We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
Ranked #219 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked a 10 people dorm room for 10 of us and really loved it!

Really good beds and big pillows (This is definitely a plus as most hostels give really thin pillows). There were enough toilets for everyone. The breakfast spread was basic but given the price it was really good. (Bread, jams, nutella, 2 different types of cereal, milk, coffee, tea)

The staff was very helpful. It wasn't too far from the city centre. There are some cheap and good restaurants nearby. Some good bars too - i heard the bar where Picasso used to drink at is 5 min walk from there.

We had indian food near the hostel twice. It was really good!

Definitely recommend this hostel especially for people with big groups.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    41
    12
    19
See reviews for
7
43
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Before coming to Barcelona a friend of mine suggested this hostel and I couldn't have been any happier with this decision! The hostel is located right in the heart of Barcelona therefore making it very practical when exploring the city. The hostel staff were very welcoming and managed to help out with all my questions about the city. The walking tours they offered were fantastic, a great way to see Barcelona and it's wonders! i would definitely recommend this hostel to any of my friends heading over there. Thank you Be Mar!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadzkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Étienne, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hostel was so central, only a street behind La Rambla. The people working there were so friendly and were willing to help, give advice on what to go and see and they were approachable. The dorms were basic but good, with big lockers to keep your stuff. The wash rooms were big and overall it was a safe environment, I felt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre11od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Be Mar for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location, facilities, breakfast, and most of all - great staff. We asked many questions of the hostel staff including dinner recommendations, ideas for what to do during the day, and even help booking our train tickets online. Each of these inquires was handled brilliantly and met with a smile! They made our stay in Barcelona easy and enjoyable. Thank you!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hostel, though located very close to La Rambla, is actually in the centre of the red light district (so dont even think you'll be out and about at night). In fact, the horrible location could even be considered to be a minor flaw amongst the other horrid features of this hostel. These include (but are certainly not limited to) the awful wifi (which they claim you can access in any room- no, actually you definitely cannot), the shocking state of the toilets- some of which you cannot lock and thus should be prepared for surprise interruptions, and probably the most awful tasting breakfast in Europe. When we found that we had powerpoints beside each of our beds we were very much relieved- though in an attempt to charge our phones found that actually- no, Be Mar did not have working powerpoints. Surprise, surprise- the admin let us know they may try and look at it in the next couple of days. FINALLY, if you are for some reason forced to stay at Be Mar, bring an icepack and little clothing- each room is its own woodfire oven and us travellers are nothing but tiny little pizzas cooking inside. Trust me, you never want to stay at this hostel- you most definitely will be disappointed. Dont let the cheap prices attract you- theres a reason they are "affordable".

Room Tip: None. Never pick any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vidthyany94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here and it was absolutely horrible. We booked an apartment room which was in another building down the street from the front desk. This wasn't a problem. The room was clean and did its job BUT we had HUGE issues with the shower. The shower wouldn't work and we were told that someone would be coming to fix it. Except no one ever came. After several hours of waiting we decided to go out and this was eventually fixed the next day - not good enough. The street the hostel/apartment building are in is incredibly scary and feels really unsafe at night. My friend and I are both female in our early 20s and we both dreaded having to walk down this street to leave and come home, especially at night. There were prostitutes and their pimps hanging around and there were several times we felt like we were going to be attacked. I feel like if something had happened there wouldn't have been anyone around to help us. The only positive is that it was close to Las Ramblas but I would rather walk further and not feel like I was going to be murdered.

Ps. Make sure you head to Opium Mar :)

Room Tip: The apartments are alright for what they are. At least they are private and quite clean. They are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It is a really good, cozy and clear hostel. We've met a Greek guy at the reception for our good luck:) The breakfast was good with cereal, coffee, bread, jam and butter.
I would totally recommend that as it is in a convenient spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#244 of 723 in Barcelona
286 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#123 of 723 in Barcelona
296 reviews
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#353 of 723 in Barcelona
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#69 of 723 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#113 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Mar Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Mar Barcelona Hostel

Property: Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
Address: Sant Pau 80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Mar Barcelona Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right where you want to be!Best location, cool and famous Hostel in Europe!!! Be Hostels Mar is the perfect Hostel for you right in the city centre!!! Well located and close to the most important spots. Five minutes from les Rambles, the Port and the Olympic Park. We have many years experience welcoming travelers from all around the world, so we understand what you want!Find in Be Mar Hostel:- Free breakfast- Free Internet and WIFI access to keep connected with the world- Free fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Mar Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Mar Hotel Barcelona
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing