We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #194 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Surprise”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Axel is loctef in the perfect stop, in the center of all the gay district. It is surrpunded by shopping, food stores and close to placa cataluña.

The staff was very nice, the breakfast was really complete, and our room was very nice and clean.

Andrian was really helpfull helping us for our restaurants bookings. Its a great boy!

Go to Axel! Its gret!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackStokkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    738
    364
    191
    114
See reviews for
61
1,106
474
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Depends on the rate offered. Basic hotel. Doesn't exceed expectations or minimize them. Was much nicer when it first opened years ago. Great location and neighborhood. The "gay" factor shouldn't affect anyone as its hardly noticed. The hotel appeals to many. Rooms are basic and offer the minimum needed. Could use an update as the rooms are starting to appear tired and outdated. Offering complimentary water is always a thing to consider. Something…. anything. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was a bit sad. Minimal offered. Selection didn't look fresh. Breakfast area was often crowded with limited seating. Asked to sit at a table that wasn't set or cleaned more than once. Staff on the other hand was kind and attentive. This was generally the case throughout the hotel. Daniel and Ricardo at reception were very professional and exceed expectations. On the other hand, there was Sebastian who was rude and lacked professional courtesy. Had cut my finger in the room and went to reception to ask for a band aid. He told me go to the pharmacy. Suggested he look in the first aid kit which they should have on hand. All I needed was 1 band aid. Simple. Not in this case. He denied they had a first aid kit. Couldn't be bothered to even look. After responding in disbelief, "how can a business with a bar and kitchen not have a first aid kit?" Having to practically beg, he asked another staff member. Who showed him where an empty kit with no supplies was located. Sebastian looked to me rolled his eyes, and essentially told me it wasn't "his problem" and went on with his work. He couldn't be bothered. This lack of concern and indifference was uncalled for and the epitome of NO customer service or care. Can't imagine him wanting to be treated this way so not I'm sure why he projected it onto others. Especially a guest who was in need of some basic help. If you don't "care" then perhaps a customer service oriented job isn't the right thing for you. He should work elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for staying with us, and again I am sorry for what happened.

Please accept once more my apologies for an atypical situation that you experienced in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We've spend 5 nights in this central located (on walking distance to plaza Cataluna) down town Barcelona hotel, the Hotel is clean has free Wifi and a swimming pool on the top floor with a nice view into the streets of Barcelona. Rooms are rather small but everything required is available.
TV channel recival is in poor quality. The breakfast is good with a great variety of local fruits and ingredients as well as the commonly known "western style" based breakfast dishes are served.

As being a hetero sexual couple we were in the vast minority of all the guest that were staying at the hotel, this combined with the unattractive "inner circle" of rooms in this Hotel (view on a boring patio and in other peoples rooms!!) and the extreme noise level of the hotel's inside due to the plywood walls that separate the rooms, the constant slamming of doors leads to an average rating for this Hotel, my advice would be to make up your mind if you want to stay in this environment before you book this hotel and if you do decide to book this hotel insist on having a room in the outer ring with street view.

Room Tip: Insist on streetview!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwinreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Customer,

I really appreciate your feedback and the time you spent on it. In Axel Hotel Barcelona, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

We really are in the center of Barcelona and your opinion about our location it´s very helpful for us, but specially for other Trip Advisor visitors.

I would also like to apologize if our rooms were not to your liking, but do not hesitate to contact us to show you our Premium or Suite rooms which are much more spacious.

We hope to see you very soon here again with us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Comfortable hotel in a great location in the centre of everything L'Eixample offers. Many nice restaurants, shops, and bars closeby. Comfortable rooftop terrace with jacuzzi and small pool that's great during the day when the sun shines.

Spacious rooms that (for my room, at least - a deluxe on floor 4) could use a little refreshing. A new coat of paint and refurb on the fixtures & fittings would be helpful. TV signal not working for many of the channels listed on the in room guide.

Disappointing / lazy housekeeping which only provided the most basic of services. For example, on a 3 night stay toilet paper was never replaced. Glassware which I used each day was never washed. Towels instead of being rolled and placed in the right area were simply folded and placed on the bed. None of this was the end of the world but just, when all added together, gave the impression of laziness.

Breakfast was quite good and so were the gym facilities and wifi worked well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel.

We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our 'Check-In' was very slow [approx. 20 minutes] and at 14.50 we were told that the room wouldn't be ready 'yet'. As we had a reservation for Lunch at a Restaurant nearby for 3pm. we expressed concern - however, we went to our room - to find that it was ready to be occupied.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the 'front of the Hotel' if you don't need to be disturbed by T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are sure this has been a particular case, but as we clearly inform, our check is at 2pm, and due to the fact of our high occupancy, it is difficult to give a room before that time.

Please do not heasitate to contact as at any time, thank you very much again for your help to improve even more.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth,Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Thank you to the wonderful staff of the Axel Hotel. Always smiling and ready with a hello and any advice asked for. Nice and very interesting room. Great location close to the Metro. There for 5 days and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We did have a room on the street. With the doors close it was completely quiet. Great view and a won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveofYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. It was really nice having you in Axel Hotel Barcelona, we are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere.
Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

On behalf of the entire team, we hope to see you too very soon.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have stayed in Barcelona many times, so knew the Axel and its location. Position wise, it's quite good, but a little walk through Example to Las Ramblas. The Axel is all about service. The rooms are nothing special, but the atmosphere makes up for it. Its really geared to non discerning gay travellers, mostly couples.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for staying with us again and on behalf the entire tema, we greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your landmark hotel in Barcelona.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#73 of 512 in Barcelona
625 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#145 of 512 in Barcelona
949 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#124 of 512 in Barcelona
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 512 in Barcelona
1,428 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing