We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expo Barcelona
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,983)
Filter reviews
3,983 results
Traveller rating
2,139
1,462
271
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,139
1,462
271
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssants stationtop floorvisual restaurantcorner roomexpo hotelmain stationrooftop restaurantdouble sinkswalk in showerentire cityexcellent hotelmetro systemeuros per personstandard roomnou campbooked this hoteltourist bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,212 - 1,217 of 3,983 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

great hotel and facilities really comfortable bed and pillows friendly helpful staff very close to metro excellent shower and always very clean central for lots of eating places and great for all travel around the city would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone that was visiting Barcelona

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maralyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked a superior room with a panoramic view, but on entering the room, couldn't help but feel a little disappointed for what we paid.
The rooms were clean, smart and nicely presented, but it was just a little small for what was expected.
We decided to speak to reception, to see if it was a superior, as felt more like a standard size room.
Reception advised this was the smallest superior room they had, as the other were full, but offered to upgrade us to a junior suite.
The junior suite was amazing! The bed is extra large, you have a sofa and television area, as well as a table and chairs to sit and look at the view.
The bathroom was even more grand, with double sink, bath and separate shower, which was a full power shower!
To say I was happy was an understatement :) I only wish they were pro-active and done this on arrival, as they knew we had a smaller room and that there were better rooms available.
That is my only quibble with them, other then that the staff are so kind, we realized we forgot adapter plugs, and they offered to lend us one. ALso we would buy a bottle of wine to drink in our room, and having no corkscrew in the room, the restaurant were happy to help, providing an ice bucket as well.
The breakfast is in the restaurant on the top floor, and the views are even better then from the room, I took pictures but they really don't do it justice!
There's lots of choice for breakfast, and all great quality.

TIPS:
The hotel is located right outside Sants train station (take the train from the airport as its so easy!)
The metro is across the road (don't listen to google map for any directions, as was useless for us, the hotel will provide a map just use the old school method).
The closest metro is Sants Estacio, and to get to La Rambla, take the L3 line to Liceu. This will bring you out right on it!
On La Rambla, if you go down the road in between McDonalds & KFC, on the right there will be a square, the restaurants here are the best...dont eat on La Rambla!

For train cards, a T-10 is 10,30 euros and lets you on the metro, bus or tram for 10 separate journeys, and can be used over different days until you run out.
A Barcelona card is 15 euros per day, which gives you unlimited use, but this ends at the end of each day.
We found the T-10 card the cheapest, and you can also share this with a person your travelling with, if you know you will only use half or under. Just scan it through and pass it back.
Both cards can be used for the train from the airport to the hotel.

Last tip, the zoo is amazing! its pretty big, so would take most of the day, and is set in a beautiful park where there is a mini lake that you can take a row boat out on.
Both a must do :)
Hope this helps

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked this hotel mainly because of the convenience of location needed for the train station to travel to the motogp and also it was my partners 50th birthday whilst we were there so treated him to a more delux hotel to what we'd normally stay in.
All the staff were extremly helpful as our spanish is pretty nonexistent to say the least. The room was clean comfortable I also agree with another review that the pillows were so comfortable our room was on 21st floor and had amazing views of the city. The shower in the bathroom was very powerful the bathroom in general was great. The breakfast had an array of choices and the service brilliant.
Location wise it is superb for catching the trains and metro, buses seemed to run frequently although we just stuck to the metro and train.
Overall our 7night stay here was perfect for us and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 756rebeccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 14/6 to 18/6, from the moment we walked into the reception area we were impressed with the cleanliness of the lobby and the efficiency and friendliness of the reception staff. We made use of the room upgrade facility and for €13.20 per night we were upgraded to a room on the 17th floor, with a view we could never have bettered, a corner room with full windows on 2 sides so we had a 180 degree view - truly awesome and highly recommended

Room Tip: Corner room on a higher floor are excellent for fantastic views of Barcelona
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My partner and I Travelled to the above hotel with 4 friends, to use as a base to travel out into the city site seeing and also to go to Circuite De Catalunya to watch the MotoGP.

We flew into El Prat and bought T10 tickets from the machine at the railway station to use for the weekend. If you are buying this make sure you buy it with the correct zones on it as another traveller had said we needed it with 2 zones as we were using this to get to the race at Montmelo. This doubled the price from 10 to 20Euros and I was a bit annoyed at that, HOWEVER when we arrived at the track on the Sunday we spoke to a couple that only had a 1 zone ticket each and both got fined 50Euro. Lesson learned :(

Anyway, the hotel is 150 meters away from most things and is right beside the main railway station. 25 minutes takes you there from the airport and a walk across the carpark has you at the hotels front door, a 150 meter walk has you at the Metro station and this allows you access to the whole of the city.

For the price of the breakfast you can buy two at a cafe on the opposite side of the front of the railway station, so I can't comment on what the breakfast was like at the hotel. The staff were profesional and friendly at all times and the rooms are clean, modern, very comfortable and air conditioned, they have large deep baths and a super shower, two basins and shaving mirror. Both couples we were with wanted the pillows to take home as they felt so good.

Not only would we recommend the hotel but we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeBud_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews