We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Comfortable, great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #101 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel last week while attending the Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix. The location of the hotel worked really well for us as it was beside Sants Station where we were able to get the train out to the track every day. Everything already said about the fabulous rooms is true...we had a suite on the 15th floor overlooking the Magic Fountains! The view was spectacular and the room was perfect. Lovely big comfy robes and none of these skinny Minnie bath towels....in this hotel they had luxuriously big bath towels to wrap up in.

Our visit to the Grand Prix was a celebratory present and as such we also booked The Romantic package which included breakfast each day and a small meal with cava on arrival. When we arrived late at night our room was so welcoming, with music playing, rose petals scattered around and some really tasty treats left with the chilled bottle of cava. After our long day it was so nice to have that glass of cool cava. A great welcome to Barcelona.

Breakfast each day in the Visual Restaurant was fantastic....the staff there are very nice especially one lady who went out of her way each day to chat with us. Great selection of hot and cold food however, as we like to breakfast late in the last half hour of service, on a couple of the days they had no bacon left.

The area around the hotel is good, we walked most places from there. If you want to get off the beaten track the area of Sants, behind the hotel and the station has some lovely local restaurants, bars and shops.

I would highly recommend this hotel, everything about it is good and I would love to return again to it in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The check in was fiendly and efficient, I had asked for a room on a higher floor after making my reservation through Expedia and the were able to accomodate. We decided to purchase the buffet breakfast at check in becasue the agent said it would be less expensive than purchasing in the restaurant each day. It was a little over 13 euro and had a great selection of hot and cold foods, juices, fruit. The proximity to the Sants station is convenient for day trips (we bought a 10 trip Regional ticket to get to and from the Grand Prix)and metro rides (can also get multiple trip/day tickets) to other parts of the city. It is also a 15 to 20 minute walk to the art museum. The room was quiet, spacious and immaculate with a king size bed. The bathroom had a separate stall for the shower, the toilet & bidet, double sinks and large tub. The top floor where breakfast is served gives you a 360 view of the city. We had a light dinner at the restaurant, Visual, one night and the night view of the city was breathtaking and the food was very good. At the end of our stay we took the Regional (R2) train to the airport. The line ends at terminal 2 and we had to take a shuttle bus to terminal A for our flight to the U.S. The bus was right outside and they arrive every few minutes. We loved Barcelona and if we are fortunate enough to return we'll be staying at the Torre Catalunya.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are more expensive but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I booked this hotel for a surprise birthday trip for my husband and we weren't disappointed.
From the time we got off the plane it was so straight forward. A T10 ticket gets you all over the city be it by train, metro, or bus. The lady at reception was very informative when checking in. Also upgraded us to a room on the 17th floor with magnifisent views of the city. On reaching our room all I could say was wow!! Beautiful big room with a hugh bed and robes and slippers for us both.
The bathroom was amazing, the walkin shower was big enough for you both with water pressure that blew you away!!

I booked my sightseeing tickets at the hotel with no problems, they also made me a reservation at a particular hotel one night. No problems.

Breakfast was wonderful and the selection was endless. Cereal, juices eggs,fruits,meats,cheeses,breads,pastries.And a hot selection also. Along with different flavoured teas or coffee. The restaurant is on the top floor ,so you have a panaramic view over the whole of the city.

A nice touch of a cake for my husband on his birthday also... Thank-you.

I would definatley recommend this hotel for your city break, especially with the main train station just outside.

We will return again at some point. Thank -You.

Room Tip: 17th floor or above for the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out this hotel couldn't do enough for you. Myself and my boyfriend are a young couple and this hotel was ideal. We asked a few nights If they could recommend restaurants and they were always so helpful also we asked about how to get to various attractions. Our room was on the 22nd floor and we did pay extra for a room with panoramic views which I would definitely recommend as the views were fabulous. The room was amazing! So clean and the comfiest bed I have ever slept in better than my own back home! We ordered room service when we arrived late and it was very reasonably priced.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. The breakfast was great and there was always lots of choice.

The train station is ideally located across the road. We got a taxi to the hotel when we arrived as we arrived late this cost us €30. We saw all the sights over 2 days using the open top bus. You can buy a 2 day pass for €35 each. We spend the another whole day visiting the Montserrat. That was beautiful and would definitely recommend! We went to the train station Sants and there were posters all around with info on how to get there. We paid €45 each for all the busses and transport to the top and back and this also included a 3 course meal!

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura2002_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When I need to stay in Barcelona, I look no further than this hotel. The reception staff are exemplary in their friendliness and attitude, the facilities are ideal and the rooms more than adequate for the seasoned traveller.

I have now stayed at this hotel numerous times..and whether for business, a visit to the Nou Camp, a few days break, it is ideally located for all transport systems and is only a moments walk from the buzzing Plaza Espagna. Look no further!

I enjoyed the bar food in Eclectik, and when my room was not quite ready, I was given a welcome drink. I purchased a Club Sandwich which was beautifully presented...

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors..it's worth the supplement for an upgrade. The views are am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 758David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is opposite the Sants Estació tube station and this gives very easy access to most of Barcelona within 10-15 mins. We travelled everywhere by train - inc to the airport (use the T-10 pass which costs around 10 euros and gives you 10 single journeys and can be shared between ppl).

The hotel was generally clean and although we had a few problems with our room, these were promptly dealt with by staff.

Nice view from the restaurant/breakfast area. The spa was also well maintained and the book shelf downstairs was an added bonus as I had forgotten my book at home! :)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for such reasonable rates in a great location!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent base for enjoying the city. Spacious room, clean and all the facilities I needed but did feel more than a little luxurious for the price. I would certainly go back there (and hope to one day!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city as it's that way you'll be guaranteed a view worth seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#335 of 516 in Barcelona
2,863 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,121 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,109 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
3,232 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £81 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing