We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #97 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

The Hotel Pulitzer is in a fantastic location - just one minute from Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas (apparently the most happening street of Barcelona!), but yet not too noisy. Incredibly trendy and arty common areas and bar, beautiful outdoor terrace at rear, fantastic cocktails (and lovely waiter, Ale!!), good bar food.... absolutely no complaints at all! Rooms have everything you want, with very stylish bathroom and lots of little packages of things you might need. Am going there again next week, and can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyLittleFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your opinion posted. Please contact me if you are coming back next week, I will do my best to make your stay pleasant again.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    814
    180
    39
    29
See reviews for
237
1,141
118
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The location of the Pulitzer can't be beat. It is right in the city center and walkable to many of the sites in Barcelona, plus there is a metro stop right outside for places like Parc Guell, Montjuic and the Sagrada Familia. The hotel itself is quite lovely, with a very comfortable bar for relaxing in the evening. The decor is quite chic, but not at all intimidating. We booked a superior room, which comes with a sofa, which was nice to have. The rooms are bit long and narrow, but that is a minor point. They are very well-appointed with nice toiletries, bathrobes, free wifi, etc.

One nice addition was that the hotel offers free passes to an excellent gym which is 3-4 blocks away. While I prefer to have a fitness center in the hotel, this gym is full service (pool, aerobics classes, huge workout rooms) and much better than you would find in a typical hotel fitness facility.

I can't think of any complaints and I would absolutely stay at the Pulitzer again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like just to thank you for your kind comments.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit Barcelona again.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Upon entering the hotel we were stunned by its design. It has a beautiful lobby, integrated with a bar with nice atmosphere. The designer daringly chose high-contrast white and black as the theme colors of the room. The room is furbished with cleverly designed furniture, including a hidden closet, hidden sliding door to a beautiful bathroom, wide, square bed. This is a hotel you will not forget once you see it.

The hotel is located right next to one of the most beautiful plaza in Barcelona, with easy access to metro and buses. It was pleasant walking in the neighborhood.

We were traveling with a baby and the hotel considerately placed a baby bed in the room, with a stuffed bear. Our baby loved the bear, so I asked the staff how much it costs if I'd like to take it home. To my surprise the bear was offered to us for free. This kind of detail does matter for customers.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShinChengMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Kildare
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Stayed in hotel for a few nights. Decor is very modern - a lot of white and 'form over function'. Not for you if you don't like very modern hotels with not a lot of character (but if you do the sister hotel Regina next door would be a better choice - on the face of it had a warmer, somewhat more traditional feel, having siad that the Pulitzer is what it is - it is a modern design botique hotel - so nothing is on a grand scale). Staff friendly and helpful, hotel very clean, beds very comfy, rooms well stocked. Best feature is location right beside Placa Catalunya - centre point for tourist office, bus operators, metro, airport shuttles etc. Have access to hotel next door for internet use etc. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie-Madcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am nowadays managing Hotel Regina and Hotel Pulitzer so please do not hesitate to contact either if you would like Pulitzer or Regina in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keasbey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed at Hotel Pulitzer in January 2010. It wasn't the cheapest hotel, but after a lot of debate and research, this is the one I decided to go with -- many thanks to the members of Trip Advisor!

Location: It was a wonderful choice. The hotel is so centrally located - in the heart of Placa Catalunya that you can walk to just about anywhere without an issue! La Rambla is right across Placa Catalunya -- so you're super close but not actually on it. The hop on & off bus stops are right across the hotel. Plenty of places to eat -- though they tell you to avoid eating on la rambla. If you walk about 10-15 mins, you're at Columbus Monument/the sea!! I loved staying here. Metro was conveniently located though I never once had to use it.

Service: The service was excellent. The staff is kind, helpful and always cheery. Was able to answer any and all questions promptly. The room was always cleaned and tidy and replenished as needed on a daily basis.

Room: I had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the main street Pulitzer is located on. If I looked to my right, I could see Placa Catalunya. The bed was super comfortable; the room size is perfect for one person. There is a flat screen TV in the room, free Wi-Fi, a safe that was perfect to hold my passport and netbook. There was a huge closet with drawers, in addition, a separate armoire/chest. It was more for documents and such. A mini fridge fully stocked, robes and slippers - which are always a nice touch.

The bathroom had sliding doors, which I loved, it also had a "man" and "woman" container, which included essentials from tooth brush, razor, combs, and personal items - I thought that was new and nice; haven't seen it in the states anywhere.

The lights had three different modes in the room so you could dim it, keep only one light on or turn it all off right from your bed.

Overall: I just loved the hotel, was made to feel very comfortable. The hotel did have a bar/restaurant but never ate there so can't comment on it. I think if you are looking to stay in a great location without the noise and are willing to pay approximately $120 USD a night (I went low season), then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjani6898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments about your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit Barcelona again.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Chose the Hotel Pulitzer after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We got in at 9am and the hotel had a room ready! The location was perfect. At first we thought the room was rather small, but after settling in, we found the accommodations were great (hardwood floors were great....but wished the lady upstairs could have removed her heels in the morning!). The bed & pillows were comfy...the shower was super (no tub to climb over...a plus)...and it was nice having a desk area to use the laptop. The hotel was super close to EVERYTHING...and there was a small market across the street to get aqua con gas! We loved the breakfast in the morning (and the wonderful service from the morning staff!) and the hotel sitting area & bar were very relaxing. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful! They were great and we will return!! WONDERFUL vacation!! (although I have now had my fill of CNN!!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee_tattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments posted. I would like to mention that we will start changing and including a tub to climb over in the new showers after reading comments like yours, we will start shortly.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Modern - minimalist style, but not too boutique-ish.
Service i found to be typically Spanish (or Catalan) - reasonably professional but not remarkable.
Basic rooms tend to be on the slightly smaller side (think long and narrow), but tastefully furnished.
Location is excellent, right in el triangle where the rambla and the eixample and university neighbourhoods meet at the big square.
There is also a lovely open air roof terrace bar with decent views of the city. perfect spot for a cocktail before a night out

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanticist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmsanchez, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 1 February 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

I really appreciatte your comments about your stay and I would be interested in knowing more information about our service if you would like to contact me.
Please do not hesitate to do it also if you would like to visit Barcelona again.

Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,048 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,404 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#157 of 513 in Barcelona
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,383 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pulitzer is a 4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Located in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the famous Passeig de Gracia, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. Guests can choose from 91 stylishly decorated rooms, including a unique Suite with a 30sqm terrace. The Pulitzer is a real happening place: the rooftop terrace offers the perfect spot for chilling out while enjoying the best live music, its restaurant serves up locally sourced dishes in the slow food tradition and its lobby bar is a vibrant place where locals and visitors meet. The Pulitzer takes sustainability and health very seriously: in 2015 it became a Biosphere certified hotel as well as a Healthia certified hotel. Pet-friendly hotel (check conditions on our website). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing