We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but noisy location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona House
Ranked #275 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Heerlen, Nederland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great but noisy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great, clean, modern location in the heart of Barcelona, right next to the Ramblas. Rooms weren't that big, but big enough for the weekend. Bathroom was very nice, great design. The only downside from this experience was the noise at night. We are not sure what it was from, but it we believe it were all kind of party noises from the building next door. Overall, well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaan1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    535
    247
    85
    43
See reviews for
190
516
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

An older man with a snooty attitude checked us in. He gave us a room that connected to the hotel next door! Instead of guiding us to the hotel's elevator pass the lobby, he had us go to the back elevator where it connected to the hotel. We went to the room and immediately knew it was the hotel next door. I went back downstairs and complained to him. He insisted there was no more rooms available. I gave him our printed confirmation and he still insisted there were no more rooms and the hotel next door is renovated the same. I said that if I wanted to stay in the lesser rated hotel next door, I would have made a reservation there and paid less. Finally as he was not budging and challenged me, I got his name, the manager's name and said I was going to complain to management, the booking agency, Yelp, Trip Advisor and others. I told him I was going to have my credit card company reverse the charges since we didn't get what we paid for. By the time I got back to my room, he called and said a room suddenly opened up. Really? He knew we were there for 1 night before our cruise and tried to cheat us. He knew we were in a foreign country and felt he "had" us. The fact that a room suddenly opened up just confirms that he was taking advantage of us. Aside from the guy trying to cheat us at check in, the location is good and a little off of La Rambla. I'm giving this a 3 rating because we finally got the room we reserved and for its location. The guy at the desk the next morning was nice and we got to leave our luggage while we toured Barcelona. Stand up for yourself and refuse to get cheated...DISHONEST people like this should be fired.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel Barcelona House is in a FANTASTIC location at the bottom of Las Ramblas in a little narrow side street ajoining Placa Reial- so right in the heart of the Bracelona Tourist scene and night life. On the street there are 3 or 4 clubs and bars and several restaurants all open until 4am, then the street cleaners come! after 5am its super quiet all day............... We had 5th floor room above this noisy steet. Good double glazed windows and ear plugs softened the noise but didn't cancel it out. If you are a ligh sleeper its not fopr you HOWEVER if you know you'll be out and about till the early hours or (like our 9 year old ) can sleep through city noise then the hotel is ideal.
Negatives: Noise - can't be helped -narrow streets and busy city
Positives: spacious room (503) triple, great bathroom with good shower, all toileteries provided, plenty of towels, aircon is ok- takes a while to do its job as electricity is card activated and its temp is controlled centrally but was set at 21c (only works with windows clased) , safe in room, excellent friendly and helpful staff ("This is Las ramblas here- don't eat- food is crap!) with tips on best beaches, shopping, kids activities and what to avoid. Hotel reception clean and felt safe.
Street is bit dodgy especially further down (sex shops etc) but LOTS of police making you feel safe. We were never approached by club hawkers or prostitutes- prob 40yr old parents and child not target audience!
For general sightseeing location is fantastic- 1 min from Las Ramblas which although a tourist trap is fantastic! metro 3 mins each way, Port Vel, marina and beaches 10mins walk, old town and cathedral 10mins in the other direction. Great- sight seeing all morning, pop back to hotel grab beach things, swim all afternoon, back to hotel, little shower and nap, off out for dinner!
and not too pricey. Didn't eat breakfast at hotel as there are 100s of tiny cafes in the back streets and squares. supermarket 1 min away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RWAStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked barcelona house based on the rates that was quite resonable for barcelona, but we ended up happily surprised. The room was nicely designed and spacious enough, clean and newly renovated bathroom. The location is very central which means if you're not up for a party you'll have to say no to a lot of barkers and pushers while making your way to the hotel at night, thus it is a quite noisy area at night, and the walls don't offer much insulation from this, but if you're not sensitive to that or can sleep with plugs you'll be fine.

I realise this isn't the perfect hotel for everyone, no breakfast, noisy etc. But given what you pay for I think it has value with nice staff, fresh rooms, nice area with plenty of restaurants and good if you're here for party. Also within distance of a walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The only thing going for this hotel is the location .
The staff were helpful, but the room was dark and dingy. The light bulbs must have been the cheapest, lowest voltage they could buy, maybe to save on their electric bill.
Or they keep it dark so you cant tell how clean it is.
There were a lot of young people in the next room, playing loud music at midnight . I had to ring the front desk to complain. The staff came up and warned them they would have to leave if they didn't keep it quiet. They then exited and came back at 5 am yelling and abusing each other after a night out.
I would not recommend this hotel unless you want to party all night out and sleep all day in the dark rooms. I Highly recommend for any potential vampires.

Room Tip: I don't have a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've never looked so forward to leaving a place.
Where to begin?
Thick with cigarette smoke if you dare crack open a window, fighting noises, loud thumping music through the night, frequent ambulance and police visits, leaky toilets (twice), heavily perfumed hallways, dysfunctional elevators, very spotty wifi, and relatively lackadaisical service. Also, I found what appeared to be a still packaged condom on the floor upon arrival. Though I can't be sure, as I didn't want to touch it. It is in the heart of Ramblas, but that didn't make up for the rest of the things I had to contend with. Good for partying college kids, perhaps. Definitely NOT for families.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here (and I strongly caution against it), ask for a room that is not at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sztumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good location for las ramblas and it's a clean and modern looking hotel, but unfortunately, they are the only positives. Our initial room was 504.....god awful, the stuffiest room ever. It has a large window opening on to an enclosed void so no actual benefit, and the aircon in the room didn't have any guts, so it was unbearably hot. Actually got up and went down to the street for some fresh air....only to be greeted by some street hustlers and "very forward ladies", loitering around the hotel. We asked for a change and thanks to a nice receptionist, we were given 111. ooooo a balcony(ish), directly below our window was the entrance to a club, no sleep till 4am, every night. And then the plumbing started up, not sure what it was but the rushing noise from the shower room had me convinced someone was using it!!! As for the free wifi? nothing doing for the 1st 2 days, then they gave us the code for next doors wifi, which we could use in their reception, our own hotels was broken and only got fixed on our last day there. All in all, not a very restful 5 days in Barca.

Room Tip: not 504 or 111. don't know about the others, possible better rooms to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#276 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#240 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#218 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#345 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona House

Property: Hotel Barcelona House
Address: C/ Escudellers, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barcelona House 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barcelona House Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing