We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, perfect base to explore Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
London, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, perfect base to explore Barcelona”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel before but I got a particularly good deal on Lastminute.com so decided to stay here again. The hotel put us on the 16th floor in a corner room. The views were amazing, the size of the room was excellent. It even had a wet room! Staff in reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel is opposite Sants station (handy if you're coming from the airport via train). It's just up the road from the famous Barcelona fountains and very close to two metro stations. We walked most places but the Metro is very easy to use. I recommend getting a T10 which is 10 single journeys on one ticket.
All in all this is a class hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone coming to this fantastic city.

Room Tip: As others have said get a high up room, in a corner if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,986
    1,362
    253
    61
    37
See reviews for
591
1,871
191
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and was an amazing experience. The staff were friendly especially the bar staff! The visual resturant had breathtaking views. With sants train station across the road with easy links to all parts of the city and and only walk to the magic fountains, the location couldn't be better, see u again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Been staying at this hotel only for 2 nights and was really impressed with room size - unusually big for Europe for this money. Was very convenient for us, as we were traveling from Valencia by train and got to our room only 10 min after train arrival including check-in.
Very friendly stuff at the reception. Metro station is in just 2min walk, so getting to city centre is no problem at all.
Was same convenient on the way back – only 5min to get to the railway station and only 3.8 euro for airport train ticket which took us there in 30min. Nice bar downstairs, but very uninhabited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaYayloyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzeliya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great Location - close to Bus and Train and only 10-15 minutes walk from most of the attractions.
We were surprised how quickly we were from most central locations.
The staff was charming and helpful and all in all we had a great stay and we recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was such a nice hotel for a reasonable price. I didn't expect such roomy and comfortable rooms. We were a family of 5 with 3 in one room and 2 in another. The rooms were gigantic for a big city and the hotel was modern and clean. We had stayed in another more boutique hotel for the beginning of our trip in Barcelona and this at the end. I think we liked this better--really good location for someone needing the train station (essentially across the street) and also is is a decent location for walking to the fountains light show at night. The downside is there weren't many good restaurants nearby, so that was a little hassle. We did splurge and eat in their fancy restaurant (up high with terrific views) one night. The ambiance was extremely quiet--not at all fun or festive--but the views were amazing. I would definitely consider returning to this hotel in the future--especially if the price was good.

Room Tip: Aim for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriKSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for 2 nights before our cruise and 1 night after. We were on the 19th floor with a great view of the city. The rooms were very spacious, with comfortable beds. The location was very convenient as it was not too far from the airport or the cruise port and the train station was right across the street.

Room Tip: The higher floor offer a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to spain, the location is not centrally located to the tourist sites but it is a great location for taking the subway, train and hop on/hop off bus around the city. It was great to be able to take the metro from the airport to Sants then walk out and see our hotel across the street. There are cafes around the block as well as inside of the Barcelona-Sants station, there are lots of travelers walking around so it is pretty safe at night .
The staff was pleasant, the rooms were pretty standard unless you upgrade. We upgraded to a room with a view only because it was the" only" room they had ready , it cost $12 euros/day for the upgrade and it was worth it for the extra comfort and view.
I would highly recommend this hotel although there are several other hotels around the Sants station that are a bit more cost effective for long term trips.

Room Tip: Rooms 2117 and 2119 (may be the same on all floors) had a separate little alcove and door so it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbkr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,839 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,046 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,227 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,383 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expo Hoteles, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing