We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, just a but disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Having booked an Exec Room here I was just expecting a bit more than we got. The room was pretty small and nothing special and it was the fact things like free wi-fi and use of the spa were not included, these were all extra charges (and actually the wi-fi was only available in certain parts of the hotel anyway). On the plus side the views if you get one of the upper floors are stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s&p_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,817)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,817 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

What can I say - this time I had a room on the 18th floor with a 180° view of Montjuic and the sea. I LOVED it! Even for those with a fear of heights, Torre Catalunya offers great value for money - big, comfy beds, enormous bathrooms, everything very clean, extremely friendly staff - I can only recommend it. What's more, it's right next to Sants Station, where the train from Barcelona Airport stops, so you can get there with an absolute minimum of cost and discomfort. You are going to love it too! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My partner and me stayed at the Torre Catalunya on 4th August, 1 night, to celebrate my 30th bday. I found the hotel through lastminute.com but booked directly on the hotel's website as they offer added benefits if you book directly. They prize for a junior suite was very attractive and offered great views over Barcelona.
We arrived quite early and the room wasn't ready. They stored our bags and provided us with details on what to do in Barcelona. Ana who checked us in was ever so lovely and helful.
When we came back, our bags were already placed in our room and they upgraded us to their best suite on the 18th floor! We had fabulous views over Mont Juic, Sagrada familia and the rest of Barcelona. The upgrade was a very nice surprise and we very much enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfy, linen very crisp, bathroom had a good power shower, a/c in good working order, the living room of the suite had a ipod player and there was a separate toilet for visitors, unfortunately we dind't have any to show off our suite to. Just after we arrived in the suite, they delivered a bday cake as well, I couldn't be made to feel more special.
We didn't have breakfast, we walked to a local bakery instead for some fresh bread and tea/coffee. The location of the hotel is excellent, near Sants station. You can walk to the fountains and Mont Juic in 20 minutes. The red tourist bus line only 5 minute walk and 20 min walk to the point where you can board the blue line tourist bus.
I would definately go back to this hotel or reccommend it. The staff was very friendly, hotel looks good, location near Sants station is very convenient. Thanks Torre Catalunya staff for making my stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Book on the hotel website and you get extra benefits during your stay
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereisonlyoneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on july 25th and 26th, 2011 prior to embarking on a cruise. Hotel is located 1 minute walk accross the Sants Train Station and a 10 minute walk to Placa d'Espanya. Cab fare from the Airport to the Hotel was 23 euros and from hotel to the cruise terminal also 23 euros. Staff were extremely pleasant and all spoke english. The room on the 5th floor facing the train station was very large by European standards and exactly as it appears on the hotel's web site. Approximately 25 sq. m or 270 sq. ft with marble floors, extremely clean,very comfortable King size bed and a seperate area with a bath tub, enclosed shower and a seperate Toilette whitch included a male urinal. There was no charge for the safety deposit box. Free internet was available but did not use it. Buffet breakfast served at the restaurant on the 23rd floor at 16 euros per person was a little expensive but quality and variety was very good and the view of Barcelona from that venue was worth a $million .Turistic bus stop is accross the street. Cab fare to Placa Catalunya was 8 euros. There are good restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance of the hotel. Having read some negative reviews from other travellers we were skeptical about staying there but all fears were put to rest as soon as we unlocked the door and walked in the room.
We liked everything about this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again, highly recommend it for its location cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

After missing our last train home from Barcelona we had to stay an extra night in Barcelona and as this was the first hotel that met our eye when leaving the Barca Sants train station we headed for this one. Great Hotel, large and well equipped rooms and comfortable beds. Had breakfast in the top floor restaurant which had amazing 360o views of the city and buffet breakfast was very enjoyable.

would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the location: a grocery store in the basement of the same building, Metro station just across the street, rail station next door (but all trains go underground, so no noise what so ever). Room was large and nice... But these are not even the best thing about this hotel-it was the service. We had a late arrival at 2am and contacted the hotel through email a day before, they replied our email promptly and we checked in like breeze. On our last day in Barcelona, we needed to catch a 6pm train, but decide to check out in the morning, leave the luggage with front desk and go on for some more sight seeing. But soon after we checked out, my husband felt seriously sick and needed to lay down, so we went back to the hotel and asked them if we could take our room back so my husband can rest a bit. The front desk was so helpful, even though our room was not available any more, they still manage to find us another room, when I asked how much it would cost, they told us since it was because of illness, they won't charge us anything. Finally after an entire afternoon's rest, my husband felt a lot better and were ready to get back onto the road. This is the true hospitality we could ever ask when traveling away from home. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewToIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I was staying in this hotel for 9 days in superior room. I put my preference in high floor and smoking room, and they met my satisfaction. So, if you'd like to book a hotel room, put your preference!!! The bedroom is huge huge huge! and the bathroom is amazing. Moreover, the location of this hotel is easily to reach by metro, and there are some shops near by the train station which make you easily to get some daily needs. The room service is FAST and the quality of the food is excellent. HOwever, what i regret from this hotel was only the housekeeping because they cleaned the room only the bed, bath and bit of the floor which is can shown how it is not clean. Yet, overall stay, i would like to recommend this hotel because of its service, location and price is fair!! And i definitely come back to this hotel when i return to barcelona

Room Tip: High floor, so you can enjoy the lights of barcelona and sweet escape in the morning.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#209 of 513 in Barcelona
2,993 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#136 of 513 in Barcelona
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#331 of 513 in Barcelona
2,784 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,112 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing