We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising little gem in the centre of Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #42 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprising little gem in the centre of Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our recent stay at the Hotel Jazz turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Since we were staying only 1 night, en route to France, we were merely looking for a central location so that we could get a quick look at the city with ease. The hotel however merits more than its 3 star classification. Rates were terrific especially for this time of year and included a fantastic breakfast. Along with a very good selection of fruit, good bread and cakes, eggs freshly cooked either as an omelette or scrambled were offered. Add to this extremely courteous staff and the Hotel Jazz can be highly recommended. My only negative comment would be this; upon asking for a recommendation for a 'good' tapas place for lunch, we were recommended one from a chain which we recognised as soon as we were given the card with the address. On pointing out to the receptionist that we really wanted somewhere of quality and that perhaps a tapas bar part of a chain might not be it, he insisted that this was a fantastic restaurant. We were quite disappointed with the food and it was expensive for what we had. (Location; turn right out of the hotel to the Universitat square and its on the left). Similarly when we asked for a good quality restaurant for dinner, explaining that we were somewhat disappointed by the lunch venue, we were recommended The 4 Cats. Just to be sure it was what we wanted I checked with another receptionist that evening to be told it was 'classy' and we had no need to worry. Suffice to say, we didn't find it at all 'classy', the staff were off hand and the menu extremely limited plus the ambience and decor was not at all that of a top quality restaurant. We perused the menu and left. This would not put us off staying here again however. The bedroom was very spacious as we were upgraded to a suite, the bed was extremely comfortable and there was no noise from the street below. Perhaps though do your own research on restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,633
    1,461
    169
    27
    19
See reviews for
670
2,263
154
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a classy hotel in the centre of Barcelona. The rooms are large, the bed comfortable and wifi easily accessible. The breakfast was plentiful with fresh hot egg plates. Excellent.
The only drawback was the cost of parking (26 euros per night) and the difficulty in finding the garage. A small gripe in an otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend with my family.
As regular visitors to Barcelona we knew that the hotel was well situated. The quality of the rooms was excellent and in my opinion exceeded the 3 star classification. Rates were fantastic value.
We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as there is an abundance of good value offerings in the immediate vicinity.
This hotel ticks all the boxes and wouldn't hesitate to stay here on our next visit to Barcelona.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tynevalleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very central location just off Las Ramblas, just a 20 second walk to Universitat tube station. Between two main roads but traffic noise is not problem at all. Hotel is very modern, simply styled with good quality furnishings and very clean. Rooms are spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and big comfy beds! We didn't use the pool due to time of year or the bar area but the restaurant for breakfast was great; good selection of food, fruit juices and tea/coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi throughout the hotel was great as was the free safe in the room. Room was cleaned, beds made and towels changed daily. All round good experience, looking forward to going back in summer! Take the aerobus from the airport, for €5.90 it drops you off at Placa Catalonya which is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is in walking distance to most attractions and it is modern and clean. But - you don't feel welcome! We really don't care, but this cind of customer relation does not want us come back.
Breakfast is not included in the roomprice and is not Excellent, as mentioned on their website. Furthermore, breakfast is more than 11 Euros and that is way to much for cold beacon and some kind of egg mixture baked in the owen. Next time we will look for another hotel in the same neighbourhood!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows at the backyard feels a little claustrofobic. Other rooms can be noisy due to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is in a good location to explore much of Barcelona on foot and a short distance from the airport bus stop. All the facilities were fine and the breakfast ample and varied with the selection changing a little each day. Ideally we would have liked to make tea and coffee in the room but coffee prices in the bar were reasonable. Staff were helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel was great. Very clean and updated with modern finishings throughout the hotel. The location is in the heart of Barca, close to all the main attractions. We loved this hotel and would certainly recommend staying here for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing