We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic beautiful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2007

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Neri in a junior suite located on the third floor. The quietness of the room was fantastic, the best 5 nights sleep we have had in ages. We did not have a balcony but our room overlooked the square which was really lovely. The housekeeping was excellent, the bed extremely comfortable and the fixtures and fittings really chic, we disagree with previous reviews of the furniture being Ikea ish. The staff do not fawn all over you but when utilised were friendly and courteous. They did book a table for us at a michelin starred restaurant at short notice. It is a welcome respite from the heat entering the hotel as it is quite dark and very cool after being out in the heat. There aren't lots of facilities in the hotel so if you want a swimming pool etc then this is the not the hotel for you but is is unique and in a fabulous location, the catedral literally up the road and it is fabulous staying in the gothic quarter. It is really easy to get anywhere in Barcelona pretty much from here. Did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it does have a very good reputation and there is a fabulous little place called buenos migas not far from the hotel that does amazing foccacias and yoghurt with fruit for breakfast costing about 9 euros for 2 with coffee. Barcelona is an amazing city and my fiance and I could easily have stayed for longer and felt relaxed after staying at the Neri would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants something that little bit different.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Candyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    145
    47
    17
    17
See reviews for
115
466
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longborough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2007

We were delighted with this hotel. If you like intimate hotels with strong contemporary design, this is the one for you.

The location couldn't be better. It's in the middle of the Barrio Gothic right by the cathedral. Plenty of places to eat out within easy walking distance.

Contrary to the reviewers below, we found the service excellent. The staff are young, keen to please and they all spoke very good English. They responded quickly to anything we asked for.

We booked a junior suite on the third floor with a terrace. We couldn't fault the design of the room- spacious, good lighting, large bed, flat screen TV, DVD and CD player. Good size bathroom with a tub plus shower.

Some of the reviewers below have complained about noise, but we asked for and got a quiet room which didn't overlook the children's play area.

The bar on the roof terrace is a bit of a let down and was empty when we went up there. It isn't really a bar, as you phone down for drinks to be brought up to you. Not much of a view either.

Breakfast was spot on. We didn't try the restaurant as it has no choices for vegetarians, but we ate really well at Tragaluz, Cuines Santa Caterina and Agua which all had good veggie selections.

We would definitely stay at the Neri again.

  • Liked — Small hotel with strong contemporary design
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

The good news, this location can't be beat, it's in the middle of everything you would want to see or do in Barcelona.

The bad news - the service is HORRIBLE. We travel frequently and stay in many differnent types of properties. This was hands down the worst service I've ever gotten at a hotel (regardless of price). I am not a fussy traveler and usually don't need anything from my hotel staff.

This staff, however goes out of their way to make you feel unwelcome.
Their attitude is only matched by their incompetence. We booked 3 months in advance a junior suite. We were given a standard room, without a word. Like we wouldnt notice the difference! Unbelievable!
We complained, and after much rangling (and tons of attitude) were given a suite after agreeing to pay a lot more (and waiting a full day). It was huge and beautiful (#106), but very loud and dark. Knowing that we wouldn't be able to handle switching again, we put in earplugs and made the best of it.

They refused to exchange travellers checks (in euros) and on top of it, didn't know where to change money. Upon our late arrival the restaurant they sent us to was closed, and the requested wake-up calls never happened. They are a disaster.

The hotel itself is beautiful, but the staff has got to go. I can't believe the owner puts up with this.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — serv ice
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank natureloverCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

It has been the third time i was staying at this hotel. It used to be my favourite in the world, but things went wrong this time.

We have booked juniour suite with the terrace, top floor, quiet, far away from elevator. Let me say it appears that they have 3 junior rooms, and believe me, they are far from been the same. The one we were given was resembling more a deluxe room only with a high celing, and this for 406 euros per night (incl taxes). I felt so crooked/ I reserved 6 weeks in advance, but obviously they messed my reservation.

It was never like that before, i was staying here in great rooms with nice small balconies, cozy and intimate. I was almost speachless once I saw in which room I had to stay this time. And have communicated before with a hotel about my reservation.

In the end they gave us a discount on the room, and next day we could move to a different room. But only after we complained 2 times. This so much spoilt my perfect Barcelona dream hotel.

I still find the hotel itself very unique. And they have actually lowered the price for breakfast which is worth every euro.

But it seems to me that there obvious problems with stuff. It is still the same people at reception who used to work there 3 years ago, and they definitely feel demotivated. I do not see any longer sparkling in their eyes. I think some kind of rotation must take place.

Otherwise I will definitely return again trying my luck.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — stuff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank AdventurerHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Neri in April 2007. We discussed and agreed on the following:

1) Location: right smack in the middle of the gothic maze, thus very close to many restaurants and sites. Would have been difficult to find, but the hotel arranged for transportation right to the door which was convenient (we recommend this, only costs a bit more than using a taxi). If safety is on your mind, generally this is a safe area. However, we were the vicitim of a purse snatcher...which we were told is common in these winding streets. Just leave your stuff in the safe box and all should be fine. You would be hanging out in these streets whether you were staying at the Neri anyway, thus don't let this be a determining factor in your decision.

2) Facilities: really, there isn't much in this regard. There is a sleepy restuarant and a roof top with chairs, but no real bar scene or service for that matter...def not a place you want to be hanging out...boring. Internet access in the "library" but what hotel for over $350 bucks a night doesn't have this?

3) Rooms: very cool intereior, mix of dark "cave like" stone and soft colors made for a comfortable, modern, room. Flat screen TV, but like the rest of the hotels in spain, I hope you like CNN. Shower was nice, but I have no clue why they made the room so dark...honestly, you can barely see to shave, put on make-up, etc...its sort of strange. The bed was very comfortable and the climate controls worked to perfection.

4) Service: indifferent at best. Odd to me, but I felt at times like my being at the hotel was an inconvenience. There is no real doorman, just people wondering around. Upon arrival, we were asked just to leave our bags in the lobby and walk around as the room wasn't ready (which is fine), but as we were leaving I swear our bags were just left and there wasn't a single person left to look over them, move them, or whatever. Don't expect anything from anyone. This crowd doesn't bother you, they just don't want you to "bother" them.

5) Noise: as noted by other reviewers, these rooms are really noisy. Some of it comes from school kids during the day (we really didn't care about this because we were out playing in the City). But late at night, or in the morning, footsteps could be heard, voices, etc. Not sure where it originates from, but it was loud and clear.

Overall, we enjoyed Barcelona, but you can do better for a place to stay. I think any "buzz" over the Neri is withering away (if it's not gone already), and it is enjoying its final gasps of popularity. Even the staff seems to be growing bored.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank morevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Due to a mix-up by a booking agency, 4 extra rooms were booked in our
name. Instead of the hotel staff sorting this with the agency, they expected us to sort in the middle of our holiday. They even suggested
we may have to pay 5 x over! Eventually it was sorted, but the hotel staff offered no formal apology or compensation. Sleepless night and stress do not make for a good holiday. Could not recommend the hotel as the staff did not deal correctly and professionally with this problem

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candlewaxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Neri in Nov. 2006. The hotel is beautiful and the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location in the Barri Gothic. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and I loved the mood lighting. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location, ambiance
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,280 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 512 in Barcelona
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,328 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing