We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms but lacking in service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #95 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good rooms but lacking in service”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in two rooms. It is a proper hotel with big rooms and a central location next to the railway station.

However, the hotel lacked the service which you would expect at a four star hotel. On three out of four mornings, there wasn't enough staff around at the breakfast. This resulted in dirty tables, slow or no serving of coffee and queues when there were no plates or cups available. As there was only limited staff we were not greeted and asked for room numbers at breakfast. When we wanted to print out a few pages (tickets to the Sagrada Familia) the reception helped us with this. However, after printing out the tickets the lady behind the counter said that for any additional prints we would have to pay 15 eurocents per page. We consider this a strange remark for a 4 star hotel for which we were paying 1500 euro in total for a stay of a few days. Also, house cleaning wasn't up to standards, for instance on not providing additional soap after it had been used up and not providing a third cup in our room for three. All in all, in our opinion there were too many mistakes for a four star hotel.

Btw. hotel guests can get a discount at the hotel car park. This is not advertised and it was only by accident that we found this out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchtourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,969
    1,357
    249
    61
    35
See reviews for
587
1,856
190
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We had an executive room on 14th floor, it was spacious, bed was big, very comfy and pillows provided some of the best nights sleep I have had for 3 out of the 4 nights. Unfortunately due to a noise from a generator somewhere near our room we were kept awake most of our 3rd night. We reported this to reception who said they would take a look. The same noise was not heard the next night but I think we would have slept through anything we were that tired. The bathroom was lovely, with large waterfall shower, bath, and double sink. Clean bed sheets and towels everyday.

We did not use the restaurant, bar or spa facilities. We felt breakfast was over priced at 14 Euros each. There are plenty cafés outside, we got breakfast elsewhere for around 5 Euros each.

The hotel is across the road from Sants Barca, the main train/underground station. Taxis readily available outside. We travelled around Barcelona on the underground at 1 Euro per journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingCharlesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our first visit to Barcelona so a little apprehensive about hotel type and location but concern was unfounded as the hotel staff were very helpful at reception and the location turned out to be ideal as you can get anywhere easily by metro, bus or taxi of which there are plenty right outside.
Opted for high floor, good views over city and ate in first night. Food and service good and again splendid night view over city. Super selection for breakfast.
Rooms are a little dated, but clean with good linen and toiletries. If standard is maintained I would feel comfortable recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views and quieter, but may carry a supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Took the train from BCN to Sants Estacio and the hotel is right there. Short walk to the metro to see all the key sites. Short walk to a modern mall in an old bullfighting ring with lots of food options. And a short walk to the magic fountains. Suite on the 17th floor was large although a bit dated. Great view. Would definitely recommend for anyone who doesn't have to be in the middle of all the action in the city when they roll out of bed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pdxsteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is a must for quality, value, comfort and friendly staff if you are visiting Barcelona. The room was the biggest we had ever stayed in, clean and everything you could need. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Five * plus at three * prices. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffyhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked our reservations at the last minute so hotels closer to the main attractions were already sold out or very expensive. This hotel was more reasonably priced and it was located close to a major metro stop (Sants Estacio is right in front but you walk in the tunnels a bit to get to the right train; Tarragona is just as close behind the hotel and maybe even more convenient.) Spacious, clean rooms with good views and great customer service. Very fast wifi, not limited to one device. Good value for these reasons. We would certainly consider staying here again. Our stay was excellent but just remember this one is about 20 minutes to Barri Gotic by metro.

Btw, there's an awesome, small burger place only a few blocks away (past the Tarragona station) called bBurger. Tasty burgers - we had the jamon jamon and the bGaudi (mushroom and asparagus) burgers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was amazing and exceeded by expectations. We had a room on the 18th floor and the views were spectacular, especially when the city was lit up at night. It's in an excellent location if you don't mind using public transport and it's only a 5 minute walk from the Magic Fountain.

The only negative I would say is that if you enjoy nightlife I would book a hotel a bit closer to the beach as it gets very quiet around this hotel after 9 o clock. However, that is just a small issue and there's no doubt in my mind that I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,800 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing