We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My Husband & I just had a very quiet stay at this (very beautiful) Hotel. Good mix of quality design & quirkiness with very comfy beds and a selection of pillows. The classy & romantic roof terrace serves fabulous Margaritas. We didn't breakfast in the restaurant as we prefer a lighter airier space in the morning. We dined there but wouldn't do so again as it's style over substance and thinks it's serving better food than it actually is (looks posh but quite bland). Despite evidence of a renovation underway opposite we weren't disturbed at all. Would return to stay again but wouldn't eat there as so many lovely restaurants on the doorstep. We stayed in room 305 which is the room with the balcony wrapped around 2 sides which we had requested but didn't use. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: The room have hardwood floors so get one on the top floor to avoid 'stilleto ear', high heel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SharonYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a great hotel right in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona. The location was fantastic, the staff very polite and helpful. Our room overlooked the courtyard. It was so nice to lay back on the bed and listen to the sound of children playing, the bell sounding every hour and the general chatter of people. It all was very peaceful and the hotel beautiful. we took a small travel kettle which came in really handy as we like our tea. They have bath robes, slippers, and a hair dryer. It is tucked away a little, just find the Gaudi museum, then walk behind the cathedral which is right next to it.. You have arrived!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at the Neri pre cruise in late June for 2 nights. Everything was lovely, from the room upgrade to the car they sent for us at the airport. We arrived early and had to wait an hour for our room to be ready but went out and with the help of the concierge found a churro stand, they were just as I remembered from my teen years and we had a lively political discussion about the state of things to boot. Our room was not large but fine by any standards, the bathroom very modern and different. The bed was just the right firmness and the linens and toiletries were top notch. The lighting was good for reading in bed. The lobby was very contemporary yet plush and inviting, not stark and cold. The staff could not have been nicer, we were even invited to a private yearly party that the hotel was sponsoring for some media group. We made use of the roof top patio in the afternoon and it felt like a private hotel. The only other people we kept bumping into was the actress Vanessa Redgrave and her party. It is a very private place and I can understand why people who need privacy seek it out. We loved the location, just a few blocks fro Plaza Catalunya and next to the Cathedral, and at the top of Las Ramblas but not close to the craziness of the Ramblas. Behind us was a convent school and the small plaza courtyard, very historically important. It is on a very narrow alley and we could almost touch the collection of shoes of person living across the alley. It was very safe. We were out at all hours and there were always people walking by. We walked everywhere but cabs were not expensive and the cab drivers were very pleasant. Breakfast was a treat, worth every penny and you could skip lunch after having it. There was no street noise to be heard, except for the bells of the cathedral which I found soothing. We will definitely be returning. Loved the Neri, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our first night at the hotel was lovely, our room was big with a lovely balcony wrapping around it. Then at 7.30am in the morning the builders opposite started drilling and tapping away at the building they were working on, the windows aren't double glazed so it literally felt like we were on a building site. I went down to reception, they had know about this before we arrived and hadn't thought to warn us before we checked in. We asked to be moved but were then told that all the suites with terraces faced this building site! Except one, we were shown this spare room and it was tiny with no balcony, it didn't look like a suite and I would certainly not have paid a suite price for it. I then asked if we could downgrade and were told there wasn't any other rooms available. the guy on reception was rally unhelpful and also acknowledged that the suite room was tiny, at no time were we offered a discount to stay in this room and not other solution was provided. I couldn't put up with another morning of building work so we checked out and went to the mirror hotel instead, it's a bit further out but the rooms and much nicer, staff more helpful and they have a small pool on the room. Plus it's cheaper. Maybe ask if the building work is still going on before booking at expensive room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check if the are still building works going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hotel is very nice and clean. It's a good location around a bunch of shops around the area. Hotel staff were nice and helpful. The website shows they have a office/internet room, but in reality there is a lounge, but no internet.
Restaurant is nice, but menu was limited. There were 7 of us and we were not allowed to order off the menu, but told we had to buy a preset 3 course meal and couldn't order off the menu. Seems very limiting and makes you wonder if it was something done to Americans who don't know any better? The breakfast buffet was very good, with lot's of food. Highly recommend the breakfast buffet, just eat elsewhere for dinner.

Room Tip: Booked directly online. It was cheaper than through other websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Recently stayed 4 nights in the Neri for a long weekend, wedding anniversary celebration.
I had carefully read all the reviews and was not disappointed. Lovely room (junior suite ) with terrace, which I preferred to extra interior space- It was hot and coming from cooler climes I would rather be outside- how much time do you spend inside your room in the summer?Terrace gave complete privacy but therefore had no view - you can't have both. It is a matter of personal choice - see photo. An individual hotel with plenty of character and lovely food. The only problem is deciding whether to opt for the sumptious breakfasts and then risk having less space for lunch. Easy to reach if you can read a map ( less than 10 mins walk from Playa Catalunya) and great location in the heart of the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapreader64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A nice hotel in a central location. If you get a cab there take a map with you as its a couple of minutes walk from where you're dropped off. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithfam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,441 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#13 of 519 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
940 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £226 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing