they would be able to arrange a room at the front with a view & after making a call to housekeeping they confirmed that they had one room available(lucky for us) Room 215 had a great view and was a good size with 2 windows & balconies, bathroom good size too,
Breakfast was fine, the normal continental buffet cheese ham yoghurts toast fruit etc.
Reception Staff were very helpful & sorted out open top bus tickets etc, unfortunately the tea & coffee machine was out of order & remained so for all our stay even though we reported it quite a few times, we ended up taking a tea or coffee to our room from McDonalds next door to Hotel

Room Tip: front of Hotel for rooms with view of Cataluyna square & Ramblas, even though it is busy the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the 'Mobile World Congress' and due to unavailability of rooms elsewhere, I took this place up for an exorbitant price of almost half a grand for two days. It is certainly not worth as much.

This hotel is clearly not aiming at being one of the high-end places of the city. It provides only the minimum amenities required for a decent stay. Room service is substituted by vending machines. But that is okay, as in case of any emergency, the friendly and cheerful staff at the front desk is always happy to help.

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Fast wi-fi network
- Prime location
- Close to metro station, taxi stand etc

Cons:
- Self-proclaimed slowest lift in the world!
- No room service
- Too pricey for the services it provides (may not be as expensive on non-event days)
- Needs renovation
- Rooms are dark and gloomy

If you are not looking at luxury and the bare minimum is good enough for you, you surely can opt for this one. An average experience for me turned into a good one by the cordial staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumana_K296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Medium Monegal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ms Sumana

many thanks for your polite and ironical review. You really made a good service to other Tripadvisor's users.

Unfortunately World Mobile Congress is the worst period to check if a hotel is worth the money or not. All hotels are remarkably expensive and despite we try to keep our rates at an acceptable level (compared to our competitors) they are objectively high. Sorry for that but many thanks to identify the best values of our hotel: location and staff kindness.

Our lift is likely the slowest in the world, but we are working to change it! It will be a pity, but our guests will appreciate it...

Hope you may stay again in our hotel. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Medium Monegal Hotel. It is currently undergoing renovations and there is a huge advertizement banner covering entire front of the hotel, so don't expect view from your room. The room was dated, but clean and comfortable. They do charge for the safe (3 euro a day). Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel is in central location, on Plaza Catalunya. There is an aerobus which runs every 20 minutes from airport and stops on Plaza Catalunya across from hotel and costs 6 euro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#198 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#300 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#148 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#243 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#230 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medium Monegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medium Monegal

Property: Hotel Medium Monegal
Address: Pelai 62 | Plaza Cataluña, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medium Monegal 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel medium monegal hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, in Plaza Cataluña, with privileged views over the Ramblas and very close to the Gothic Quarter. A classic facade and functional interior to create an inviting environment, with rooms with very convenience and a lounge to relax in and recover your strength after a day touring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Medium Monegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Monegal Hotel
Medium Monegal Barcelona
Hotel Medium Monegal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing