We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, value Hotel in a super location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Banys Orientals
Ranked #176 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice, value Hotel in a super location.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a really good three star that offers a brilliant location straddling El Born and Barri Gotic - both fascinating areas of Barcelona - and a friendly, efficient front of house (special mention to Camille- and clean, comfy attractive rooms. The rooms are really no smaller than most European hotels of this type . If you are large perhaps a superior room would be an option as it's true that there is not a lot of room to move around the bed, but the shower is huge ! The hotel kindly supplies a fridge full of still and sparkling water free to guests as well as a large container of apples as on each floor. I wouldn't really recommend the breakfast as it's 10 Euro, and was quite chaotic the morning we decided to give it a try. Cheaper and more fun to try some of the local places . I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are large then a superior May suit better than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    403
    116
    72
    24
See reviews for
115
493
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a better location. Easy walk to most everything. Tour bus stop very close by. There are many restaurants in the area. Noisy at night but we had no trouble sleeping after a long full day. The rooms were clean, very large showers. The rooms were small but we expected that in Europe. Hung close in the closet and set others out on
The desk. No problems. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent, England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Location perfect. I mean perfect - great for walking to the Gothic area, La Rambla, El Born, the beaches, all nearby. The Jaume metro is a minute's walk away so access to the whole city is really easy. There is free Wi-Fi. On every floor there is a fridge stocked with free bottles of still & fizzy water. There are baskets of apples too. Now do you understand that for what you are paying & where it is, this hotel is very good! We had followed 'Room Tips' & asked for a high-up, street-side room. Our room, especially the bathroom was spacious but there is noise. Not exactly from the street below which is pedestrianized but from the refuse lorries in the night. Earplugs required! As well as all the Barcelona 'must see's', one of the most fun things we did was to hire bicycles from the same street as the hotel & cycle right along the waterfront. This hotel was recommended to us (as was the excellent Senyor Parellada restaurant next door) & in turn I would recommend the Hotel Banys Orientals also.

Room Tip: We had room 311 which is high up & street-side with a very large bathroom. I would recommend thi...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I usually give very good reviews, but on this one, I've got to be honest. We stayed at Banys Orientals for 4 nights. The hotel is in an unbelievable part of Barcelona and that's why we opted for it ... you can walk to virtually everything. As other people have said, the rooms are VERY SMALL! There is literally nowhere to put your luggage other than on the floor and there is also nowhere to store your clothing other than leave it in your suitcase. I was aware that it's noisy outside at night, so we asked for a room in the back of the hotel. That was a joke because you can hear the drunks yelling and they also do their nightly trash pick up at 1AM in the alley. Forget going to bed until after 1AM. The walls in the hotel are also paper thin and you can hear the people in the next room talking, snoring, coughing, laughing, etc. We did eat breakfast there and it was very good. The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and I would recommend eating there every night because it's a good value for the quality of food. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent one night here in summer. We were two families, 3 adults, 3 kids. When we arrived, a bit exhausted from the travel, they had no reservation on us. Great!! They fixed the problem, because we had our confirmation, but we had to stay in three apart buildings, me separate from my kids, which had to walk some minutes to another street, 4 floors up with heavy suitcases, no elevator and hot. The staff seemed tired, and no smiles, or excuses made.
The hotel seemed descent enough, nothing special, but what we needed: a bed and a shower. Breakfast in a small area was ok, not included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graabein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent hotel with clean rooms and good service. It's very quiet and easy to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast buffet was included and it was delicious. Additional attractions and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Banys Orientals was recommended by a family member for our few days away in Barcelona - it did not disappoint. Good hotel, not top drawer, but it looks smart - and it is.

Plus points: Polite, helpful staff, clean room with adequately sized bathroom, apples and bottled water ad lib. Excellent wi-fi. Great position in the city - everything walkable and Jaume 1 metro station on your doorstep.

Minus points: Hot water was only warm on occasion. Noisy street (ok with window shut and a/c on).

Would definitely stay here again. It suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#137 of 513 in Barcelona
1,095 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
740 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#51 of 513 in Barcelona
472 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#246 of 513 in Barcelona
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Property: Hotel Banys Orientals
Address: Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing