We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #101 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Perfect for access to all the tourist attractions, very close to metro station. Hotel was clean, tidy and quiet. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. As we were having a family holiday, the adjoining rooms were perfect with the link doors which made us feel as if we had a large suite of rooms. Views from the top floor restaurant were superb and breakfasts were plentiful. All in all we would be happy to stay there again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 3,895 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We booked this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews and were very pleased. They allowed us to check in early after returning from our cruise. Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Excellent room and service at the reception of the hotel. The hotel is easy to get to from the Airport, and has excellent access to the city (train and city explorer buses pull up outside), however would recommend staying closer to the city if you want to enjoy the Barcelona atmosphere. It was hard to find a decent restaurant for breakfast or dinner nearby and it wasn't especially nice walking back to the hotel at night around the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Having booked an Exec Room here I was just expecting a bit more than we got. The room was pretty small and nothing special and it was the fact things like free wi-fi and use of the spa were not included, these were all extra charges (and actually the wi-fi was only available in certain parts of the hotel anyway). On the plus side the views if you get one of the upper floors are stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s&p_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

What can I say - this time I had a room on the 18th floor with a 180° view of Montjuic and the sea. I LOVED it! Even for those with a fear of heights, Torre Catalunya offers great value for money - big, comfy beds, enormous bathrooms, everything very clean, extremely friendly staff - I can only recommend it. What's more, it's right next to Sants Station, where the train from Barcelona Airport stops, so you can get there with an absolute minimum of cost and discomfort. You are going to love it too! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My partner and me stayed at the Torre Catalunya on 4th August, 1 night, to celebrate my 30th bday. I found the hotel through lastminute.com but booked directly on the hotel's website as they offer added benefits if you book directly. They prize for a junior suite was very attractive and offered great views over Barcelona.
We arrived quite early and the room wasn't ready. They stored our bags and provided us with details on what to do in Barcelona. Ana who checked us in was ever so lovely and helful.
When we came back, our bags were already placed in our room and they upgraded us to their best suite on the 18th floor! We had fabulous views over Mont Juic, Sagrada familia and the rest of Barcelona. The upgrade was a very nice surprise and we very much enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfy, linen very crisp, bathroom had a good power shower, a/c in good working order, the living room of the suite had a ipod player and there was a separate toilet for visitors, unfortunately we dind't have any to show off our suite to. Just after we arrived in the suite, they delivered a bday cake as well, I couldn't be made to feel more special.
We didn't have breakfast, we walked to a local bakery instead for some fresh bread and tea/coffee. The location of the hotel is excellent, near Sants station. You can walk to the fountains and Mont Juic in 20 minutes. The red tourist bus line only 5 minute walk and 20 min walk to the point where you can board the blue line tourist bus.
I would definately go back to this hotel or reccommend it. The staff was very friendly, hotel looks good, location near Sants station is very convenient. Thanks Torre Catalunya staff for making my stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Book on the hotel website and you get extra benefits during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereisonlyoneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on july 25th and 26th, 2011 prior to embarking on a cruise. Hotel is located 1 minute walk accross the Sants Train Station and a 10 minute walk to Placa d'Espanya. Cab fare from the Airport to the Hotel was 23 euros and from hotel to the cruise terminal also 23 euros. Staff were extremely pleasant and all spoke english. The room on the 5th floor facing the train station was very large by European standards and exactly as it appears on the hotel's web site. Approximately 25 sq. m or 270 sq. ft with marble floors, extremely clean,very comfortable King size bed and a seperate area with a bath tub, enclosed shower and a seperate Toilette whitch included a male urinal. There was no charge for the safety deposit box. Free internet was available but did not use it. Buffet breakfast served at the restaurant on the 23rd floor at 16 euros per person was a little expensive but quality and variety was very good and the view of Barcelona from that venue was worth a $million .Turistic bus stop is accross the street. Cab fare to Placa Catalunya was 8 euros. There are good restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance of the hotel. Having read some negative reviews from other travellers we were skeptical about staying there but all fears were put to rest as soon as we unlocked the door and walked in the room.
We liked everything about this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again, highly recommend it for its location cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#335 of 517 in Barcelona
2,867 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 517 in Barcelona
1,729 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 517 in Barcelona
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#200 of 517 in Barcelona
3,116 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
3,236 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 517 in Barcelona
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £65 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing