We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Ranked #169 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel has very good location, not far from tube & bus station also I recommend touristic bus. Room was clean, nice service, good breakfast, but quite expensive, small gym - only one treadmill and the worst a very poor air condition, I wouldn't stay there in summer time never.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Karolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

A nice clean hotel but very basic room in need of freshening up. Nice position opposite the beach and near to metro/bus for access around Barcelona. Breakfast was very nice and alot of choice, but can be very busy if you like an early start. Staff at breakfast was very accomodating, especially Marina, who was very helpful with my deitary requirements. Went to use the Jacuzzi but after a long day out but is was out of order, but the staff didnt seem to know! Have stayed in better Barcelo Hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A very nice clean hotel that gave us what we were looking for. A very good location opposite the beach and as we had very nice weather it was an ideal location to be. The bus stop into the city is located outside the hotel so we did not have far to walk. We stayed for 4 days and we didnt really have anything to complain about. All in all it was a nice hotel, It ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay, the view from the room was lovely, everyday the rooms were cleaned well. the rooms were modern and size sufficient. the safe was handy! mini bar too expensive! good location not far from the beach at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

It does deserve it's 4 stars, this hotel offers you many facilities, the fact that is quiet far from the city centre is not a concern, once the transport links are very good and it's located only 5 min from 2 different stations, either to the left or right of the hotel. The view you have is just amazing, waking up and looking to the sea is just great! Extremely good and friend staff makes it all better.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Acacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

- The hotel offered great service for the duration of my stay. The breakfast buffet was amazing.
- However, although it is located close to the beach it is far away from the main tourist attractions.
- There is a bus stop for the tour bus just around the corner on the right, which has 3 routes and costs 27 Euros for a day ticket and 35 Euros for 2 days.
- The plug sockets in our room charged our devices very slowly. This was not the fault of a device because all three of us experienced the same problem.
- The cleaner threw away our bar of soap and replaced it with a new one after it had only been used a few times. I think this is wasteful. Perhaps the hotel could use soap dispensers instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First trip to Barcelona with work, I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, firstly check in was good, it was 10pm so late but a nice friendly gentleman booked me in and reserved a taxi for my work in the morning, upon reaching my room I met the warmth! It was 17 degrees but felt 25 inside my room, turned to the unit to put aircon on but two options of low/high, on/off, so high and on with temp turned to below 15, nothing, called reception, he said make sure both switches are at the bottom then your room will be cooler, so thats low and off,....ok no air con just ensure the hearing is off! Opened my window instead, its a busy road outside but was on the 11th floor so noise not too bad, had I been lower,...well who knows. Rooms are big, big bed, plenty of room in the bathroom, bath and shower, toilet, basin, bidet and complimentary toiletries. The tv however although it has plenty of channels only 2 were english, bbc world news and a music channel, made the evening rather long! Only recently did I learn that the star rating of a hotel meant nothing about the quality it was to do with the facilities it provides, eg, restaurant, gym, meeting facilities etc however this hotel is a lovely 4 star, the restaurant is nice, a lovely buffet breakfast for 10euros, 16euros if taken in your room, the mini bar in your room however is rather pricy, the cheapest item, a small bottle of water is 3.20euros, if you walk 2 blocks to the supermarket you can buy a litre for under 1euro, even though I am here on business 3.50euro for a coke is just wrong. Us brits also love a cuppa tea after work, sadly there is no tea/coffee facilities in your room or downstairs (after lunch) this would be a great addition. The dinner menu looked lovely, I however opted for room service, a reasonable choice, however pricy again, 15euros for a cheeseburger and chips, I do have to say the portions are large though and cooked to perfection, the items available however are not open to adjustments, I asked for the four cheese pizza without the blue cheese but not possible as already prepared, nor the chicken skewers in bbq sauce without bbq sauce (i dont like it!) as already prepared. The hotel is 5 mins from the beach, beware however it is a nudist beach which caught me slightly off guard to start with! The town is built in a grid like fashion so getting a taxi can take a while and be pricy, there are traffic lights about every 50metres and you can stop at every one, the price keeps going up even though stationary but its the only way to operate a town designed this way, if you have time, hire a bike instead! All in all a nice hotel, friendly staff and good food, slightly over priced for food and drink and a kettle with tea and coffee in your room would be a great addition!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#206 of 515 in Barcelona
3,036 reviews
Hotel Front Maritim
#309 of 515 in Barcelona
995 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#259 of 515 in Barcelona
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#226 of 515 in Barcelona
613 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
6,421 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#189 of 515 in Barcelona
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Address: Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar Adults Only)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#99 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £72 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, this hotel is ideal for pleasure or business trips The urban hotel Occidental Atenea Mar**** (member of the Barcelo Hotel Group and formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar – Adults Only) is in an excellent location, just 150 m from the Nova Mar Bella beach, and a 15-minute walk from the Barcelona International Convention Centre and the Diagonal Mar shopping centre. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel and there is a metro station a short walk away, connecting the hotel with the city's main points of interest. The hotel has 191 spacious, modern rooms, all of which are outward facing and bright, with views of the sea or the city. Every room has free Wi-Fi and, in addition, guests visiting the city have the chance to stay in a modern room full of luxury features. Among the services offered by the hotel, there is the car park (an additional charge applies), a fitness studio which can be used at no extra charge, a sauna, a hot tub and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For meetings and events, the hotel features 5 partitionable function rooms equipped with the latest audiovisual technology. In the restaurant you can sample exquisite Mediterranean haute cuisine dishes. Some highlights of the hotel services include a new terrace with a 48 m2 infinity pool with sunbeds and hydromassage chairs, a 100 m2 sun terrace with Balinese beds, hammocks, and pouffes for hire. The terrace has a snack-bar open from June to September (weather-dependent). Your can end your day at the Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only hotel with a relaxing walk along the beach, and for the sportier guests, jogging along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Atenea Mar Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Atenea Mar
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing