We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect beginning to our Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #95 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect beginning to our Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

When planning our first trip abroad for our Honeymoon, it was a daunting task to try and find a place to stay in Barcelona for the few days we would be there before our cruise departed. I turned to trusted travel resources for recommendations and I was not disappointed! One of the first hotels that American Express recommended to me was the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. From the initial pictures I saw the hotel looked beautiful and was in a convenient location.once I jumped on trip advisor, I knew this was the hotel we should stay at!

From the moment we arrived, it was a wonderful experiences the front desk staff spoke great English and were helpful and accommodating in every way. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 11:30 am after flying over night from the US, so to make us more comfortable they gave us a voucher for 2 drinks in Ecklectik. We used that the next day for Sangria and it was delicious.

When we were finally able to get into our room, it was stunning. Sweeping views of the city that made for gorgeous evening sights and even more amazing mornings. We loved waking up to see Barcelona at our feet for the 3 days we were there. There are a large variety of amenities and because we were in one of the suites, the water was complimentary and they were very accommodating to all requests... Even when we needed a converter to charge our electronics. One of the best surprises actually came on the first day of our trip when we returned from a long day of exploring and they had left a bottle of champagne and two glasses in our room with a welcome - Happy Honeymoon - note. We greatly enjoyed this sweet surprise.

Overall, we can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the staff, to the accommodations, to the views and location, this was a perfect start to our honeymoon trip. We can't wait to come back in a few years and stay again at this amazing resort!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,354
    248
    61
    34
See reviews for
587
1,853
189
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nice views in a clean room with a really nice bathroom. would stay again. Locations excellent right next to the station so easy to get everywhere you need. When we stayed there was a festival on which was slightly noisy but otherwise it was a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a surprise birthday weekend with my fiancé, had the most amazing time, hotel staff were brilliant all spoke good English, very helpful if we needed recommendations or directions. Upgraded to top floor for his birthday also a little cake as a pleasant gesture. Train station 2mins walk so was easy getting around the city. Hotel was clean, tidy and exclusive. couldn't of asked for a better place to stay, very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The location of this hotel is great, just across the road from the main entrance of the train station where you can get trains to the airport and to the city centre, and loads of tubes and tour buses too. So it's really handy for everything but it's not right in the city centre so it's quiet enough that you'll get a decent night's sleep.
The staff are friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
The rooms are clean (even by my OCD standards!) and the decor is lovely. They have all the little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible, from a dressing gown and slippers, tea and coffee making facilities to a toothbrush and shaving set as well as all the usual toiletries. We couldn't have asked for more and we'd happily visit a hotel from this chain as our first choice again.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabulousMrsFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here whilst in Barcelona for the Grand Prix. We booked it fairly early but got a good rate from booking.com for this class of hotel. We weren't disappointed.

The location is excellent, being next to Sants railway station which is a major rail hub in Barcelona and only a short trip from the airport. The same line will also take you into the centre of the city without the numerous metro stops. The metro is excellent but has a lot of stairs and corridors - sometimes it is nicer to walk outside so check where station entrances and exits are.

The staff were efficient and friendly, with the young man Luis on the desk remembering our names and room number. The girl in the Eclectik lounge was also very pleasant. We were slightly disappointed that they had run out of several of the food items we wanted at 10pm - the food we did have was ok.

We had an executive room on the 10th floor. It was clean and spacious with cool marble flooring. The bathroom was huge with double basins, walk in shower, toilet and bidet with door inside bathroom and separate bath. The bed was also huge and very comfortable with 3 pillows. We found the room to be quiet (an advantage of staying out of the main centre) except for the odd person walking down the uncarpeted corridor in heels. The view was great but the windows seemed very dirty outside. My criticism of the room was that the decoration was very bland and characterless. There was a lot of wood panelling in the room that perhaps could be replaced with something more colourful.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. There is a large cafe in the station that was fine for sandwiches and pastries etc and another day we found a nice cafe in Carrer de Tarragona around the corner. We ate in the top floor restaurant one night. The food was very good as was the view. The prices were fairly high (especially the wine) and we didn't find that the general atmosphere and serIvce matched this (maybe we were comparing it to an excellent panoramic restaurant in Liverpool!)

Overall, this hotel met our needs and exceeded our expectations and we would definitely return (although it would be nice to have a bit more colour in the rooms!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WirralBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel last week while attending the Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix. The location of the hotel worked really well for us as it was beside Sants Station where we were able to get the train out to the track every day. Everything already said about the fabulous rooms is true...we had a suite on the 15th floor overlooking the Magic Fountains! The view was spectacular and the room was perfect. Lovely big comfy robes and none of these skinny Minnie bath towels....in this hotel they had luxuriously big bath towels to wrap up in.

Our visit to the Grand Prix was a celebratory present and as such we also booked The Romantic package which included breakfast each day and a small meal with cava on arrival. When we arrived late at night our room was so welcoming, with music playing, rose petals scattered around and some really tasty treats left with the chilled bottle of cava. After our long day it was so nice to have that glass of cool cava. A great welcome to Barcelona.

Breakfast each day in the Visual Restaurant was fantastic....the staff there are very nice especially one lady who went out of her way each day to chat with us. Great selection of hot and cold food however, as we like to breakfast late in the last half hour of service, on a couple of the days they had no bacon left.

The area around the hotel is good, we walked most places from there. If you want to get off the beaten track the area of Sants, behind the hotel and the station has some lovely local restaurants, bars and shops.

I would highly recommend this hotel, everything about it is good and I would love to return again to it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The check in was fiendly and efficient, I had asked for a room on a higher floor after making my reservation through Expedia and the were able to accomodate. We decided to purchase the buffet breakfast at check in becasue the agent said it would be less expensive than purchasing in the restaurant each day. It was a little over 13 euro and had a great selection of hot and cold foods, juices, fruit. The proximity to the Sants station is convenient for day trips (we bought a 10 trip Regional ticket to get to and from the Grand Prix)and metro rides (can also get multiple trip/day tickets) to other parts of the city. It is also a 15 to 20 minute walk to the art museum. The room was quiet, spacious and immaculate with a king size bed. The bathroom had a separate stall for the shower, the toilet & bidet, double sinks and large tub. The top floor where breakfast is served gives you a 360 view of the city. We had a light dinner at the restaurant, Visual, one night and the night view of the city was breathtaking and the food was very good. At the end of our stay we took the Regional (R2) train to the airport. The line ends at terminal 2 and we had to take a shuttle bus to terminal A for our flight to the U.S. The bus was right outside and they arrive every few minutes. We loved Barcelona and if we are fortunate enough to return we'll be staying at the Torre Catalunya.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are more expensive but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expo Hoteles, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing