We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveller rating
2,190
1,494
279
71
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,190
1,494
279
71
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssants stationtop floorvisual restaurantcorner roomexpo hotelmain stationrooftop restaurantwalk in showerentire cityexcellent hotelmetro systemstandard roomeuros per personnou campbooked this hoteltourist busmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This is the fifth anniversary in a row we have been in Barcelona (this time bringing others along) and stayed at this hotel. It is clean, quiet, safe, modern and well located adjacent to the rail station and subway lines. This year the service was down. The staff seemed to be distracted, perhaps by the political unrest. There was no acknowledgement of our event, they didn't give the view I had requested in writing, I had a difficult time contacting the hotel to cancel a room for one of our party. Good dining in the area is limited. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. The view from the top floor restaurant is spectacular. Not sure we'll return for our next anniversary.

Room Tip: best view from corner rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Richard r,
We would like to thank you for choosing us one more time for your stay in Barcelona, and for having shared your experience with all the travelers in TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read your positive remarks regarding the hotel cleanness, security, the good location and the view from our restaurant. We really appreciate them!

On the other hand, we offer you our most sincerely apologies for the inconveniences you have had during your last stay with us, it was not in our intent to disappoint you. We would like to let you know that our guest satisfaction is the biggest priority for us, so we thank you for your comment this helped us to improve our service.
We have taken good note about all your comments. We will look into them internally and we will do all the necessary actions in order to make sure that it won’t happen again.

I can only hope you will allow us to host you again in your next anniversary so we can better work to provide you the perfect stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Carolina Ruiz de Galarreta - Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The front desk was very helpful. I got there at 11:00 a.m. and was allowed to check in which was very helpful. All the staff spoke English and were very responsive to all my needs and knowledgeable with directions. I needed a U.S. electrical adapter which they provided free of charge. The room was great! I had a corner room with a large window and 180 degree view of the city. If you don't have a corner room you may not have the same view. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable especially by European standards. The bathroom had a bathtub and a walk in shower with a view of the city. It's a 1/2 mile [ 1km ] from playa de espanya and the magic fountain and 2 miles [ 3 km ] from La Rambla. If you feel like walking to La Rambla it's a nice way to see the city and takes about 45-50 minutes with traffic. The magic fountain is a 10-15 minute walk and worth seeing. There was a beautiful water show at the magic fountain on Friday night around 8:00 p.m. There was no show on Thursday or Saturday so I'm not sure how often it runs. A 10 minute walk and on the way to the La Rambla there is a shopping mall called the Arena, It has a food court, restaurants, market, and you can go to the top of the Arena a get a great view of the city free of charge. If you want a taxi there's a taxi station in front of the hotel or a bus and train depot about 3 minutes away. I didn't eat the breakfast but there are plenty of outdoor restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. Only complaint was they didn't exchange currency.

Room Tip: I recomend a corner room as high up as possible for the best view of the city.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Edward,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina.
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed for 6 nights.When in Barcelona, we surely will prefer this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and well designed and so is the nice bathroom.Free WI FI in room ,at good speed.
Very good breakfast ,tasty and fresh.
Convenient location. One train took as from the airport to the hotel and back for less then 2 euros per person.Close to the most important metro lines for a tourist. Walking distance from Plaza Espania.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor because of the better view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Keren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Keren O,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We were able to take one train from the airport to the Sants Station. 6 tickets for 10 Euro.
The hotel was across the street. We had a corner room with a nice view. The room was perfect. I wished there was an additional English speaking station. However, we did not come to watch TV. This hotel is in walking distance to many things and convenient to cafes and the metro. We will return and tell our friends. Barcelona is awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2tournj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Tournj,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Codina
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

I just checked in and loved everything about it. Cozy and convenient .. close to the station, mall and a short walk to arc de triumph.
I stayed in 510 and enjoyed the view but one issue I had was the sound at night. Some constructional work kept me up.
Breakfast was various with a nice rooftop view of the area.

Friendly staff and speaks English.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Behani,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.
We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!
On the other hand, sorry about inconvenience caused, we are making some remodelling to improve our service.
We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Alex Codina
Yours sincerely,
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews