We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #97 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

great location - able to walk to most sites, close to metro and aerobus stop. Breakfast was expensive so ate at Cafe Zurich around the corner after the first day. Rooms were good but a bit worn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    827
    181
    40
    29
See reviews for
246
1,150
120
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I think I am being generous with my 3 star review, because all the Pulitzer has going for it is a great location and comfy bed.

The service is non-existent. They didn't even offer to bring our bags to the room OR offer us a rolling luggage cart for us to do it ourselves. This is unacceptable.

The rooms are cramped, but clean, thankfully.

I am certain you could do much better if you wish to be in the Ramblas/Placa Catalunya area of the city.

Room Tip: Do your research, my friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feeding_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for your comment unless it is not so good as I pretend about the service.
I really regret that you feel that we do not have a good service due to we are always working in orther to be better and provide a better customer service. I'm going to talk with my Front Desk Manager in order to resolve issues like this.

Please, contact me again if you decide come back to Barcelona, It will be my pleasure assist your reservation and your stay in our hotel in order to compensate your impression.

Kind regards;

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very central location - close to the Ramblas, metro station and aerobus stop. Room was spacious and well appointed. Free wifi worked most of the time. Housekeeping was good. Did not use restaurant, but roof top terrace was very pleasant. Would definitely consider foe future visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: 307 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmytabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Sirs;

I'd like thank you very much for your good comments about our Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona. It is nice to see that you had a nice experience in the hotel and you loved our terrace.

As you say, please contact directly with me if you finaly decide come back to Barcelona, it will be my pleasure assist you personaly.

Kind regards;

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

In a side street of Plaza Catalunya, at the top of the Ramblas, this hotel is litterally in the middle of the centre of town. Metro stations close by. The hotel has a boutique style decor. Rooms are long but not that broad. Well kept, clean, nicely decorated. Mini bar, safe in the room. Smallish flat screen on the wall, with also international channels. Superior rooms have a couch and a bath tub. Service is friendly; check in was somewhat bureaucratic, but perhaps that is caused by local regulations. Nice breakfast continental style, Nespresso machine for coffee in the breakfast room. Free wifi throughout the building that works well (this really should be the standard in hotels these days). Nice lounge/cafe/bar area, library style. Nice roof terrace/bar on the 6th floor. It certainly is not a big hotel, but large enough to have all relevant facilities. Free access to a commercial fitness club a couple of blocks away from the hotel (not visited). There is no desk in the room, although one of the cabinet can be converted into a small working area. Some reviews mention the lack of sound isolation. It is true that the rooms are clearly not sound proof, but at night we had no trouble sleeping. We had a room at the main streat side and did not notice excessive noises at night. If you are not used to big city street noises or otherwise you a unlucky with your neighbours, you may have a different experience. For a city trip/weekend, this is in our view a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: A superior room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML-NL-Amf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel and our service. It is a pleasure receive comments like yours.

Please do not hesitate contact me directly in case you decide come back to Barcelona, It will be my pleasure assist your reservation personaly.

Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Great location !! Small, but clean rooms. Service was standard. BUT ....noisy. We stayed at 3rd floor and could hear people floor below and above closing their entrance and closet doors. We could hear women in high heels walking down the corridor. Had there 3 nights and did not have a good sleep. I usually adjust to noise, but this was the noisiest hotel I’ve been. So if you can sleep with ear plugs - USE it, if not- choose another hotel to stay.

Room Tip: walls are not sound-proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisenok81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for your post and comments about the hotel. I'm sorry that you had this problem with noise. I'm going to talk with my Housekeeping Manager in order to prevent problems like yours in case the problem was with our chambermaids. Thank you for your comment it is very helpful for improving our service.

Please do not hesitate contact me personaly in case you decide come back to Barcelona; i'll do all my best in order you had a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Regards;

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Due to a sudden change in plans, we had to find a room in Barcelona on a Saturday night on just 2 week's notice. I booked this due to positive reviews and since most of the other highly-rated hotels were booked. The room rate of about $325 (no breakfast!) was way too much. I see that you can get cheaper rates than this if you book more in advance (maybe $100 cheaper), so it's really important to book weekend rooms early. It was a very busy hotel, and we had to wait until 2 P.M. to check into our room. The room was pretty and modern and very quiet at night, but it was weird to wake up in the morning and not even get a hint of where I was by the decor of the room. We didn't bother to pay the high price for breakfast. Even though the hotel is close to the Place Catalunya, it is on a quieter side street. It's easy access to the wonderful Passeig de Gracia with its fabulous modernista buildings by Gaudi and other great architects. We had to move from The Five Rooms bed and breakfast, which we liked better.

Room Tip: We always ask for rooms away from elevators and stairs. Our room was on the 3rd or 4th floor, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for your kind comment about your stay in Barcelona. Refering the price and as you say all other hotels was fully booked I suppose you stay in our hotel during an important Medical Congress during April. But please, if you decide come back to Barcelona, you can contact directly with me and I'll do all my best in order of offer you a really good price.

Kind regards;

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Firstly the hotel is in a great location, and staff were very helpful and friendly. I booked online and managed to get a discounted rate for our 4 night stay. We arrived late on the first night and had a room near the lifts. This proved to be very noisy, so they front desk were very helpful in moving us to a quieter part of the hotel. Rooms overall are spacious, tho it is a noisy hotel. On our 3rd morning we woke up noticing that we had bites all over us! More so on my partner, i counted over 70 bites! For someone who has worked in the Hospitality Industry, i have never back packed, tho my partner has and knew straight away it was bed bugs. The bugs had a feast on us for 2 nights!!! We requested that the hotel change the linen and mattress, which the hotel did. Upon check out, we were advised that they had found no evidence that there were bugs, and we must have been bitten on the street. My partner reminded them that if that was the case, we would have had to walk around the streets naked! The front office manager reluctantly then deducted one nights stay from our hotel bill.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts, tho keep in mind it's a nosy hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wigglywagtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Sirs;

First of all I'd like thank you very much the time you took for writting us. And all your comments about the hotel and our service

I would like to inform that we do not have any problem with bugs in our hotel. When you informed us about the trouble, we automaticaly activated our protocols and call our maintenance pest control company.
The biologist came to the hotel, checked everything and told us that there was nothing that indicates that there was bugs in the room, due to the signals are normaly really visible
Notwithstanding we use another technique to be 100 % sure, there is a little electrical machine that attract the bugs in case of, but none appeared, then obviously we close the incident due to there was no signals of bugs in your room.


Please, do not hesitate contact me again in case you decide come back to Barcelona, it will be my pleasure assist personaly your reservation.

Kins regards,

Meritxell Bañon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#151 of 512 in Barcelona
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,420 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 512 in Barcelona
623 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pulitzer is a 4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the famous Passeig de Gracia, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. Guests can choose from 91 stylishly decorated rooms, including a unique Suite with a 30sqm terrace. The Pulitzer is a real happening place: the rooftop terrace offers the perfect spot for chilling out while enjoying the best live music, its restaurant serves up locally sourced dishes in the slow food tradition and its lobby bar is a vibrant place where locals and visitors meet. The Pulitzer takes sustainability and health very seriously: in 2015 it became a Biosphere certified hotel as well as a Healthia certified hotel. Pet-friendly hotel (check conditions on our website). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing