We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, but we needed a room change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #97 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but we needed a room change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel. We had a room in the back on one of the higher floors. As other reviewers have mentioned, we had a great view of the city and a partial view of the sea. The hotel right behind us had a problem with one of their air conditioning coolant pipes resulting in a loud whistling sound in the morning. It cut our sleep a bit short, but we had no problems switching rooms to the front side. The washroom layout was large and spacious. There is a main subway stop just outside the door, so getting to the airport and around town was very easy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    1,331
    246
    58
    34
See reviews for
579
1,826
185
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel on several occasions and found it perfectly suited for the leisure and business traveller...comfortable rooms with friendly staff on hand....although the reception desk does get busy and there is sometimes a long wait to go through check in procedure. But it is worth the wait as the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the top floor restaurant is good and affords a panoramic view of the city, but there are other places to take a lighter breakfast more cheaply in the immediate vicinity. But if you are having a 'special' weekend, book the breakfast...

Value for money was good...I chose the up graded room and was very comfortable. This hotel is adjacent to the Sants railway station and is ideally suited for someone coming in from the airport...(Watch your bags on the train and keep your pockets covered!) It is also well served by the metro and tourist buses.

I shall be returning........

Room Tip: Well worth paying for the upgrade....usually on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 758David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst I was on business in Barcelona. The hotel is well located for all the main sights with a train station and subway near by. It is also a good place to pick up one of the hop on hop off buses which allow you to do a tour of the city. We were on the 21st floor which enabled us to enjoy fantastic views of the city. The bedrooms are a good size and in the bathroom there is a large shower, his and hers sink and a bath. I was especially pleased with the molton brown toiletries! We only ever had breakfast at the hotel in their restaurant on the 23rd floor. This consisted of a good selection of hot and cold buffet. We didn't use the gym which has only one treadmill and although we had planned to use the Spa facilities we thought the pool was too small for the extra 7 Euros we were expected to pay. House Keeping in the room seemed a bit hit and miss and it was over 24 hours before the plate my husband's dinner came on was taken away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location, 2 minute walk to main railway station. Room and service were good, not great, although Jose, one of the bellmen was the best part, as he was very helpful in all facets.
Housekeeping was spotty in that hard to reach and not quick to react.
Overall value for price paid was fair.
Make sure and eat at the breakfast buffet as it is bountiful, tasty and fairly priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank largebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed with friends for 3 nights. Had originally booked and paid through Navalar (Clever Hotels) who went into administration 5 days before we flew out but I spoke to the hotel who re-booked us at their own rates so we didn't have too much hassle. Hotel is in a busy area with lots of pubs, restaurants and shops nearby. The tourist buses stop 100 yards away and a huge train station is directly opposite the hotel so transport is no issue. We got a taxi to and from Terminal 2 airport and it cost 35 euro for 3 passengers . Barcelona is a huge city so we were unsure which area was best to stay in but delighted with this choice. Hotel rooms were spotless and beds / pillows were fabulously comfy . Nice big bathroom and amazing views - we were on the 12 floor executive rooms. Restaurant on 22 floor is spectacular , big choice for breakfast ( loved the mimosas ) . We had dinner there one night which was lovely but not a big choice ( especially not for vegetarians) . I hope to visit Barcelona again and would definately stay here again !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was booked for us by a conference organiser, and we were a little concerned that it was out of the way, but were so pleased that we stayed here. The hotel looks very dated on the outside, but inside is very modern. We were given a room on the 18th floor, and the stunning view is incredible. We spent a lot of time just gazing out the windows. We had a corner room, so could see 180 degrees of this amazing city, from the mountains to the ocean. The staff were all very pleasant and spoke excellent English. Our room was large and with an enormous king bed, which was quite firm, but the pillows were great. There was plenty of storage space, and the bathroom was enormous with incredible water pressure. The wifi was reliable. The breakfast was nice each day, although the coffee was not good. We had room service on our first night as we arrived quite late, and did not enjoy the food, so did not eat dinner in the restaurant. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and one particular one was our absolute favourite - Addis Abeba (address - C/Vallespir 44, Sants Barcelona) an Ethiopian restaurant where you were made to feel like an honoured guest. The hotel is located right next to Sants Estacio where you can catch the very efficient Metro anywhere. The Metro is so easy and we found very safe way to get around Barcelona. We purchased 5 day travel tickets which gave us unlimited travel on the Metro. The area of Sants is always busy with people, so we felt very safe walking around here even at night. This hotel is well worth considering for a stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views. Purchase multi day tickets and use the metro - such an efficient w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

After approximately 30 hours tavel time, we were greeted at reception by Luis and Cristina. Both impressed us immediately with their hospitality skills. Our room was upgraded to the 14 floor and we could see the Magic Fountain and the Palace of Catalunya Art Museum. Kig size bed was great, pillows and bed linen good quality. Bathroom had dual sinks, separate bath,shower, toilet and bidet rooms. Ice machine on each floor, just down the hall. Brekfast was of excellent quality at 13 euros a head on the 23 floor with panoramic views. Fresh juice, great coffee and a good chioce of healthy options as well as my persoanall favoutite cake of the day.
Barcelona's main railay station is adjacent and the metro is easy to use to most attractions.
Taxi is 23 euros from the airport. Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heritage255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expo Hoteles, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing