We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent central location.... and the restaurant is unique...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Banys Orientals
Ranked #158 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had been in Barcelona before but decided to book Banys Oriental given the central location. In our view the the hotel has a perfect location in a pedestrian street centrally in the Borne district. We arrived early, but the reception took our suitcases and arranged they would be delivered to our room, once it was ready. We had reserved a suite, which was more like a duplex situated in a separate building just 20 meter from the hotel. Room was well equipped with what you can expect from this class of hotel incl. safe, ironing set etc and ours also had a balcony. The bathroom is well equipped. The location of Banys Oriental is wonderfull and central in Borne district with a cosy small square 30 m from the hotel and a well recommended tapas bar just across the street. The hotel did offer breakfast, but that was very average, and we only used this opportunity once, and in stead we decided to visit the square near by and have a local breakfast there.
You must try the restaurant in the hotel: Senyor Parellada. It is listed as recommended in the Michelin guide, and offers local and genuine food from the region in a unique room designed in a colonial style. The menu offers a varity of local food with very reasonable prices and with the staff acting quick and very friendly they complete a good dinner experience. Remember to book table in the reception, as many local people also choose the restaurant to go out and dine.

Room Tip: Note, if you choose a suite, they conly exist with shower, not bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank Bøje A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Banys at the end of our cruise in July 2014. We arrived quite early in the day and they were able to check us in right away which we were pleased with.
Our room was a good size for the two of us with a large bed, it was clean and well maintained. A nice touch was the fridge full of water bottles and apples that were complimentary. A service we used each day when we returned from our exploring.

The hotel is perfectly situation in the Gothic area and close to all the great little restaurants and shops of the area. It was also a quick 10 min, walk North to the Hop-On-Hop-Off stop for the area.

Wifi was free and very easy to connect. Speeds were good. Air conditioning worked well as did the safe for our valuables.

Front desk staff were very welcoming and spoke excellent English. Helpful with printing our flight boarding passes, any maps we needed and suggestions on some restaurants, and ordered a taxi to take us to the airport in the morning.

One suggestion I would have is to increase the light in the bathroom, it seemed very dark (especially with the black walls).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hueyott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This boutique hotel is well located in the Barri Gothic area of Barcelona, a short walk from the Picasso Museum and is amidst a plethora of bars, tapas restaurants, and small shops of all types. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, with a contemporary decor. The bed in our room had a very, very firm mattress, which one of us loved, and the other not quite as much. The bathroom had a good shower and tub, a bidet, and a makeup mirror, although the lighting was a little low. Soundproofing was generally good, although we could hear conversations in the hallway. On each floor, there is a small refrigerator, with free bottles of still and sparkling water, as well as a bowl of apples. Breakfast is extra, but was excellent and convenient. Staff was helpful, although not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location of this hotel is superb since it's in the Barri Gothic.
I stayed there for 3 days, the room was impecable and although it was small it was very comfortable.
Hotel is very well located, very near to restaurants, bares, etc.
Didn't use the breakfast, so cannot comment on that but I can say that there are many options for breakfast just walking on the street of the hotel.
The bus station for the airport is within walking distance.
Cons: Staff although very professional and helpful, is not that welcoming. Wifi didn't work in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olimon_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I love the location of the Banys Orientals and, in fairness, it is very well priced in comparison to the majority of its competitors. The location is unbeatable in the heart of the Barri Gothic. Staff are businesslike and professional but not really as welcoming as the could, or should be,( Martin is probably the happy exception as he seems prepared to go the extra mile) I stayed a few years ago and was impressed with the room and all other aspects of the hotel. This time my wife and I booked one of the suites in a nearby building and now feel that this was not really worth the extra outlay. Lots of stairs , no lift, and the extra space in the two tier suite was irrevelant as it was wasted space with no practical purpose.. The shower was tacky and way below the standard that I remember from my first visit. For years it was very difficult to secure a booking at the Banys Orientals but things seem to have slipped a little. The location and very fair price for this hotel make it a most attractive option, and I have greatly enjoyed staying here, but I now feel that it needs to try a little harder to impress. This is especially so given the plethora of other good hotel accomodation available for visitors to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RJK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very nice place to stay in Barcelona. Small rooms but well functioning with a good bathroom. On each floor is a help your self fridge with chilled mineral water - what a great idea!
The reception team speaks good english and are happy to help. We did not use the breakfast so I can't comment on that. We did try the restaurant which has a nice buss, lots of locals and a classic decoration that is vey appealing in the evening. The food is classic and delicious. The service however is rather arrogant (headwaiter) and feels very rushed ( waiter) and that is a shame because it could be such wonderful experience with just a little more effort on the service side.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I love the location set in Barcelona's Boho district,with Las Ramblas your playpen. The historic building belies its bright rooms,ours decorated in a cool, contemporary palette. Its quiet with soundproofing
,offers privacy and oodles of charm Its catalan style eatery is lip smacking flavoursome.
Its one minute walk to the metro,four to the cathedral and las Ramblas is your play area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#142 of 515 in Barcelona
1,166 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#125 of 515 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#98 of 515 in Barcelona
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
2,107 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#218 of 515 in Barcelona
686 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#215 of 515 in Barcelona
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Address: Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing