We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, in agreat city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Banys Orientals
Ranked #169 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

finally, i maneged to get a room in this hotel for our anniversary. The location is fantastic,the room is a beat small but the bathroom is quite good and very clean,The front desk staff are very helpfull,especially the lovely Camilla.The breakfast is very nice a good selectin of everything and very reasonably prices,on every floor you can find free bottels of mineral waterand apples which is very nice. We had areally great weekend there,I hope to come again,

Room Tip: book early,as they are always full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ybdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Hotel in a great location near the old part of Barcelona with a metro station close by. Rooms are small which is not a big issue but the lack of hot water, very hard bed and noisy location were. When we brought to the attention of staff that the water was not getting hot they were attentive and polite but we were told same in all rooms and that is was ok. Did not bother to try and resolve the other issues.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rae1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This place got a great review in The Guardian some years ago and we have been trying to stay there ever since, but always found it fully booked. At last in January this year ("off off season, as the proprietor of a nearby bar called it) we managed to get the last available room here. Not the biggest room in the hotel, I suspect, but very comfortable and stylish. Great shower! It's not cheap (but much cheaper than the 4* place our friends stayed in, which wasn't as nice) but is very elegant and is a fantastic base for exploring the Gothic Quarter, my favourite bit of Barcelona. Just round the corner from Metro Jaume. Service friendly and excellent - staff went out of their way to help us. Buffet breakfast well worth the extra 10 euros. My only minor gripe was the inadequate sound insulation between our room and next door - ear plugs next time. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I found the Banys Oriental hotel to be very clean, excellent location, strong internet connection good business center. The breakfast was a good price, very complete. There was a restaurant down stairs, i did not have time to try it, but it was very busy every time I went past. There were many good restaurants in the area. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked this hotel because of the location in El Born . Many visitors think the best place to stay in Barcelona is near LAS RAMBLAS, but that is not true. Hotel Banys Orientals was reasonably priced, less touristy, and within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see. It is also one block from the metro station Jaume and very convenient to use for those places that are too far to walk.
We took the Aerobus from the airport 5.90 Euros/pp to Placa Cataluya and then walked our stuff approx 10 blocks to the hotel. The staff at the front desk were super nice and helpful. They stored our luggage until our room was ready and then took it up for us. I loved the format of our room. We entered the door to our room and then there were 5 or 6 steps down to the living space. It made us feel like a suite instead of just a room. A nice touch was the free water and fruit that were available on each floor. We had a room at the front of he building which had a small balcony. Apparently we were there during a holiday so there was noise outside until the wee hours of the morning. Request a room at the back if you need quiet.
We made friends with a local tour guide. He said that this area of the old city is where the locals go for TAPAS. There are lot's of good restaurants nearby. We were also able to walk to Barceloneta and the beach in about 10 minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel and location and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Noisy on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nomad824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Seond time I have stayed here. Excellent location though can be noisy. Rooms are small but well appointed. Suggest you request a room to the rear of the hotel or on a higher floor.

Staff are friendly and helpful and no problem to store luggage or have a taxi ordered for airport or railway station.

We did not take breakfast but rather went to the small cafe next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband recently returned from Barcelona. We stayed at Hotel Banys Oriental. While the rooms a a little small, the bathroom is nice and the Shower is great! Best of all is the location, we walked everywhere! The neighborhood in which this hotel is located is also really great, lots of restaurants to choose from (good food). The staff was very helpful...we especially appreciate Gaston's help! Another really. Ice feature is the coolers on every floor with water bottles, free for guests! Really nice after a day of lots of walking! Really nice spot and reasonable. I highly recommend. Note: book direct with the hotel for the best rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#126 of 518 in Barcelona
773 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 518 in Barcelona
2,144 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#147 of 518 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#226 of 518 in Barcelona
690 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#338 of 518 in Barcelona
237 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#171 of 518 in Barcelona
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Address: Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £61 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing