We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Banys Orientals
Ranked #171 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great location but very small noisy rooms - upgrade to a top end one if you can afford . Bed was as hard as a rock and so poor sleep! Great breakfast though and good restaurant. Good local bars and very close to metro.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    408
    116
    72
    24
See reviews for
116
500
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We took our first trip to Europe, staying in Barcelona at Banys Orientals from June 15-23. I looked & compared for quite a long time & we were so happy that our choice was just right. We wanted both a cultural & a relaxing experience & we got it. The staff was lovely, welcoming, & helpful. Our fav places to eat were the Sagardi Euskal Taberna (hot tapas around 10 PM) & Lonja de Tapas (2 of them are close to hotel--- heavenly small salads). Other greats: Casa Mila, the Picasso Museum, & la Boqueria. We didn't have a strict itinerary, so we ended up visiting La Boqueria on Saturday--- a bit overwhelming. Take photos. Everything is lusciously beautiful. We took the bus tour that went to Sagrada Familia, among other sites, but we didn't hop off. There was a huge crowd waiting outside & a co-worker advised to go to Casa Mila & spend time there. It is a good idea to get tickets for that & the Picasso Museum & go early & have the space to freely roam. We got off of the bus at Park Guell & decided to terminate the tour there. We felt we could easily pick our spots of interest & get there via Metro. Also, the Zara on Passeig de Gracia has great merch at good prices, even though it's on a pricey-looking street. Fun to see a Stella McCartney store! We planned more than we could do but just "hanging out" was part of the fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of the hotel is superb and the price reasonable. The facilities are fine, although the room was a little shabby and very dimly lit and the bed we had was very hard (which is not to our preference). However, the rooms were clean and tidy and the staff were keen to help with directions and recommendations etc. The breakfast is fairly standard hotel fodder but perfectly adequate – although there are plenty of other places on the doorstep.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie_Gibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the Born area with many restaurants and bars in the absolute vicinity. The room was fairly small but adequate and quite nice. The bed was hard, really hard. After a couple of days we got used to the dim ligths in the room and bathroom. From the room we could hear people in the street late at night, so the soundproofing isn't very effective but to be fair this was not a big problem. Breakfast in the breakfast room was nice - fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice together with cheeses and ham, bread and cereal, yoghurt and coffee for €10 (an additional €3 for a hot breakfast option, I believe). But as with the hotel room, also the breakfast room was very dimly lit.

Overall, the location, the price and the adequate rooms make this hotel a very good choice in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Cosy and athmosferic hotel in very nice part of the old city. Close to the Picasso museum en the cathedral and Plaza Espananol. It is a 10 -15 minutes walk to the beach. Subway station nearby. The rooms are small, but comfortable and nicely decorated. Ours looked out onto a small alley. But this is the old part of town. Free availability of waterbottles. Free wifi! And it works well! When we arrived the receptionist was a bit grumpy but not unfriendly. Further pleasant staff. There is no terrace, there is no lounge area. There is an affordable restaurant with very good food. Breakfast is 10 euro's and value for money. You get fresh orange juice. I would recommend it to friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drupilodgingtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I do agree that the location of this hotel is brilliant. I think this is one of the best areas for food, bars and little boutiques - all walking distance to explore the little streets and alley ways.

However the actual stay in the hotel was not at all comfortable. First of all our bed was two twins pushed together. Not ideal for a couple traveling. The mattress was awful and the pillows remind me of airplane pillows - very uncomfortable sleep.

Next is the noise which was the worst for us. You can hear every footstep, conversion (even guess the nationality!) of every person walking down the hallway. In addition to the unreal amount of door slamming as guests came and went during all hours. Even earplugs couldn't help - so no solid nights sleep for us. There were also people shouting through the streets which we could hear as well.

The staff were friendly and accommodating, the rooms were clean - however the level of noise and disturbance was unreal. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van BC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Perfectly situated for exploring Barcelona - located in pedestrain area, waking distance to El Born sites and nearby Les ramblas, Barri Gotic, waterfront, etc. Small, good front desk & service was prompt, friendly and efficient. Free wi fi internet service. There are a couple of computers on the landing upstairs. Love the fridges filled with still & sparkling water for guests along with the bowl of apples everyday. We were there in late April for 4 nights and the temperature was around 25C. Room was good size, clean, comfortable and we had no complaints about the comfort of the bed. Good shower with toiletries. No window in the bathroom. Two large windows in the main room open for air. We didn't find it noisy from the street. We were on the 4th floor. Yes, you can hear the plumbing from time to time from other quest rooms but otherwise it was quiet. We had a squeaky bathroom door that could have been fixed with 3-in-1 oil. I meant to mention it to the front desk but didn't. Taxis can drop you off at the end of the street [a few doors from the hotel] and if in the morning can pick you up at hotel to take you to the airport. Just step outside the hotel and there a numerous choices for tapas, breakfast, dinner, drinks, coffee (Starbucks is not far away; lots of local cafe choices, Cafes El Magnifico is a couple doors down, overrated & pricey). The restaurant Senyor Parellada is ok (see review). We would certainly stay at Hotel Banys again. Great location. Enjoy!

Room Tip: our 4th room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 512 in Barcelona
748 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#132 of 512 in Barcelona
1,111 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#110 of 512 in Barcelona
982 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
660 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#220 of 512 in Barcelona
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Property: Hotel Banys Orientals
Address: Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing