We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended for the views only, everything else is a waste of your time, money, and holidays.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Recommended for the views only, everything else is a waste of your time, money, and holidays.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel for the last weekend of our 2 weeks visit to Spain. We booked a suite advertised on their website as the best and most luxurious room in the hotel, we couldn't be more wrong.....

After having to wait 20 minutes to be checked in we got our keys to the above mentioned suite. We were charged upfront as if they were afraid of something what made us a bit suspicious from the very start. And here is where the nightmare started. We got the dirtiest room I have ever seen in any hotel. Dust all over the tables, crisps on the floor, hair in the wash basin and on the bed, stained towels. We raised this issue with the reception and were told we would have the room inspected. In 15 minutes a cleaning lady appeared with a cleaning cloth thinking she would deal with everything quickly but having seen what we saw she said it'd be better if we had the rooms changed. In another 15 minutes we had another room inspection, this time done by the receptionist we complained to. He agreed the room state was unacceptable and offered us to have the room changed or cleaned while we're out. We decided to stay as we have already lost more than one hour. We went out and came back around midnight. We got a bottle of cava and a letter with apologies. The suite looked clean at night. We had a quick breakfast the next day and went out. Came back in the afternoon and accidentally moved one of the armchairs to find a thick layer of dust under it, a contact lense (none of us uses them). We spoke to the reception again and got told they would send a cleaning lady again while we're out (!!!!!), we said we didn't want anything else from them as they were unable to clean it twice (before and just after check in). As there were 3 of us staying we only asked to get 3 coffee capsules and an additional coffee mug as the mini bar wasn't replenished and even though we were booked for 3 we only got mugs and capsules for 2 on the first night. Before we went out we moved the armchair a bit so they could easily see the dirt. Came back in the evening, got 2 capsules, no additional mug, the dust was only cleaned from the part we uncovered under the first armchair, the second one wasn't even moved... After check out we asked the hotel to get in touch with us regarding an adequate discount for the inconvenience but we've never heard from them again, how very clever of them to charge before even giving the keys.....

It was the most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff are doing their best to degrade it which is a great pity as the rooms are extremely spacious, views are amazing and this could have been a great stay. I would definitely be back to see those views again but after my first visit to this hotel I am sure it was definitely the last one. We could only wish someone wakes up and brings the European standards to it as what they represent at the moment is far from it.

Recommended for the views only, everything else is a waste of your time, money, and holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael140682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,354
    248
    61
    34
See reviews for
587
1,853
189
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights whilst travelling around Spain. We got a lovely corner room on the 12th floor, the room was spacious and the bathroom was huge with a large walk in shower. The view was great looking out over Barça. The hotel was very clean, the corridors smelt clean and fresh every time we returned to the hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful, discreet and polite.
The hotel is easily located for the train station and airport bus. Also great location to walk to most of the main Barcelona sights.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose to stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Started badly. There was discrepancy between the amount we had agreed to pay via booking.com and the amount the hotel wanted to charge us. Took a while to sort out. Rooms were very spacious and clean. We did pay extra to get a room on a high floor where the view was "better". However, they put us at the back of the hotel where the view was no where as good as that from the front of the hotel. Location is excellent if you want to be close to the main railway station (fine for some) but otherwise we considered that the hotel was a bit away from the main part of the city, hence it cost us Eur 10.00 every time we wanted to go anywhere. Next time we stay in Barcelona we will get a hotel nearer to La Rambla.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a high floor, facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of travelling around Catalunya.
The hotel turned out to be an excellent location for exploring Barcelona. The main train station is nearby allowing quick and easy access to anywhere in the city.

Our room was situated on the 18th floor with a great view of the Barcelona skyline.
The sky restaurant is designed to give most tables a spectacular view of the city. I can't fault the hotel in any way. We will definately use it on our next visit.

John, Dublin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socheallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our recent stay at this hotel. On our first night, we arrived quite late at night (after midnight) - the clerk on the from desk was very helpful, and gave us a free upgrade to a suite.

We has a corner room on the 18th floor, with absolutely stunning views over Barcelona. We could see for miles - over the sea, the city and the mountains. We found the location to very convenient for the metro system, which was very clean and efficient. It was very easy to get pretty much everywhere we wanted to go to.

On our first evening, we went down to the bar for a drink, and shared a club sandwich which was yummy. The measures in our drink were very generous as well.

On the second day of our visit, we had a massage in the spa, and used the water facilities. This was very enjoyable, and a good way to relax.

The bed was huge, and really comfy - I slept very well here.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel - it's close enough to everything to be convenient, yet not part of the tourist trap areas.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We needed a place to stay after our cruise ended and we like to use public transportation. We arrived at 9:00. They said we could 'upgrade' and get the room early so we said yes...just to get our luggage in the room. I'm not sure going from a queen to 2 twins was an upgrade but we took it. The first room was smokey so we asked for another room. They graciously agreed and gave us another one. Views were great, across the street from the train station and there are plently of eating options. We took the train to the airport (3 euros each) then took the free shuttle back to terminal 1 which is the international terminal. Front desk was extremely helpful and spoke good English. Perfect location and large room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinsisChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is big and the room is very big. It is just next to the Barcelona Sant station. It is a high tower hotel which the view from the high floor is excellent. However, the hotel seems a bit old and many facilitates seems in old fashions, including the TV and other amenities which have rooms for improvement.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HHSTEPHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing