We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #193 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ginnheim
1 review
“Great and fun”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good!! Great hotel and a place to have fun!

It was our second time, and this time was even better than our last. Amazing room and really friendly staff.

The bar on top is so cool and fashionable, really a place to be seen!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaShilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    737
    363
    190
    114
See reviews for
61
1,105
473
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the time of check-in to check-out was an overall Fun Experience. The staff was ultra friendly and fun. I highly recommend if you are wanting to stay at a hotel to leave with a big smile! The 2nd floor I highly suggest as the premium room have a shared balcony area outside. Good for conversation or if you are a smoker a place to smoke other then the rooftop pool area.

Room Tip: ask for the premium upgrade to avoid having a small closet style room typical for Europe not for Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevykevkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the best and stylish Gay hotels I have ever been to!!
Absolute perfect location, close to amazing restuarants and shops, amazing rooftop bar and pool with views over the whole of beautiful Barcelona.
Sexy like the Spanish!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouGM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are delighted for your excellent comments about our Hotel. Axel Hotel Barcelona is synonymous of quality and this is what we want to offer to all our guests. What really matters to us is that our customers have a pleasant stay in our hotel and feel at home, because, although we are a hotel for gay public, everyone is welcome.

Hope to see you again in any of the Axel Hotels worldwide.

Yours Sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

5 days in middle of town, good value and quiet sleeping. All is within walking distance. Rooftop bar, hangout is great to spend especially around 17-21.00. Rooms are freshly decorated with a twist. Will have to try Other Axel hotels in other cities....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really pleased that you stayed with us during your last visit in Barcelona. We really are in the center of Barcelona and your opinion about our location it´s very helpful for us, but specially for other Trip Advisor visitors.

Our staff is 24h at your disposal to help you enjoy each option that the city can offer you.

We hope to see you very soon here again with us.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very comfortable hotel, nice and spacious rooms, clean and modern. Beautiful breakfast and in love with Adria! Located in the centre of Barcelona and gay area. Highly recommend this hotel!

Lovely stay, very nice staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

3rd or 4th stay at this hotel and it still does what it does very well. Since my first stay about 3 years ago and, it seems on foot of comments here and elsewhere, reception staff helpfulness and friendliness has increased greatly. The wisdom of having only one receptionist on duty most of the time during a busy weekend does seen odd though. This results in having to wait in line quite a lot if you had a query or needed something.

I forgot to get the man's name but the shortest (sorry!!) man on the front desk without any beard was exceptionally friendly, helpful and seemed in a permanent state of happiness with a broad smile and greeting anytime any one walked through reception. He always made time to have a little chat if you came to reception for anything even if he was already busy with something else...such a happy, helpful attitude really helps the holiday spirit ! :)

Otherwise, I got an excellent room this time on a corner with one of the glass enclosed balconies..the room was huge, spotlessly clean, and the free wifi and everything else worked well apart from the tv on which only a small number of the channels worked at all with others either being blank, not matching the in room channel list, or having a picture which was constantly breaking up.

Again, though, and I said this in my last review housekeeping just seems lazy. As an indication, on both this stay and my last stay, because toilet paper doesn't seen to be automatically replenished I ran out of toilet paper late at night on my second night.

They really should try to resolve the elevator situation too which is just an annoyance. There are 4 elevators which should be more than sufficient for the size of the hotel. But because each one is independently called by separate buttons, everyone summons every lift whenever they need one which causes delays and lots of unnecessary stops at floors with no one waiting because they have already got one of the other elevators.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a wknd with friends. The hotel is in a modern building in a very good location, 5 minutes walk to metro Universidad and 8 minutes to Plaza Catalunya. neraby the hotel was full of restorants and shops, although we never tried any of these. I lust start off by saying that all the staff was really firendly and helpful. Rooms are good sized and clean. However, the forniture is reduced to the essential and the wardrobe is a kind of IKEA structure without doors. The bed was big and very confortable with an excellent materass. The bathroom was also a good size, with a very big shower, a bit slippery though. There was also very limited space to put the beauty case and other stuff, and I had the room to myself.. more shelves would have been needed if I were sharing the room with someone else. The free wifi was not working on my mobile phone, and the friend I was with said that his was working on/off and very very slow. the roof top bar is very nice, there's a small jacuzzi and a kind of small pool, but it is really more like a long bath tub rather than a pool! while we were there they have organized nice parties with nice music. the breakfast was a bit desappointing for an hotel of that league. almost no hot dishes, and very limited selection of cold food and sweets. I never tried the spa nor the gym so I have no comments on that. all in all, we had a very nice stay, however the hotel is quite pricey, but I guess that's what u need to pay to enjoy Barcelona is style!

Room Tip: I was in room 405; it was quiet, had a little balcony and a bit of vew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
622 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#148 of 512 in Barcelona
949 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#47 of 512 in Barcelona
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#125 of 512 in Barcelona
908 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,455 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing