We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.will stay there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #217 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel.will stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Comfortable clean with effecient snd friendly staff...great place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and staff were happy to give directions to places of interest. I felt more like a friend than a guest

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleybearhsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion and I am really pleased that you feel as a friend with us.

We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.

We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    703
    357
    185
    111
See reviews for
59
1,037
456
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We atayed at 701 Suite and everything was amazing!! The room, the bathroom, the private terrace!!!

The hotel is at the heart of Barcelona, close to shops, bars, restaurants...

We are dying to be back in summer for the roof terrace parties!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielRonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects.

Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As for our first time in Barcelona I must say it was perfect.

Axel Hotel staff its amazing and so friendly. We had an amazing, clean and huge room. Great bathroom and very good breakfast.

The roof terrace is so cool!!! We enjoyed the Boys With Heels party!!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois_Paulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent views and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel hotel.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
397 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was my first stay in Axel Hotel Barcelona. The room was more than big enough and was facing the street. That was not a problem since it was on the 5th floor. The staff at the reception was really helpful telling me where to go and where to location of the hotel was in regards to the different sites in Barcelona. The hotel is really located in walking distance to a lot of the main sites in Barcelona - all except the Beach I'd say - if you're not afraid of doing a little bit of walking. Actually one day I walked fra the Gaudi Parc back to the hotel - Guess 45 min slowly walking. The gym at the hotel is big enough but the AC / or the lack of AC was an issue for me. The rooftop terrasse With its bar and small pool is just great for relaxing and enjoying the sunshine. I'll be back in july and looking forward to my stay already,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so, so much for such amazing opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at Axel Hotel Barcelona to enjoy summer with us.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very comfortable, clean, and modern hotel near the Universitat metro station and within easy walking distance to Placa de Catalunya, La Rambla, El Barri Gotic, and other important tourist sites (and Starbucks was just 2 blocks away!). Availability at the Axel Hotel will be the first thing we check when we start planning our next trip to Barcelona.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, rooms facing an interior courtyard will be quieter than those facing the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeeks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

After checking-in at the Axel we immediately noticed that the aircon wasn't working in our room. We called reception but the receptionist said we had to wait half an hour for the unit to begin working. Sounded strange but we waited around 40 minutes at which point the aircon still hadn't kicked in. We waited for someone to come and look at it but nobody did so we elected to go back to reception and pay to upgrade to a suite.

The suite itself was really nice, and definitely worth the upgrade, but lavatory tissue wasn't replaced during our stay, which is unacceptable for a two-night stay.

My third and most serious complaint, though, was with with the hotel's two bars. Firstly we went to the ground floor bar and ordered two beers, which came to €14, which I thought was a little pricey but not horrendous. Later on the same night we ordered two beers and an orange juice, and was charged €12. Clearly the first barman had ripped me off. Strangely that same barman was serving in the Sky Bar the following evening, and he ignored me completely the whole time that I stood at the bar waiting to be served. He clearly saw me with my money in my hand but deliberately served every single person around me and ignored me. Even when other people arrived at the bar they were all served before me. In the end I gave up and went back to our table empty-handed. Our friend took the cash and came back, drinks in hand, two minutes later. Quite what I had done to this barman to justify such bizarre treatment I shall never know.

Overall this hotel could be great but it really needs to make sure that there is lavatory tissue in each room, and clearly barmen charging whatever they like for drinks and pocketing the difference is really unfortunate. I've never experienced that in any hotel before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLHScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review, I am really sorry that your stay at the hotel was not to your liking.

First of all I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived with our bar staff, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with the barman.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Amazing staff, specially the guy in the recepcion, i remember his beutiful smile but i forgot the name. Very clean rooms, funny night life, i've been in the terraze for the Axel Boy contest and i enjoy a lot. I love the sky bar. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent views and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel hotel.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#120 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing