We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acta Antibes(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alma Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capri by Fraser Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
254
185
49
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
185
49
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomsmall luxurygreat hotelcold buffethospital clinicminute walkroom servicequiet areastayed one nighttaxi rankstaff on receptionwifi connectionbreakfast was excellentbooked this hotelpublic transportthe room was nicegreat city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Due to the air strike in France, we had an unexpected visit to Barcelona. Our taxi driver brought us here, Hotel Gran Derby. We were met by very friendly staff who took our luggage for us. Check in was quick (thankfully as it was 1.30am!) & the manager very helpful. We were shown to our room which was amazing! Large, spacious, great bathroom with good lighting. We had a blackout blind and the bed was so comfortable. We had been informed that breakfast was on til 10.30am so we didn't have to rush in the morning. The waitress was very friendly and her English perfect, also her french when she greeted the guests after us! Buffet breakfast with so much to choose from including cooked, with unlimited coffee. The food was lovely, we may have overdone it! When we checked out, reception offered to call us a taxi but we chose to walk. Such a shame we only stayed here 1 night. Our previous hotel in a different city was a 4* but was not a patch on this hotel! Would definitely recommend. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank notgoingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed review at Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased with your commnets about the hotel, the staff and services and glad to hear that you really enjoyed your unexpected stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Ana Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here with my wife September 2013. Really nice rooms but sound does travel through the hotel especially if you are near the lobby area. There was a very noisy reception party on one night of our stay. Door slamming from other rooms was incredibly intrusive. We could hear next doors shower running. Hotel reception staff were very helpful- it is a long walk to Las Ramblas but manageable. We ended up walking down and taxiing back. Not much in the way of local restaurants so get eating out of the way before returning.

Room Tip: Far away from the lobby area
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent posting your detailed review at Trip Advisor. Knowing what our guests think of our facilities and service is the best tool we have in order to improve our performance.

We are very sorry to read that your stay has not completely been satisfactory. It’s really unpleasant to know that, a distinguished guest like you, especially when we consider that our highest strength in customer’s reviews (at Trip Advisor i.e.) is, precisely, our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel a while ago. However, it was good design taste (very Barcelona style!) and quality. Room was well distributed and furnished for its size. Bed was comfortable. All very clean.
Breakfast, that is served in an underground dining room, was nice.
Hotel personnel were helpful.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Madrid-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your kind review at Trip Advisor.

A good part of our effort is directed to improve our design and service therefore we really appreciate your generous words about these two aspects of Gran Derby Suites.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First of all the day manager Andreas was awesome. We were first given a deluxe room on the fifth floor which was nothing spectacular but fine, however when we returned that night the room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and the noise from the street was ridiculously loud even for a city dweller who is used to traffic. And this was not just loud traffic, you could hear conversations, people walking down the street etc. When I called the night manager about the cigarette smoke smell he informed me that they must be smoking above us and to open the window. He told me there were no other renovated rooms for 3 people as my daughter was travelling with us. Not exactly great customer service for any type of hotel. Before we left to change hotels the next morning I spoke with the day manager Andreas. He could not have been nicer or more helpful and told us that we should have been moved the night before. He showed us 2 different rooms both nicer than our original. We took a room on the 3rd floor facing the inner courtyard with no street side. That room made all the difference, saved our stay and allowed me to recommend this hotel with the proviso that when booking a room at this hotel stay off of the 5th floor and make sure you do not have a room on the street side. Additionally, if you do have any issues make sure you deal with Andreas. He is the reason I am recommending this hotel at all. Additionally, as for location this hotel is in a nice area but not near LaRambla or many of the tourist attactions, however it is an easy 20 to 30 minute bus ride to LaRambla. One bus, no transfers and the stop is right by the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side. Stay off the 5th floor as it appears people are smoking illegally at times on the roof or in their rooms which will effect a fifth floor room. Deal with Andreas if you have any issues. I would give the hotel excellent service as long as you don't deal with the night manager.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Microtelvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent posting such a detailed commentary about your stay with us. Knowing our guests’ opinion is the best tool we have in order to improve our premises and service. We are really glad to read that your experience with us has been pleasant and that you would recommend our hotel to future guests.

The day you moved to your second room at the third floor I was informed about the incident you mentioned but, by then, it had already been taken care by our staff. I would like to personally apologize about this misunderstanding; if our night shift front desk clerk would have understood you correctly I’m convinced he would have acted differently. We already transmitted to Andrés your generous words about his performance during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Remei Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I spent, along with my fiancée, a prolonged week-end at this very chic boutique hotel. I was absolutely impressed with the artwork, from the lobby up to the rooms. Initially, we booked a standard room, but upon arrival, a very nice gentleman, from the reception, offered us the possibility to upgrade to a deluxe, for a small fee per night. He showed us both rooms, and we chose the superior one, as it had more light; otherwise they were both very intimate and nicely decorated.

The breakfast salon made us feel at home, really cozy atmosphere, the food was very nice, and so was the lady there, who from the second morning, knew exactly our coffee and eggs preferences. This is why we love small boutique hotels.

For me, personally, the hotel has a very good location.. away from the extremely crowded area of Barcelona, but still within walking distance to all types of public transportation, that can take you anywhere. Not to mention that my fiancée was the happiest to find out that the football stadium is just a quick walk away.

The staff was extremely kind, well-informed and therefore, very helpful. Each day, they recommended very good restaurants, and advised the best route for our sightseeing marathon.
They found out that it was our anniversary, as we asked them to book a special restaurant for that specific night, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of 'cava', in our room, upon our return. It was a very nice touch, highly appreciated.

Barcelona is a wonderful city and Gran Derby Hotel makes it so much more.
Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have more natural light!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Gran Derby Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for such a detailed review; knowing what our guests think about our service and facilities is our best tool to improve in any possible way. We would also like to thank you for your nice word about our personnel and service.


It is really rewarding to read that your overall opinion is highly positive and you would come back when you come back to our beautiful city.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Ariza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews