We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Stay! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #93 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Stay! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel suite on floor 20 is spacious, very clean and the views are amazing. Came to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and the end of 22 years service with British Army. The hotel have left a lovely birthday cake in the room last night! Today we get back to the room and there is a bottle of champagne a cute cut out army boots dotted all over the floor! The restaurant has amazing views and food yummy. Only slight downside is that it's not a central location to walk everywhere but there are great transport links so not a real issue. The hotel have made our stay in Barcelona that extra bit special!

Helpful?
1 Thank navchappell
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    1,325
    244
    56
    33
See reviews for
575
1,813
183
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as it was conveniently located next to the station Sants from which we would leave to Madrid. We upgraded to one of the higher floor in which you have amazing views of Barcelona. The hotel rooms are nicely refurbished (older hotel) and the rooms are quiet. Breakfast is at the top floor from which you have spectacular views to all parts of Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the second year we enjoyed the wonderful hotel, last year spending five nights and this year three nights. Hotel is about a block from the HopOn HopOff bus and Sants. All of the personnel we encountered were top notch and willing to assist. The room was spacious, well appointed, bed was most comfortable. Room was very clean. Great strong shower ... and bidet !! … marble on the floor in the shower was a little slick, so would recommend putting a towel on the floor. Nice toiletries… large towels. Enjoyed the morning coffee in the room…. and the strong free WiFi ! The breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor served an array of delicious foods to suit many tastes. View from the corner room on the 9th floor was awesome and the view from the restaurant was breathtaking. We congratulated the staff for earning the Trip Advisor Seal of Excellence seen on the Front Desk Counter. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

When planning our first trip abroad for our Honeymoon, it was a daunting task to try and find a place to stay in Barcelona for the few days we would be there before our cruise departed. I turned to trusted travel resources for recommendations and I was not disappointed! One of the first hotels that American Express recommended to me was the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. From the initial pictures I saw the hotel looked beautiful and was in a convenient location.once I jumped on trip advisor, I knew this was the hotel we should stay at!

From the moment we arrived, it was a wonderful experiences the front desk staff spoke great English and were helpful and accommodating in every way. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 11:30 am after flying over night from the US, so to make us more comfortable they gave us a voucher for 2 drinks in Ecklectik. We used that the next day for Sangria and it was delicious.

When we were finally able to get into our room, it was stunning. Sweeping views of the city that made for gorgeous evening sights and even more amazing mornings. We loved waking up to see Barcelona at our feet for the 3 days we were there. There are a large variety of amenities and because we were in one of the suites, the water was complimentary and they were very accommodating to all requests... Even when we needed a converter to charge our electronics. One of the best surprises actually came on the first day of our trip when we returned from a long day of exploring and they had left a bottle of champagne and two glasses in our room with a welcome - Happy Honeymoon - note. We greatly enjoyed this sweet surprise.

Overall, we can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the staff, to the accommodations, to the views and location, this was a perfect start to our honeymoon trip. We can't wait to come back in a few years and stay again at this amazing resort!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nice views in a clean room with a really nice bathroom. would stay again. Locations excellent right next to the station so easy to get everywhere you need. When we stayed there was a festival on which was slightly noisy but otherwise it was a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a surprise birthday weekend with my fiancé, had the most amazing time, hotel staff were brilliant all spoke good English, very helpful if we needed recommendations or directions. Upgraded to top floor for his birthday also a little cake as a pleasant gesture. Train station 2mins walk so was easy getting around the city. Hotel was clean, tidy and exclusive. couldn't of asked for a better place to stay, very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The location of this hotel is great, just across the road from the main entrance of the train station where you can get trains to the airport and to the city centre, and loads of tubes and tour buses too. So it's really handy for everything but it's not right in the city centre so it's quiet enough that you'll get a decent night's sleep.
The staff are friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
The rooms are clean (even by my OCD standards!) and the decor is lovely. They have all the little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible, from a dressing gown and slippers, tea and coffee making facilities to a toothbrush and shaving set as well as all the usual toiletries. We couldn't have asked for more and we'd happily visit a hotel from this chain as our first choice again.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabulousMrsFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#81 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#50 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo and Expo Hoteles so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing