We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #97 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and lovely hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Location could not be better, 2 minute walk from Las Ramblas and square. Hotel itself was clean, nicely furnished and good service. Unfortunately the rooftop bar was closed in Winter, but inside bar was modern and there are plenty bars close by. All round great hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fi_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sr.;

Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel Pulitzer Barcelona.

I really appreciate your comments about the professionalism and service of our staff.
Unfortunately the bar service on the terrace is closed until May, however it is opened to all our guests that would like to rest and stand up on a sunny day.

You may contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com in the future if you decide to return to Barcelona.

regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    831
    182
    40
    30
See reviews for
248
1,160
120
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great hotel. Really good location at the top of la ramblas so away from the noise but near enough. Shopping amazing and many many restaurants to choose from. Friendly staff in the Hotel and knowledgeable. You are hit with the smell of fresh flowers as you walk through the door, there is a giant vase in the foyer. Rooms are small but who needs space when your out all day sightseeing etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hailstone101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for such a positive comment about our hotel Pulitzer from Barcelona.
It is a pleasure to read your comments about our staff and their professionalism, and that you appreciate our fresh floral decoration that we change all weeks.
If in the future you decide to return to Barcelona, you can contact me directly mbanon@grhoteles.com it will be my pleasure to personally handle your reservation.

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My partner and I booked 2 nights in the Hotel Pulitzer for a weekend stay. The hotel couldn't be more centrally located, about 50m from the Plaza Catalunya. The location was the main reason we chose the hotel and couldn't have done better.

The hotel had a comfortable, cosy bar and lounge area. Our room was a bit tired in the decoration, but was very clean. The bedlinen was spotless and the beds extremely comfortable.

The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and the coffee was better than many hotels. It was made from the Nespresso pods, but, unfortunately no George Clooney.

Would stay here again if we go back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermanaeriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam;

Thank you so much for so nice and good comment about our hotel Pulitzer Barcelona.
Our customers feeling and comfortability in our beds is very important to us.
I areally m glad to see that our breakfast was appreciated, breakfast time for us is a very important moment ...

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com when you return to Barcelona, ​​it will be a pleasure to attend your booking personaly all your special requests.

Best regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were in Barcelona at the end of the year on business and stayed a couple of extra days to enjoy New Year in one of our favourite cities. The Hotel has a superb location just metres from the Plaza Cataluna with its Corte Ingles department store and others and the off-shooting Ramblas which takes you past all the street artists and performers, tourist shops and cafes to the Port and marina. Breakfast is very good with fresh breads and juices, but we also went twice to the historic Cafe Zurich in the Square, which is a touch of the old Cataluna and some funny older waiters. The Hotel also possesses a very usable Bar Lounge, beautifully decorated with good staff. The rooms however, while clean have a couple of downsides; small is ok, but a table would seem to me to be a basic necessity and the noise from the rooms above and beside can be heard, so may not be ideal for very light sleepers. For location, it's a win.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms away from the street would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments about our Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona.

All our staff really appreciate your words about our work. We hope that if you decide to return back to Barcelona,you will ​​stay with us and feel at home again.

Feel free to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com in case you need something from Barcelona.

Best Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is such a surprise package. It is as everyone says well located. It is also a bit hard to find if you arrive at giant as the name is written on the top of an awning - but look for the big ' Hotel Regina' neon sign - the Pulitzer is next door.

The bar and lounge area is very relaxed and funky. - we had coffee and drinks and tapas here - lots of the locals dropping as well so it doesn't feel like your sitting in the lobby of a big hotel chain - rather you are a part of Barcelona.

The room is furnished and style in a minimalist mode with great art. We had no hot water and the hotel maintenance man was straight up and fixed the fuse! Nothing was too much trouble. The bathroom is also very modern and was my one area for improvement - ours was not really too clean. BUT the service is so friendly and helpful I still rate this hotel Five Stars!!!!

We left our camera behind and were in transit - the Hotel was extremely helpful at arranging the for the camera to be courier home to Australia - first class care.

Please stay in this great Hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BradandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you for your positive words about our Hotel Pulitzer in Barcelona.

To find from the Aerobus Station is very easy, the Hotel Pulitzer is located right next to our sister hotel Regina, it is easy to recognize by black awnings.

I really regret the problem you had with the hot water, I hope that our maintenance department solved the problem very quickly in order to disturb the minimum.

Thanks for your comments regarding our service, we work every day to make it better, feedback like yours encourages us to be better day by day.

If in the future you decide to return to Barcelona, ​​it will be a pleasure to accommodate you again in our hotel. Feel free to contact me at mbanon@grhoteles.com, I will be happy to personally handle your reservation.


Kind Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As always in Europe, I never expect a large room with amazing views- just something with a nice location, standard service, and clean room. The Hotel Pulitzer certainly fulfilled these requirements! Great location for walking access to the main streets of Barcelona- awsome hotel bar- breakfast was more than enough to get the day rolling! I enjoyed my stay and even the service was above your typical Barcelona standard. Would definately give it another shot next time we roll through!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the road with the small terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you spent writing this review so positive about our Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona and our service and good standards.

If as you say, some day you return to Barcelona, ​​I will be happy to personally handle your reservation and needs, you can contact me by mail at mbanon@grhoteles.com

Kind Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is in a most perfect location,just a 2 minute walk from Plaza Catalunya which is where you get off of the bus from the airport.
It was a little difficult to find at first because the lettering of the hotels name on the awnings was only a couple of inches high. ( Tip: Look for the hotel Regina which has a massive illuminated sign, Pulitzer is next door).
The reception staff were excellent in both speed of checking in and giving information about the areas to visit.
The room was very well presented and was quiet and peaceful even though it was at the front of the Hotel.
The bar staff were great especially Alex who is actually Italian and speaks perfect English.
They also do a mean twist on Bloody Mary cocktails.
Breakfast was fine with the usual continental breakfast offerings, from fresh fruit and cereals to hot bacon and eggs.
This is a Hotel I would recommend without hesitation and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sirs;

First of all I would like to thank you very much for writting this kind comment about our hotel and our staff.
Coming from the airport, the Aerobus stop is right in Plaza Catalunya, you should cross the square, take the Bergara Street just in front of you, and to the left side The Pulitzer is the first hotel you will see.
I would like to to thank you on behalf of all the staff for your comments about the service you received, we work every day to offer our guests a special and personalized service, to make you feel at home.
If you decide to go back to our hotel, please contact me at mbanon@grhoteles.com directly, I will be happy to personally take care of your reservation.

Kind Regards;

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
2,096 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
1,491 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
4,449 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
910 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#88 of 513 in Barcelona
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pulitzer is a 4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the famous Passeig de Gracia, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. Guests can choose from 91 stylishly decorated rooms, including a unique Suite with a 30sqm terrace. The Pulitzer is a real happening place: the rooftop terrace offers the perfect spot for chilling out while enjoying the best live music, its restaurant serves up locally sourced dishes in the slow food tradition and its lobby bar is a vibrant place where locals and visitors meet. The Pulitzer takes sustainability and health very seriously: in 2015 it became a Biosphere certified hotel as well as a Healthia certified hotel. Pet-friendly hotel (check conditions on our website). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing