We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Axel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #166 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was our first time at an Axel Hotel and it was terrific. I had read that the room were a bit small but we had a premium room and it was great. The service was outstanding and everyone was always smiling and willing to help. The bars were great and lively. The only negative was on our final night the bars ran out of premium vodka, don't know why they couldn't get more but overall it was great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to premium room and use a hotel booking site much cheaper that booking directly with hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive opinion and thank you for considerer us as a great hotel.
Thank you also for your description about our excelent service, location, areas and staff.
Your opinion it is very important for us.
Sorry about your last night at the bar with the premium vodka, I'll be sure that never happen again!
Thank you so much and hope see you again in any Axel Hotels around the world
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 10 days at the Axel Again in april!! Absolutely marvellous Time! We asked for thé same room as last time and they did everything they could to make That possible!
We were greeted with free drinks as it was our birthday!
Thé hôtel staff are very friendly and helpful and always with à lovely smile
Thé hôtel in itself is very modern and the pool terrasse and Spa are amazing!!!
We ve been coming to barcelona 3 Times a year for thé past 3 years and we ALWAYS stay at thé Axel! We dont even bother looking elswhere!!
Thanks Axel for Such à lovely Time and see you in august for sûre!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment! and for describe us as a great hotel, with great areas and great interior design!

Also thank you for being a very great repeat guest! We really appreciate!

See you back on August for sure!!!

Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed April 2012-The staff took care of shipping two large pieces of luggage from the hotel and the took care of also shipping the iPad I left on the counter so I must give kudos to the staff, there was especially one very helpful and fronedly fron desk staff memeber. The rooftop area was great. Also loved the spa and fitness space. Had a very nice massage. My room was clean and updated. The hotel bar is agood starting point but a little expensive although it is a hotel bar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your good opinion and thank you for your description about our service, areas, location, and staff.
Hope see you again in any Axel Hotels around the world
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

With the exception of a helpful member of the housekeeping staff, this place was a disaster. Already overpriced, all they wanted to do was charge for every single service including wireless internet. We found out only one of us could be online at a time without paying an extra charge! The rooftop pool/bar has a great view of the laundry line of the next door neighbor but not of the city yet their drinks are 15 euros compared with the 11 euros you pay at W Hotel which has a great view. I agree with some of the other reviewers who have said the hotel has a strange oder and the staff is unfriendly. Worst hotel experience of my 2 week Spain trip - we checked out early even though we pre-paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us during your last stay in Bcn.
We are depply sorry that you have a bad service from our staff, it is not the regular opinion and not our company policy, we leave our lives for our customers and always try to give the best service with the best smile.
the internet is free but only one device at a time.
We also sorry that you dont like our sky line view, is the first time that I ear this, the sky bar is very very very famous for the views and the good people.
thank you very much and hope you give us a second chance
Kind regards,
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed at the Axel in Berlin two years ago and was excited to introduce my friends to the Axel chain, but we were all severaly disappointed by the Barcelona version. None of the style nor friendliness of the Berlin version. Site says the Barcelona hotel was renovated 2 years ago, but the rooms don't show it. The pool area looks nothing like the pictures, the hot tub was never hot and they want to charge you extra for everything including entrance to the spa which they advertise on the site! The biggest dissappointment however was the staff who were just rude. My boyfriend speaks fluent Spanish and I have studied a few years but they still would not communicate with us. When we asked to speak with the manager they wouldn't let us. Such a great country with terrific places to stay. Avoid this one!

Room Tip: Don't upgrade -- rooms are all bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us during your last stay in Bcn.
We are depply sorry that you have a bad service from our staff, it is not the regular opinion and not our company policy, we leave our lives for our customers and always try to give the best service with the best smile.
the internt is free but only one device at a time and the spa and in all hotels of the world is to pay, because usually it is a space that is managed by the hotel, although the gym is free and the terrace above has a Jacuzzi with pool totally free
thank you very much and hope you give us a second chance
Kind regards,
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I enjoyed the pool (about 3-feet deep), the breakfast, and the fitness center at the Axel. That said, I don't think the rooms are 4-star quality--no floor coverings, no closets (there's a wire rack that one would expect in a pantry), and there's nowhere to sit apart from a small desk chair.
I was also very disappointed that when I arrived two hours before check in, the front desk said my room was ready but that I'd have to pay 40 euros to enter it early. I found that utterly inhospitable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed in the hotel many times, and always look forward to coming back. Very well received, both in reception and restaurant. Nice atmosphere around the pool and bar. Very central, both for gay activities and touristic activities

Room Tip: Do ask for outside room in summer time. yes it may be some noise from the street, but the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for loving our lifestyle! and yes!! we are a GAY HEAVEN!!!! ;)
Thank you so much and hope to see you very soon back again with us!

Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#83 of 516 in Barcelona
728 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
2,122 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 516 in Barcelona
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#139 of 516 in Barcelona
1,020 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing