We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay cliche ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #197 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gay cliche ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just had three nights and we were not overwhelmed . The experience the hotel eludes to was just not in evidence . A pink trap . All skirt and no knickers is fine for some scene queens . Five bar staff on the roof with five guests and they couldn't even clean the tables as they were far too important . Considering it was gay pride weekend where was the party in the downstairs bar ? Not a single customer . A great location though .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gwynant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay at the hotel was not to your liking.

First of all I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    732
    363
    189
    114
See reviews for
61
1,095
468
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

very nice hotel good service at specially Luis at the hotel desk. Rooms where nice and good and is close to the Metro universy The bar at the roof was a littel bit expensive.
Was close to the Ramblas and other nice points in Barcelona

Room Tip: sometimes the Wifi fell out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as we decided to leave Sitges early. The lobby area is smart and the staff very friendly (apart from terse cocktail staff on the roof) but after that initial introduction it went downhill. I opted for the premium room which at first glances looked good but attention to detail was poor. The furniture is falling apart and the suspended ceiling missing bits, looking incongruous set against the rather delightful wallpaper.

I am pleased we only stayed one night as the room developed a very strong fishy glue odour as soon as the A/C was switched on (which you had to do as the rooms are relatively small and opening the windows was hard as the road outside was very very loud). The smell was particularly bad when we returned from a club at 4am, so much so that my husband wanted to call reception to see if something had died. Being British, I did not want to make a fuss just for one night so googled reviews which mention the smell. Had we stayed longer, I would have had to complain.

We booked a room with breakfast which was a mistake as it was poor. As a vegetarian who was avoiding white carbs there was little choice. We asked for eggs and was told they were late arriving. We sat down at 8.45am and the eggs arrived at 9.50pm.

I was saddened by my experience as the hotel is in a wonderful place and most staff friendly, and it is something of a gay icon, but it was woefully inadequate in my view.

I rarely post less positive reviews but felt the overall experience was not a good one. Thankfully our next hotel in the Raval area made up for the poor quality offer at Axel and saved our weekend celebrating my husband's 40th birthday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it. In Axel Hotel Barcelona, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but as you perfectly explained we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

At the same time, we will take note of your comments regarding the breakfast for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action and it was a problem from the company that delivers us the products, it was a particular case and that we will remedy immediately, thank you very much again for your help to improve even more.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Taxi's on strike didn't help in trying to get to this destination. But worth the effort of only one block away from the Metro. The room was the 6th floor with great views of the grand buildings surrounding. The roof top we unfortunately didn't take advantage of until our last night with a cocktail and a swim in the shallow but refreshing pool. The views from there gave you the full city vista. The numerous gay bars and restaurants within easy walking distance gave every night something to explore.
The decor was very pleasant and having a balcony was a plus.
Would definitely book here again for sure as we so loved the beautiful city of Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMountMaunganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The actual hotel vastly differs from the glossy marketing photos on its web site. Our room (premium) was dated - bath marked and shower rail/spout tarnished. Sanitary equipment also dated and damaged but clean. Basic furniture - definitely not boutique more a 3* standard. Carpet in communal areas need replacing and the whole place didn't have a sense of charm or glam
Room impregnated with smoke which for a non smoker is a turn off. Roof top bar is unique but drinks are expensive

Just felt that for £125 for room only was over priced and as often the case when a hotel says its gay friendly it actual it way of justifying an exorbitant price - real pity when you feel that you have been done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fryston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel.

We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went here for a drink and the downstairs staff were nice and spoke English. I was lost and asked them how to get to the rooftop bar. They told me which elevator and seemed very polite and nice.

I went to the rooftop bar and there was no queue. The barman seemed to love his job, because he is working in a nice hotel and probably doesn't have to serve many drinks - this seemed to suit him just fine! He needs to understand that the rest of Spain is having major problems and yes Barcelona is not considered Spain by the locals, but it is only now thriving due to foreigners and foreign investors who are ensuring that the tourism industry is now thriving.

I asked him a simple question - which is do you have a cocktail or bar menu? This is something that I normally ask when I go to a new place and I am unfamiliar with which drinks they offer. He was extremely rude. His body language, facial expressions, and response was completely blunt. He said no very sharply and almost walked away. At that stage - I quickly ordered a drink, but really I should have walked out. I had previously been to another nice bar down the road and they were serving extremely high quality cocktails that were freshly prepared for only 4 - 6 euros. This is a fantastic price for a Londoner like me - who is used to high prices. Axel was charging 11 - 15 euros for a cosmopolitan. Really not impressed with them and it's disgusting because someone of my status is someone who can afford to stay at this hotel.

Due to the rubbish bar staff and experience from the bar. I would never go to the bar again. There are nicer places and rooftop bars like in Palma, Mallorca and other places in Barcelona. Moreover, I would not stay at this hotel due to my experience. The barmen all seemed to be very into their looks as opposed to giving any service. They need to remember that they are lucky to have a job during the current EU crisis. Bad attitude doesn't anyone to become a repeat customer. I have been to Barcelona more than 10 - 15 times and live there many times during the year. What a pity you were so rude to someone who spends so much money in your city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunaalT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff.

On the other hand, there are many different places to have a drink in Barcelona and around the area, but our SkyBar is not a normal bar, we believe in good service and high quality alcohol, nice atmosphere, nice views and a complete different experience.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel and room was great, but there was lack of atmosphere in the hotel. The rooftop bar was boring and with very expensive drinks. Also the waiter was absolutely not friendly at all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to have had you with us and enjoyed our hotel.

On behalf of the entire team, we are sorry that you didn't feel our SkuBar atmosphere, the because usually what our customers most positively comment, is how cool and fun our roof top is every night. Thank you very much again for your help to improve even more.

We wish to you see you very soon and we provise next time you will enjoy it even more.

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
937 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#125 of 513 in Barcelona
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,412 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,411 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing