We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #95 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here 5 nights with my son aged 22. We loved it. Happy with location near Sants station, modern, very clean, lovely room and bathroom, very comfortable bed and pillows, lots of TV channels and lots of plugs. I needed the kettle replacing and the staff were excellent...a new one appeared within 10 minutes. Reception staff very friendly. See if you can get a corner room with two windows...I had the one window room. If you re looking for a good gym, swimming pool or the fabulous historic hotel experience, this isnt it. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,920
    1,324
    244
    56
    33
See reviews for
574
1,811
183
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greystones
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is an ideal hotel to stay in if you are travelling to Barcelona. It's a bit away from the main tourist things but as the train station (Sant) is directly across the road, Barcelona is on your doorstep! It's a 15minute train ride to Barcelona El Prat airport, and about 5 minutes on the train into Placa de Catalunya. Alternatively a taxi ride from the hotel into La Rambla costs approximately €10.
The hotel itself is spotless with a delicious selection of food for breakfast. We were in a gorgeous room on the 21st floor- well worth the extra to upgrade to this floor as the views are really spectular. I didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the quality of the dinners. The staff were so polite and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mim1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with my girlfriend for a city break. First impressions - looked like a 70's style tower block. Its located next to Sants train station (we struggled to find our way round the Barcelona transport system as none of it made sense hence we walked everywhere). The hotel is located near a big shopping centre, old Olympic stadiums (from 1992) and a big art gallery. Be prepared to walk at least 45 minutes to any other sites in Barcelona unless you catch a tourist bus or train.

Staff generally looked miserable with the odd smile. Check in was simple. However after this getting to our 4th floor room proved difficult with the lift not working to the 4th floor. This happened on more than three occasions.

The room itself was clean, well presented. Bed was hard but pillows soft. Big bathroom with double sinks, bath/shower - though this was hard to get out of (Warning for those who are less mobile). AC was good. Overall a nice room.

We visited the SPA which cost 13 euros. However we got in free as there was only an hour left. It could do with a spruce up. It smelled, looked dirty and half of the pool features did not work. I wouldn't advise paying for this. The gym is also small considering the size of the hotel.

We both paid 13 euros for the breakfast buffet on the top floor. The view was amazing and you can see all of Barcelona. The buffet had a good selection but with obvious cheap ingredients in some areas.

Overall a recommended hotel and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Don't forget to take you swimming gear with you. The spa area looked amazing and we will definately be using this next time we visit. It is so close to the train and metro station which made visiting the sites so much easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We landed in Barcelona on a 10 day trip through the country. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya was perfect for our 3 day stay here.we found that beinglocated right beside the Barcelona Sants station was such a bonus. The hop on hop off buses were available just a few 100 yards away. We got lucky on this visit because Plaza Espana was host to 15000 Harley Davidsons that weekend. The dancing fountains there were breath taking.
The hotel amenities were really good. we had a room on the 8th floor > end unit spectacular views. The bathrooms were large and convienient. The staff was freindly and helpful.
The view from the restaurant on the top most floor was spectacular.

Room Tip: anything above the 6th floor .Make sure you face the Bacelona Sants station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

For our first trip to Barcelona, we had chosen a hotel close to the train station. This hotel was perfect for our first night, the prices are reasonable, the staff very friendly and the view fantastic. Our room was in the top floor (22) in a corner towards the old town; especially after sunset the atmosphere was great.

The room (junior suite) was huge: Actually there was a living room and a bedroom, so there was plenty of space. The design is maybe a bit old fashioned, but everything was very clean. We also found that the beds were nice, especially the three pillows (per person!) we could use.

Breakfast was perfect, the room is located on the 23rd floor where you can see the whole town while eating whatever you can wish for.

On the other hand, I would not recommend this hotel for a longer stay because it is not located in the centre and we love to go everywhere on foot. That is why we spent the following nights in another hotel. Otherwise: recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andreasfcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for one night mainly because it was right in front of the train station. Rooms were a good size (big for Europe!) and bathroom was excellent with a separate bath, big shower stall and toilet area. Have to emphasize that the shower stall was BIG, which we really appreciated. Staff was also very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123maddoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#83 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#48 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing