We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel -- misses the mark on service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #27 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel -- misses the mark on service”
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We spent three nights at the Neri in early September. What a nice surprise of a place as you enter from the Barri Gotic. Fabulous ambience, nice accomodations. (And believe it or not we had a brave cab driver who actually dropped us at the door!) Truly a special 'boutique hotel' but alas, I must nod in agreement with all those other reviewers who are criticizing the service. We prefer the boutique hotel experience because of the personalized attention and service one typically gets at hotels in this category.

While the Neri tries to position itself as a boutique hotel, it really does disappoint on service. The staff, while eager to please, just doesn't have the training or experience. What a shame...would we stay again?...hmmm...tough one. We loved being in the Barri Gotic. We would definitely want to stay in that area again but the service at the Hotel Neri would have to really improve to win us back.

My advice to those considering a stay at the Neri would be, if future reviews indicate that the service has improved and that management finally 'gets' what their shortcomings are, book at the Neri. If they get the service right, it would be a fabulous place to stay!

  • Liked — location and very hip ambience
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Braton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    145
    47
    17
    17
See reviews for
111
461
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

What a shame - this hotel has so much potential - superb location, very chic and stylish, and with some super design features. However, in common with so many of the comments I have now read below, we found the service to be shocking. This hotel simply cannot justify it's 4 star price tag when it employs 1 star staff. The staff in any hotel are what really make it and you can excuse all sorts of problems if they are dealt with efficiently and in the right way. But at this hotel they have no idea what the service industry is about and made our stay very difficult from start to finish. Don't touch this hotel with a bargepole - over-rated and overpriced.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Wow! In stark contrast to its medieval surroundings, the Neri Hotel is urban chic to the max. A taxi can take you only as far as the Placa St. Jaume in the heart of the Barri Gotic, and from there you have to walk a couple blocks through narrow cobblestone streets. But
once they buzz you in and you pass through the huge glass door, it's designer all the way from the complimentary orange juice and grenadine drink they serve you at check-in, to the walls and furniture of the lobby, to the decor and lighting of the rooms, to the large flat-screen television, to the quarried stone bathroom with
the rain forest shower. The Neri captures perfectly the sense of style and design that is almost palpable throughout Barcelona. Huge rooms, perfect central location, first class amenities and service, it was hard to leave.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, service, designer touches
  • Disliked — Street people sleeping in the square directly behind the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djb1gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Loved the neri. From the scent of the lobby once you enter through sleek glass doors, the modern juxtaposed stylishly with the historical. The rooms were gorgeous, we loved the attention paid to design and detail. Loved the flat screen TV. Loved the unique lighting in the bathroom. Loved that the hotel was set in an oasis of calm amidst bustling Barcelona and yet centrally located. Definitely great for loved-up couples looking for a dirty weekend getaway!

  • Liked — gorgeous design
  • Disliked — breakfast not included
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

The wife and I did a three day stay at the Hotel Neri at the very end of August, 2007.

A few days before you arrive at Neri, you'll receive an e-mail asking you for your preferences with pillow types (feather, foam, sponge, brick?) and sheet types (linen, cotton, satin), as well as if you need a transfer service from the airport (Neri's transfer service would be 50 Euros; a regular Barcelona taxi would be about 25 Euros, but you run the risk of the driver not knowing precisely where Neri or Sant Server street is, in which case you tell him Plaça de Sant Jaume).

Thankfully our driver knew where Sant Server street was and after dropping us off in the square, we walked up one street, made a left onto Sant Server (no sane driver should attempt to drive up Sant Server street, it's too narrow) and the hotel was right there.

The first thing you might walk into when entering the building will be an aromatherapy wall. It's strong! When you sit at the reception desk, the receptionist will have welcome drinks ("sweet milk", as in coconut milk?) brought out. The check-in process was very individualized and pleasant.

Because the hotel was fully booked for the nights were there, the receptionist said we received an "upgrade" (we originally booked a deluxe room) to a Junior Suite. From what I can tell, the sizes between the three different room types are really really close, the only difference might be that there's a few extra amenities from one room type to another, and our junior suite had an outside balcony with chairs, a table and a day bed. Not worth the difference in price, in my opinion. For example, the suite balcony would probably be most pleasant to use when the sun is going down or especially when the weather isn't blazing hot outside, but the table there is not even big or tall enough to properly balance a room service tray or more than a couple small plates.

Apparently the hotel is a renovated, centuries old mansion, but every single centimeter of the building seemed completely brand new and I couldn't find what I thought was an original brick or tile in the place. When I stepped out onto the suite's balcony and looked at the overhanging roof, I recognized those as being somewhat aged. Okay -- the renovation they did to the original building must've been incredibly thorough.

For it's size, the room was very impressive, thoughtful, quiet and indeed very soothing. Your keycard needs to be inserted into a slot near the door in order for the room's lights & A/C to turn on. Tiny halogen lights on each side of our bed could be dimmed and controlled from either side.

I liked the very slight "rustic" feel to the furniture.

Entering the bathroom, our room had an immense mirror with lights behind it. Other light switches turn on a heat lamp and a much brighter light. The shower was encompassed on three sides by rock slabs and a full glass wall (no worries about spilling water all over the floor like in other European hotel bathrooms with puny glass panels only covering a little bit of a tub).

Two little bags on the sink contain pretty much anything you forgot to bring from home: toothbrush & paste, comb, tissues, shower cap, makeup remover wipes, cotton buds & cotton puffs, razor & shaving creme. There's lotion, shampoo and "bath foam" (shower gel, I guess... no bathtubs in this hotel) bottles as well.

Now a couple of unfortunate things.

The last night of our stay, we noticed tiny black bugs in our bed. They were about the size of fleas but they didn't jump like fleas. Nor did they bite. I'm not sure what attracted them or what they were, but it added a wee bit of an "ick" factor to the stay.

There is an incense burner with incense on a shelf next to the bed. After I burned some incense the first night, housekeeping never swept up the ashes from the shelf that I probably should've cleaned up myself. I still tipped the housekeeping staff, tho.

My wife wanted to try the restaurant for dinner but once we got a look at the menu on site, she said there appeared to be more menu items listed on the hotel's website than in the actual restaurant menu (it appeared that there were maybe four things listed under each category of "fish", "meat", "starters"). Nothing in the English menu sounded very appetizing, so we ended up not indulging with dinner at the hotel restaurant.

We did do a room service "snack" two nights (in place of dinner). The Ham, Cheese & Asparagus sandwich was small but very delicious, and my wife very much liked the Boccanipio (sp?) cheese and dried tomato salad. My next night's choice turned out a little strange because of an unfortunate English translation in the menu. It listed "tacos of bullock with potato foam", but the actual item turned out to be beef skewers in a kind of potato soup. Relatively tasty, but I would've chose differently had there been an accurate description.

Other reviewers note surly service. I didn't get this perception at all. Most every staff member I talked with seemed pretty friendly and helpful. Only a couple requests got ignored or denied (e.g. we had to check out at 12 noon sharp, not 12:30 p.m.), but nothing too important or annoying.

As we left the hotel, we noticed that graffiti taggers had "hit" the Hotel Neri window on Sant Server street, as well as spray painting lots of other doors & buildings along the way back to the plaza. We felt pretty safe walking around the area, other than that.

  • Liked — Soothing, quiet, thoughtfully laid out rooms
  • Disliked — English menus for room service & dinner weren't accurate (or appetizing)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Stayed at the Neri in April, and found the hotel to be very much as described elsewhere! Situated down a small road close to the Gothic Cathedral, the Neri is fantastically well situated in the Gothic quarter, placing you very much in the centre of Barcelona, making it an excellent base for exploring.

The hotel is decorated in soft and plush fabrics, and the staff were all polite and helpful during our stay and when booking. The hotel arranged tickets for a Barcelona football match in advance for us, with the tickets arriving at the hotel on the day of the game. Our room was a Junior Suite, which was a reasonable size and and on the top floor. Quiet in the evening, in the day you got noise from children playing in the square below, though don't let this put you off as it in no way intrudes.

Be prepared to get lost in the Gothic quarter - it truly can be a maze until you get your bearings, but there's much to enjoy from getting a little lost, as there are shops, streets, markets, restaurants and cafes seemingly every way you turn. We had the hotel arrange a car to pick us up from the airport. On your first visit this is probably worthwhile - though be aware that this is just a normal black and yellow taxi that the hotel sends. You'll be impressed by his ability to get the car down streets barely wider than the wing mirrors though!

All in all, the hotel meets expectations - it's clean, comfortable, stylish, and was a nice place to stay. If I was returning to Barcelona, I would look at other hotels simply to give us a variety of experiences, but I would also recommend the Neri to others. In summary - the Neri is good, but somehow falls short of being great!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBandSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

The Neri Hotel is in a fantastic location within the heart of the old Gothic section of Barcelona. The hotel itself really is quite spectacular and has all the amenities that you would want, with the exception of a gym. The staff is incredibliy friendly and helpful. We found the restuarant at the hotel to have great food, but to be very over-priced, but since you are located so centrally, you can walk within 5 minutes to find a number of other great places to eat. If you are looking for a funky, boutique hotel in the heart of Barcelona, this is the one. Note to travellers: we arrived as a large group and took three taxi's to the hotel and none of the taxi's knew exactly where the hotel was situated. Print out directions before you go to help your taxi as the hotel is nestled within the old gothic section and can be VERY hard to find the first time around.

  • Liked — The funky style
  • Disliked — A little pricey
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing