We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all rounder- Lovely rooms and brilliant views of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great all rounder- Lovely rooms and brilliant views of city”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On arrival we were upgraded to a loft suite, lovely big room with large bed and beautiful bathroom (especially loved the shower). Nice range of toiletries and very clean throughout. We had a view over the train station and beyond, but panoramic views from the top floor where meals are taken was brilliant. Meals were good. Took breakfast in our room one day, and we were presented with a 2 huge trays of food. Lovely touch on my birthday with card and small cake with candle.
All staff were friendly and spoke good English and were very helpful when asking for advice. Excellent location, quite quiet compared to staying in the centre of the city. Cheap and easy transfers from the airport. Also close proximity to Metro station, which we found easy to use, and trains ran every few minutes at all hours of the day so were never too busy.
Overall had an excellent stay. Would recommend this hotel if you want a base to reach all parts of the city, but don’t want to stay in the busier parts of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly-the-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,354
    248
    61
    34
See reviews for
587
1,853
189
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just back from my first visit to Barcelona, and consequently my first stay in Torre Catalunya.

Very impressed from the moment I went to check in, getting a full induction from the staff at the check in counter, welcoming me not only to the hotel but also Barcelona once they established it was my first visit. Maps and metro routes were issued immediately and proved very useful.

Only thing I don't recall getting told about was the use of the swimming pool (unless they class this as being part of the spa, which I was advised would be closed for that day of my arrival and the following day ). I also think I read somewhere that guests may have been able to use the outdoor pool at the adjacent hotel, which is of the same company / brand, although this was not mentioned either so I didn't get to find out if this was the case (the hotel would definitely benefit from having an outdoor pool facility!)

My room By far the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Room is split into seperate rooms, although all open plan.

Sleeping area was large, with two large single sized beds pushed together (not quite single beds but not double either). As I was a solo traveller, the fact it was two pushed together didn't matter.

The bathroom had twin wash hand basins, below a mirror that filled the length and height of the remaining space, and there was a smaller mirror just below that on the wall (one of the ones with the magnified view on it).

There was a bath with an over head shower (didn't spot that until the second day), but also a seperate shower in its own space. Biggest shower I've ever been in. Not one of the small boxed in showers where you have no room to move. It was big and spacious! Took a while to sort the tap control out mind, either too hot or too cold, then it would twist aswell as turn, but eventually you get a happy medium (user error rather than a fault, and you knew for the next time you came to use it once figured out). It was also pretty powerful, no matter what temperature you wanted. Not one of the budget hotels where you have to wash with a drip of water :D

The toilet was in a seperate space along with a b day, and oddly there was a telephone handset in reaching distance from the WC. Not sure what that was for as there was also a telephone next to the bed.........

There was another large mirror on the outer panel of the sliding bathroom door, which was immediately as you walked into the room.

Plenty of wardrobe space (limited number of hangers though), with a section that held a safe (free to use from what I could tell with your own choice of personal code).

There was a TV set just above the cupboard that stored the mini bar. It was a little dated if I'm honest, most hotels have reverted the LCD TV's where as this was still one of the older style bulky TV's. However, that said, who goes on holiday to watch tv? It did the job, along witht the stereo that was available in the room to drown out any silences.

There was then space for a table, which housed a lamp, and then a further, smaller table with 2 x chairs around it for guests to use.

My room was located on the third floor, and appeared to be the only floor that had its own private balcony (all the other rooms appeared to only have windows that could open). I liked this, although it was surrounded by tall sheets obscuring the view, but as it meant I got to sit out in the nice weather rather than indoors when at the hotel, I didn't mind this.

My room booking included breakfast. I also ate in the Panoramic visual restaurant on the evening I arrived.

The meal, although pricey was nice. The menu you get In Your room however is for the ground floor lounge, and not the top floor restaurant, which operates a different menu (I made the mistake of looking at that before visiting the restaurant and being disappointed that my selection wasn't available there, but this was minor; there were other alternatives and the recommendation from the waitress was very good indeed!).

The views from the top floor restaurant are very nice. Being on top floor of a 23 storey building on your first night, getting to see the City from all 360 degrees was quite impressive! Lots of people were taking the opportunity (mainly at breakfast) to take photos, which the staff didn't seem to mind!

The lounge on the ground floor is for guests only; you have to use your door key card to gain entry. I only visited this the night before I was due to return, but wish I had tried this out sooner! It makes your visit more personal; it was quiet, although a TV was available for viewing if you wishes. There is also an outdoor balcony guests can sit on if they prefer. The appearance of the lounge was very nice also.

The hotel offers room service, although it was something I used so do not know how prompt they were at this (also avoided the mini bar as the prices were quite steep for cans).

Checking out time was 12noon, which was reasonable, and the hotel are happy to keep hold of your luggage if your flight isn't until later that day, labelling it up with your details giving you a slip to hand back upon collection to ensure you get your correct bag back!

The hotel is located ideally for visitors, tourists etc who plan to make use of the tram and train system. It was also ideal for anyone planning on visiting FC Barcelona's football ground, like me, as this was the main purpose of my visit. You are only 3 stops on one metro line away!

Sants Estacio (one to look for on the train from the airport) is a stones throw away from the front door and is the second stop on the airport train (which appeared to run every half hour).

For a busy station, as it houses the trains, metro, and international train departures and arrivals, there was very little noise to be noticed, unless the windows or doors were open.

The metro has two lines from this station - L3 and L5, with tubes running every 3-4 minutes.

The T10 ticket is worth getting (I got a single from the airport and then the T10 prior to my first metro journey). You can get 10 journey out of it, on the metro or train (used it on the return journey to the airport) and doesnt have to be 10 journeys in the same day (unsure of the length of expiry on the ticket, but my first one last 3 days. Suppose it depends on your choice of journey; all my stops seemed to fall on the same line; L3).

There is a local 'industrial park' across the way, which isn't an 'indium trial estate' as I thought it would be, which makes me think the area around is more so used by locals, rather than guests.

Would definitely consider staying here again, but would need to look into the swimming pool aspect first as one would have been ideal to pass the time when finding myself with nothing to do (between returning to the hotel from morning / afternoon out, before leaving for something to eat which by the way there are a few small cafés near by, but not too many restaurant types).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveW1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I don't know, if I got upgraded but the room was huge. The bathroom also had a massive seperate shower. I had lots of Windows and plenty of light. Its not the greatest location to walk to the sights, but if you are going to catchbthe metro anyway, this hotel will be perfect. I stayed in another barcelona hotel with a better location but the room was 1/3 the size, dark and noisy. You will not regret booking here, if you dont mind not being in the centre. Close to train and metro.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mashedpotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was a slice of heaven on earth after some miserable experiences in Madrid. Lovely spacious rooms and beautiful bathrooms; slippers, bathrobes, lots of towels and pillows, very comfortable beds, a full spa with massages, wet and dry sauna, relaxation pool--aah. Just across the street from the train station, so very convenient but perfectly quiet. Breakfast was top-notch (with a gorgeous view), as was the food we ate in the lobby bar.

The best thing, though, was the people: truly friendly, helpful, accommodating. They smilingly encouraged our Spanish but spoke English very well when we faltered. At Gran Torre, we felt pampered and found the graciousness we sorely needed.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors. It doesn't cost that much extra, and the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, staff was friendly and accommodating. Bed was comfortable, rate was affordable for what we got. Breakfast was good and very fresh.

It was super close to the train station so that was a huge plus.

We would come back again and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya offers clean, comfortable, uncluttered, and spacious rooms. Views of the city from the upper floors, particularly at night time or during sunsets, are supremely splendid. Hotel staff is very accommodating.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator lobby for a restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6sigmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is literally next to Barcelona's main train station Sants which also houses the Sants Metro Station. It is only a 25 min ride from the airport to the station/hotel and it will cost you 4 euros. By the way, the hop-and-off buses gather around the Sants station. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very welcoming manner by the doorman and was able to do the check-in without any wait time. My plane arrived at 8:30 a.m. and was doing the check-in at 10:00 a.m. The front desk clerk not only offered me an available room for immediate occupancy but also offered me an upgrade to a higher floor room with better views. I would have paid for an additional night just to have immediate access to the room as I was exhausted from the trip but it was not necessary. The room faced the Tibidabo mountain as well as the Sants train station. The room was very spacious with all the amenities that you would find at finer hotels. The temperature is somewhat adjustable as you have the option of increasing it or lowering 3 degrees. The bathroom is very nice featuring marble floors, a double sink, a separate shower and a nice bath tub. Part of the amenities in the bathroom include 2 pair of slippers and bathrobes, a shaving kit, a comb, lotions, shampoo, etc. The shower has a very nice rain like shower head with perfect temperature adjustment capabilities. The separate toilet room has a regular toilet and a bidet. The entire room is very very clean. The bed was very comfortable and had about three very plushy pillows per bed, a double room is two twin size beds put together. The pillows are similar higher end hotels like the Ritz Carlton, very comfy. There is a safe in the room very easy to operate. There is also an ironing board but you need to request the iron from the front desk. For an additional 13 euros to get access to the morning breakfast buffet which has everything you can wish for at breakfast at their amazing restaurant which has spectacular and one of a kind views of Barcelona. If you don't add this option upon check-in, the breakfast will cost you 18 euros. The cleaning crews don't start until around 11 a.m. so they don't bother you if you are not an early riser and since the floors are marble, you don't hear any vacuuming going on. There are plenty of taxis always waiting at the hotel and like I said, the metro station is just across the street.

Room Tip: Request to add the breakfast upon check-in for 13 euros a day, otherwise is 19 euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing