We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice for a large hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice for a large hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was such a nice hotel for a reasonable price. I didn't expect such roomy and comfortable rooms. We were a family of 5 with 3 in one room and 2 in another. The rooms were gigantic for a big city and the hotel was modern and clean. We had stayed in another more boutique hotel for the beginning of our trip in Barcelona and this at the end. I think we liked this better--really good location for someone needing the train station (essentially across the street) and also is is a decent location for walking to the fountains light show at night. The downside is there weren't many good restaurants nearby, so that was a little hassle. We did splurge and eat in their fancy restaurant (up high with terrific views) one night. The ambiance was extremely quiet--not at all fun or festive--but the views were amazing. I would definitely consider returning to this hotel in the future--especially if the price was good.

Room Tip: Aim for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriKSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,940
    1,331
    246
    58
    34
See reviews for
579
1,828
185
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for 2 nights before our cruise and 1 night after. We were on the 19th floor with a great view of the city. The rooms were very spacious, with comfortable beds. The location was very convenient as it was not too far from the airport or the cruise port and the train station was right across the street.

Room Tip: The higher floor offer a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to spain, the location is not centrally located to the tourist sites but it is a great location for taking the subway, train and hop on/hop off bus around the city. It was great to be able to take the metro from the airport to Sants then walk out and see our hotel across the street. There are cafes around the block as well as inside of the Barcelona-Sants station, there are lots of travelers walking around so it is pretty safe at night .
The staff was pleasant, the rooms were pretty standard unless you upgrade. We upgraded to a room with a view only because it was the" only" room they had ready , it cost $12 euros/day for the upgrade and it was worth it for the extra comfort and view.
I would highly recommend this hotel although there are several other hotels around the Sants station that are a bit more cost effective for long term trips.

Room Tip: Rooms 2117 and 2119 (may be the same on all floors) had a separate little alcove and door so it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbkr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We booked a superior room and I requested a room on a high floor which we got. The rooms are spacious and clean with big beds which are very comfortable. The views from the room are stunning. When we arrived in the room the staff had laid rose petals on the bed and we had a complimentary bottle of Cava and chocolate covered strawberries. The staff were really friendly and answered any questions we had about transport/sightseeing. We also used the spa which was nice. It is fairly small but we were the only ones using it so felt like a private spa! The hotel is in a great location for heading into the centre.
We ate in the hotel restaurant which was amazing! The food was lovely and the views were spectacular. I highly recommend this.
All in all this was a fantastic trip and if we came back to Barcelona, we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy3602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had been traveling throughout Europe for a month, and stayed at 7 different hotels by then, in several countries. Just when I had given up on finding a decent hotel and reset my expectations to low levels, I discovered this hotel. Not only its location is convenient to any other point of the city, right across the train station, but you feel the difference at the moment you interact with the front desk staff. They are very pleasant, polite, helpful and considered. They truly make you feel welcome and show a genuine desire to ensure you have a pleasant stay. When I entered the room, wouuu! An amazing view of the city; lots of closet space; a bed so comfortable you don’t want to get up; and a big bathroom also with a view. This had the feeling of an Executive Suite but at an incredible low price of $139/night. OMG! Compared to the $400/night lousy hotels in France and Germany, this was hard to believe. And the breakfast… Out of this world: lots of buffet choices, with a variety of fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, and even superior champagne for your mimosas. I can’t say enough of this place without sounding like a commercial. I even cancelled my trip to Madrid to enjoy Barcelona for 3 more days. Interesting how a hotel could influence your impression of a city. I definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to stay again on my next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a high-floor room to get better views of the city. Include breakfast on the rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite good for the variety and very good for the quality, but standard rooms are really standard. Even if they are very big, they are also quite old (television, lights, furniture and especially the bathroom) and also the lobby and the exterior are not so "new style". But it is a good choice if you want a cheap and very clean 4* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank 405AB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, with a room on the 17th floor. The 'superior' room has stunning views over the city. The room was clean, and spacious with a large, very well equipped bathroom. All the staff were helpful and friendly. One of the best aspects is the access, being right beside the trainline from the airport and connecting into the metro. All in all an extremely enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanWArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expo Hoteles, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing