We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #235 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We paied only 35€ for this hotel. Location is nice. Staff is nice too but receptionst's English is a bit poor but still enoght to have a basic conversation. Room is OK, especially bathroom looking like new. Just one negative point: the quality of the bed is a bit too old (would be OK for a 1 star hotel but almost not acceptable for a 2 star...) Hotel even provide 2€ entrance for famous nightclub... Basically if you want to party and just have a place to sleep I recomand this hotel...

Room Tip: You may go to the nightclub just near to the hotel. If you do so you get great ambiance and dont pay...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25LucA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Coronado Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel bec. It's just a few walks from Sala Apolo where I'm about to celebrate valentine that night. The receptionist (day shift) a self-confessed fan of Pacquiao is a nice guy (you'll see him most of the time outside the hotel lol). The elevator is old & small but it's alright. The room is big with 3 beds, a toilet & showers.. with a lot of shampoo & bathsoaps sachets. Some good towels.. a tv (which I didn't use)... but most of it's furnitures (chairs & side tables) are very old like the one you'll see beside the garbage container but who cares the bed is a little comfortable. During the afternoon you can even hear the whisper of your neighbor but aircon Is good so you can rest well even with those noises. But during the graveyard hour it is so quiet you can even hear anything. There is also a free wifi but just incase the reception forgot to give you the password, it's written in the table next to the flat-screen tv of your room. The lobby has some bending machine too but the hotel bar is close by 1am but no worry, there's a lot of bars & shops outside. Cheap priced but Big room! I can recommend this & I'd like to stay again here in coronado hotel... someday when there's no train or night bus that will take me home outside the city of barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARVADJUSTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very good choice for budget stay. It is very well located - 2 min walk to metro, 10 min walk to La Rambla. A lot of nice local restaurants and cafeterias nearby. Seaside also very close.
The room was clean. Equipped with small crt tv, airconditioning, quite comfortable beds (but pillow was too flat for me) and nice small bathroom and toilet. Room seemed to be old but cannot complain as it was really clean and the age was seen only on furniture. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. WiFi worked really fine in the roms and it's free. We had a room on 5th floor and there wasn't any loud coming from the street.
What I would complain about are really thin walls so you can here the neighbors. The other negative thing was that a cleaning service never washed classes in the room and forgot to leave new shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom.
One more odd thing was the rule that key has to be left in the bowl at reception desk when going out - I felt a bit uncomfortable with this.
To sum up, besides the drawback I would recommend the hotel to others who want a budget stay in quite comfortable conditions. Keep in mind that it's one star hotel so you cannot require too much.

1  Thank ojojoj-27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2013

i booked a room for three persons in the amazing price of 62 euros total for 2 nights
. it was very close to the ramblas .the room was very comfort and spacious,and the bathroom clean and in very good condition although it is an old hotel.
the only problem is that the first night we had to stay at another hotel very close to this one because they made a mistake and there was no room for us .it was a little annoying for 1 hour but at least they paid for this room as it was more expensive .to be honest i cant say i was dissapointed .mistakes happen

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 days in this Hotel during January 2013. We searched for a cheap place with good location and Coronado fulfilled all our requirements. It is located 3 minutes of walk from nearest subway station and 7 minutes from Las Ramblas. You'll find some small shops, cheap pubs and cafe just outside of it. During really cold weekend in room it was hot enough for me and my girlfriend (which isn't used to sleep in cold), just be prepared for some rumbling from the nearby street - buy earplugs if you are easily woken (like me). BE SURE TO ASK FOR ROOM FROM THE ROAD-SIDE - there are also some rooms from the interior but believe me - you wont like them. We didn't buy breakfast there so we can't write if it was good. Nice staff, no bugs, clean bathroom with hot water - I would really suggest staying at this hotel (for a reasonable price).

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the road side - NOT interior!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Czerwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and two friends booked this hotel for a weeks stay in Barcelona. It was fantastic value for money and was only 10 mins walk to Las Ramblas. And because it was in a less touristy area, there were several bars and restaurants nearby that were very cheap as they were aimed at locals.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CountryBumpkin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

It has a 2 person elevator the looks like its from the 1500's and about to break down any second! The bed was shaped like a half pipe and made for a horrible nights sleep, our window looked out to some sort of shaft in the middle of the building and did not lock, bathroom was tiny, barely any hot water, some dodgy characters hanging around outside, did not feel comfortable leaving our only room key at reception in a bowl for anyone to take whilst the reception manager was constantly taking personal phone calls. Avoid staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lor134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
#369 of 513 in Barcelona
274 reviews
Montjuic
Hostal Abrevadero
Hostal Abrevadero
#119 of 308 in Barcelona
305 reviews
Montjuic
Barcelona Fifteen Luxury Hostel
Barcelona Fifteen Luxury Hostel
#144 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
HelloBCN Hostel
HelloBCN Hostel
#80 of 731 in Barcelona
269 reviews
DingDong Putxet
#249 of 308 in Barcelona
138 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#115 of 308 in Barcelona
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Calle Nou de la Rambla, 134, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £46 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Coronado Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing