We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent rooms, poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #197 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, decent rooms, poor value”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We finally gave in and tried Axel Barcelona (normally we stay at Casa Camper, the W Hotel, or Praktik). It's a nice enough hotel - the location is excellent; very close to the gay neighbourhood but the rooms are rather small, and show signs of wear and tear (scratch marks on the leather bed head from a wild night of passion perhaps?!?). The staff are ok, the bar staff at the Sky Bar were the real highlight.

Unfortunately, I was charged 220 euros for two drinks at the Sky Bar, but when I saw it and told the staff they were reasonably quick to fix. I guess the bartender was chosen for his looks rather than his competence. Still, and honest mistake.

The room itself was fairly modern with a good clean bed and nice air conditioning for BCN when it's very warm. Not ideal for travelling with friends, as the shower has a glass wall directly onto the bedroom so for the prudish, it may not be for you.

Toiletries, including condoms, are provided - as well as the 'Please Disturb' door hanger for those that are into that.

The pool area was nice, and a photo is attached.

I really like the location, but for the Euros paid, you can get a far nicer hotel in Barcelona, in a nearby location, with better quality rooms and staff. I'm not sure we will return, but it was an enjoyable stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamW_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    732
    363
    189
    114
See reviews for
61
1,095
468
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Barcelona. Check in took longer than expected due to miscommunication with housekeeping, but the front desk person was very apologetic. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony for the inconvenience. Our room was clean, contemporary and comfortable. The rooftop deck and bar has an incredible view and the spa downstairs is also worth visiting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This Hotel is perfect for a long or short city break in Barcelona. Right at heart of the city and surrounded by bars and fine restaurants.
The terrace is perfect to chill as well as the spa downstairs.
Deco is very nice and features several other details that make it unique in Barcelona.
Highly recommended. I'll come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent views and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel hotel.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2014. I had previously stayed at this hotel in September 2012. See my previous review of this hotel. I was travelling in a party of 3, who had booked two rooms. We checked in late, at 11.30pm and were told we had both been given an upgrade to a ‘premium room’. In my previous experience of this hotel, I knew this meant a larger room with no view which faces into the internal light-well.
We were allocated room 419. The room had obvious signs of wear and tear on the walls with a large burn mark in the floor. The shower was open plan to the room, and had no privacy within the room. The quality of the shower etc, was good and in terms of fixtures was far superior to the previous room I had stayed in at the Axel Barcelona. I was travelling with my friend, and would have preferred a twin bed with private bathroom. If I was travelling in a couple, the arrangement of room would have been fine.
The next day, we asked the receptionist if we could have another room with twin beds and a separate, non-open plan bathroom. The receptionist was very helpful but said no such rooms were available until the next day. We could not be bothered moving rooms after 2 days, of a 3 day visit and therefore declined this offer.
The selling point of this hotel is the roof top pool, terrace and bar which were lovely and gave the hotel a unique selling point, and location in the gay area for nearby bars etc. This is why I choose to stay in this hotel again. I do think though during the daytime, this area should only be available for only guests to use, as I can imagine it been very popular in the summer peak, and the number of loungers is limited. Also this allows non hotel guests to enter the hotel floors, where the bedrooms are located. The drinks at the both the ground floor and Sky Bars are very expensive. We didn’t have breakfast or use the restaurant so I cant comment on these facilities.
This hotel does need refreshing in some areas with new paint and decoration, but it is fundamentally a lovely hotel. I think the rooms vary in their quality and its luck which one you will be allocated. With a bit more maintenance/ repair work and thought going into the management/ running of the hotel , i.e bar restaurant offers for hotel guests only, etc. it could be really really special.

Room Tip: premium rooms face into an internal light-well and have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and your time in giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your landmark hotel in Barcelona.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginnheim
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good!! Great hotel and a place to have fun!

It was our second time, and this time was even better than our last. Amazing room and really friendly staff.

The bar on top is so cool and fashionable, really a place to be seen!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaShilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the time of check-in to check-out was an overall Fun Experience. The staff was ultra friendly and fun. I highly recommend if you are wanting to stay at a hotel to leave with a big smile! The 2nd floor I highly suggest as the premium room have a shared balcony area outside. Good for conversation or if you are a smoker a place to smoke other then the rooftop pool area.

Room Tip: ask for the premium upgrade to avoid having a small closet style room typical for Europe not for Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevykevkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the best and stylish Gay hotels I have ever been to!!
Absolute perfect location, close to amazing restuarants and shops, amazing rooftop bar and pool with views over the whole of beautiful Barcelona.
Sexy like the Spanish!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouGM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are delighted for your excellent comments about our Hotel. Axel Hotel Barcelona is synonymous of quality and this is what we want to offer to all our guests. What really matters to us is that our customers have a pleasant stay in our hotel and feel at home, because, although we are a hotel for gay public, everyone is welcome.

Hope to see you again in any of the Axel Hotels worldwide.

Yours Sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
937 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#125 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,413 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,411 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing