We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #98 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

i had 4 wonderful days in this hotel. this is the perfect hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy barcelona and at the same time be comfortable with the stay. i advise everyone to join the ExpoClub, it entitles you many privileges of the hotel such as free breakfast on room(if your board is on BnB basis, room service is free), late check out, express check out, discounts.. and they'll give you the best room location which on my case they didn't just gave me the best... but a FREE UPGRADE! I booked a standard room and upon knowing that i am an expo member, they gave me an executive room with a stunning view of the Montjuic Palace and the magic fountain.. the hotel's location is peaceful and very strategic, less than 10mins. to the ramblas, walking distance to the montjuic, and 20mins. to the airport via regional trains, there is a supermarket near the hotel and there is everything you'll need such as restaurants, bars and everything on the SANTS station on the front of the hotel. breakfast is not bad but i guess you should try searching bed and breakfast deals coz' i don't think paying 18E is not worth it.. but on the other hand i'll pay even 100E for the view on their visual restaurant!!!! you should absolutely see it! it's like having the whole barcelona on your feet. THe hotel has a SPa too, though it's worth only 6E, i didn't like it. Cable internet connection is available on rooms but book on their website so you could have it free otherwise you'll have to pay somewhat like 10E a day. All the personnel, from the receptionists, room service, housekeepers to waiters and waitress are extremely helpful, polite and always ready to help and to serve.. the room is kept clean during my stay and they clearly indicate to leave the towels on the bathtub if you want them changed and ask the housekeeper if you want new linens otherwise they'll do it every other day, even so, they pass twice a day to clean the room and other personnel pass twice, first to leave you chocolates during mid day and candies in the afternoon, i felt like being pampered during my stay. lastly on my last night, being an expo member, i was surprised to see a chocolate cake with strawberry and orange syrup and a bottle of beer on my room when i arrived after a whole day out. nothing could be better than like what i have just experience staying with them. ABSOLUTELY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank BorderlessVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,007
    1,383
    256
    63
    37
See reviews for
603
1,891
195
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My sister and I arrived in Barcelona on the last leg of our European trip. We had just stayed in a not so great hotel, so we were literally praying that this one be nice. We booked this as part of a flight/hotel package on European Destinations. We took the 20 minute ride on the RENFE train from the airport to Barcelona Sants station. We exited the station and immediately on our right, we saw our huge hotel. Being so close to the RENFE/Metro station was such a perk on this trip and being that it only took about 10 minutes on the Metro to get anywhere we wanted to go was another plus. We checked in and stayed at the reception desk for about 10 minutes because the woman checking us in (Valentina) was telling us about our room, their restaurant, their amenities, and giving us a map of Barcelona and showing us places to go, things to see. It was FANTASTIC, especially since my sister and I didn't know where to start. Valentina was also very helpful in that we didn't feel she or the hotel were endorsing any place in terms of restaurants. Instead, she gave great suggestions for areas to go to instead of suggesting a crappy place that caters to tourists. She also said she could upgrade our hotel room but for a minimal fee. My sister and I said no thank you and I'm SO GLAD we did. We were given an awesome room anyway! It was a corner room on the 10th floor (out of 22, mind you) and with floor to ceiling windows on two walls, rewarding us with spectacular views of Barcelona. It was breath taking! The room was also huge, with copious amounts of storage space, an awesome bathroom with a really great shower, two comfortable, spacious beds, and a mini bar. It was clean and the service was wonderful. There is a resaurant on the top floor with amazing views, but we didn't have time to eat there. There is also a spa and a business center with free internet for the first five minutes and 3 euros for a half hour. I can't wait to come back to Barcelona, and while I could stay in the middle of La Rambla in another hotel, I am coming back to this one! I can definitely sacrifice the location for taking a 10 minute (or less) Metro ride.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDarling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This was my first visit to Barcelona. My partner had stayed in this hotel before. From the minute i stepped out of the taxi i was impressed.
The check in was swift and none of the usual " your room is not ready until 2 etc"
Our room was on the 15th floor. The view from all the windows [ corner room] was simply stunning. Even the toilet had a view! The biggest walk in shower i have ever seen.
There was everything you needed in the room.
I was very happy and comfortable.
The one problem was the noise from a festival. This went on until the small hours but to be fair the hotel did warn us.
Location was great. The metro was 2 mintutes walk and the tourist bus was the same.
i would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We initially thought of staying in and around ramblas but thank god we chose gran torre instead. its very close to the Sans train station and hence you can take the train from the airport to the hotel and into the ramblas area without taking any cabs... saving money. sans is a big station so to get to the gothic area & ramblas just get down at the liceu station. the hotel was amazing - for 10 euro extra per night we moved from a standard room to an executive room on level 16 which has the most amazing view, massive bedroom, massive bed, massive bathroom and shower with 2 sinks and lots of space... tea and coffee and a massive flat screen tv too... excellent buffet breakfast and very friendly staff - natalia/natalie at reception was very helpful and the restaurant staff even kept our big tub of ice cream in the freezer for us (as there isn't one in the room obviously). go to the gothic area and visit ramblas but try and eat in the tapas bars in the gothic area instead. go to the beach in barceloneta, its clean and really nice for a city beach, if you like night clubs - def go to CDLC just off the beach... trendy and good dance music (more house-pop-hip hop), make sure you dress well as no one there was dressed badly! ladies, you might want to wear a nice dress with heels! you can walk to la font magica at night from the hotel which is really a nice site (we could even see the fountains from our room). will def stay at gran torre again! oh and barcelona is great for shopping. decent gym in the hotel and internet access. the spa looked nice but didnt have time to use it....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The hotel is only 100 metres from Santes railway station and the metro. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the views from the 23rd floor restaurant superb. Our room was clean and had everything we required for a short stay. We chose to explore the city via the metro system ( a two day pass costs approx 11 Euro for unlimited bus and metro travel) which was a lot easier to use than we imagined.
After checking out, the hotel held our bags securely for us until we returned at tea time and provided clean towels to have a shower in the spa at no extra cost.
Overall the hotel was excellent value and a great base to explore the city, we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Visted this hotel years ago and returned in August 2010. Not to be missed the service and rooms are excellent. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Hotel location was excellent. Less than 5 mins walk from Estacio Sants station. Good for travelers who will be taking the train to other cities in Spain. Taking the metro to explore Barcelona is convenient as well.

Hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Had nothing to complain about. Had a comfortable 2 nights stay in total. Reception was friendly and helpful as well.

Only downside would be the lack of free wireless/internet access for the price which is paid for the room.

Overall, excellent experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,092 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 512 in Barcelona
2,249 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#134 of 512 in Barcelona
2,578 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 512 in Barcelona
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expo Hoteles, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing