We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmmm noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona House
Ranked #276 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good location for las ramblas and it's a clean and modern looking hotel, but unfortunately, they are the only positives. Our initial room was 504.....god awful, the stuffiest room ever. It has a large window opening on to an enclosed void so no actual benefit, and the aircon in the room didn't have any guts, so it was unbearably hot. Actually got up and went down to the street for some fresh air....only to be greeted by some street hustlers and "very forward ladies", loitering around the hotel. We asked for a change and thanks to a nice receptionist, we were given 111. ooooo a balcony(ish), directly below our window was the entrance to a club, no sleep till 4am, every night. And then the plumbing started up, not sure what it was but the rushing noise from the shower room had me convinced someone was using it!!! As for the free wifi? nothing doing for the 1st 2 days, then they gave us the code for next doors wifi, which we could use in their reception, our own hotels was broken and only got fixed on our last day there. All in all, not a very restful 5 days in Barca.

Room Tip: not 504 or 111. don't know about the others, possible better rooms to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just next to La Rambla lies this good looking hotel. Location is ideal because nearest metro station is around 300 meters away so getting around is easy. Nearby blocks also offer lots of tourist restaurants and shopping opportunities. Getting to beach isn't too far away either. Although if you're feeling lazy, taxi from La Rambla to the nearest beach costs 5€.
Being so close everything means also the surroundings are quite noisy at the night time. Bars close around 3 o'clock and once all the people are outside, laughter, loud talking and yelling can't be avoided. Also little surprisingly the hallways doesn't have carpets so neighbors coming back to room can be heard pretty well.
But for this price and location, I'm not complaining. Ear plugs are cheap to buy.
Staff was helpful and friendly and our room stayed clean through whole trip.

Only disappointment was the breakfast. You'll get better from the streets nearby.

Room Tip: Higher the quieter. Our room was towards the front, maybe other sides also more quiet because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ein0mies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Good clean hotel in a great location. Some excellent places to eat in the area. The beach is a pleasant half hour walk away.
There were 8 of us in 4 rooms all but one had air conditioning issues... Sadly they were reluctant to resolve the issue and come and look. It could of course been operator error however with no help we don't know. This meant rooms people were unable to sleep in.

My advice would be instructions on the air con.

Thanks

Stayed: July 2014
Thank bonita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

At the end of the rambla..it s cool and new... It's missing a freezer...in the summer you can understand how important it is...everything was ok.. Maybe still under costruction... We heard something like work on it..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank trapani87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Oh my Gosh! That trip was AMAZING. Just came back. Had the best time ever with teachers and people I didn't actually have the chance to meet 5 years at school.

So to get to the point we did stay at this hotel. In fact I stayed in a room on the 5th floor. The other people in the group were saying that they could hear noice from down the road but this is what you get when you pay for such a hotel. It is located like 10 steps next to Las Ramblas Square, also very near to Placa Real where you can find cafe restaurants etc. and finally if you walk a bit more to the other side you can find Placa Catalunya where the shops and many other stuff are there. There is a metro station very near as well called Drassanes. In addition there is a big market nearby, necessary to visit and experience. I believe that the location of this hotel is its main advantage and I do recommend it for people who actually DO NOT CARE FOR THE HOTEL AND ONLY CARE TO SLEEP THERE. The breakfast was not very pleasant (no variety just croissants and coffee) but there are a lot of cafe restaurants to go and grab a cup of coffee or a sandwich. There is a starbucks coffee as well nearby. EVERYTHING was there and it was great. The only bad thing for this hotel is that after midnight the outside of it becomes crowded with stangers trying to approach people walking there with beer and many more. Just be careful with your stuff and rush into the hotel. The doors are locked and they open if the receptionist opens them. Also there is a vending machine available for cheap water.(1 euro). Souvenir Shops are near and also a supermarket for drinks and fresh fruit.


TOTALLY RECOMENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO DO WANT TO WALK IN THE CITY OF BARCELONA AND ALSO FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT CARE FOR COMFORTS AND LUXURIES

Room Tip: Ask for 4th-5th floor room... they are newer, bigger and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 00651000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just a handful of strides off La Rambla, the Hotel a Barcelona a House couldn't be more centrally located and for the price as well, this is the first massive plus for this hotel. The welcome was warm, friendly and informative and, on check in, we were given a map and emails of some tours should we want to take them...though there was zero pressure to buy. Our room was lovely, clean and well appointed and unlike so many city centre hotels in places like Barcelona, we had not only an outlook but also a balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and, in departure, the hotel arranged for a taxi and warned against the passing, opportunist taxis. Great hotel, great location, nice price!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On our budget we never expected a pretty view or balcony in a city centre hotel. We got it here though :) our room looked into a little courtyard between buildings and had patio doors to a small balcony. Thus really was a lovely surprise and one that pleased us greatly. Reception staff were friendly and efficient particularly with our airport taxi ensuring we got in the cab they had called rather than a pirate cab. The room was modern and well appointed with a comfy bed and free wifi. The corridors can be noisy due to the flooring but this didn't bitter yes and on the whole our room was very quiet.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#346 of 515 in Barcelona
834 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#209 of 515 in Barcelona
522 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#237 of 515 in Barcelona
1,620 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#359 of 515 in Barcelona
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona House

Address: C/ Escudellers, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £1,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barcelona House 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barcelona House Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing